The Pearl Sister

by Lucinda Riley

Part of the The Seven Sisters Series

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

The Pearl Sister Synopsis

CeCe D'Apliese has never felt she fitted in anywhere. Following the death of her father, the elusive billionaire Pa Salt - so-called by the six daughters he adopted from around the globe and named after the Seven Sisters star cluster - she finds herself at breaking point. Dropping out of art college, CeCe watches as Star, her beloved sister, distances herself to follow her new love, leaving her completely alone. In desperation, she decides to flee England and discover her past; the only clues she has are a black-and-white photograph and the name of a woman pioneer who lived in Australia over one hundred years ago. En-route to Sydney, CeCe heads to the one place she has ever felt close to being herself: the stunning beaches of Krabi, Thailand. There amongst the backpackers, she meets the mysterious Ace, a man as lonely as she is and whom she subsequently realizes has a secret to hide . . . A hundred years earlier, Kitty McBride, daughter of an Edinburgh clergyman, is given the opportunity to travel to Australia as the companion of the wealthy Mrs McCrombie. In Adelaide, her fate becomes entwined with Mrs McCrombie's family, including the identical, yet very different, twin brothers: impetuous Drummond, and ambitious Andrew, the heir to a pearling fortune. When CeCe finally reaches the searing heat and dusty plains of the Red Centre of Australia, she begins the search for her past. As something deep within her responds to the energy of the area and the ancient culture of the Aboriginal people, her creativity reawakens once more. With help from those she meets on her journey, CeCe begins to believe that this wild, vast continent could offer her something she never thought possible: a sense of belonging, and a home . . .

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Closing date: 31/08/2018

We are offering THREE lucky people the chance to win the Series 4 box set of the hit ITV period drama (RRP: £24.99). 1796: To defend Cornwall and those he loves from an empowered George, Ross must learn to play the political game on a journey that takes him to the nation's capital and into new perils. While Demelza manages the Poldark’s affairs at home, Elizabeth moves to further secure her marriage. Drake struggles in resigning Morwenna to life with Osborne and the Enyses are tested as never before. Prime Minister Pitt calls an election and uncertainty grips the country. While Ross watches Cornwall suffer under the power of Truro’s MP, George Warleggan, Demelza’s infidelity leaves her strained between her husband and a lovesick Hugh, who is set to rival George in the upcoming election. The Enyses contemplate having a child and Elizabeth seeks the same to secure her marriage. Meanwhile, Morwenna uses Osborne’s affair with her sister Rowella to keep the reverend’s advances at bay and Demelza seeks to reconcile rival local Lords Falmouth and Basset. The draw closes on the 31st August and the winner will be notified by the 7th September.

Enter Now

The Pearl Sister Press Reviews

'The Pearl Sister is a well written family drama filled with love and loss, determination, culture and loyalty . . . I anxiously await the next installment.' - Just one more chapter, USA 

'The prose is expressive, eloquent, and heartfelt. The characters are complex, genuine, and endearing. And the plot is a compelling, heartwarming saga filled with familial drama, introspection, love, loss, grief, determination, passion, and loyalty.' - What's Better than Books, USA 

'Without a doubt, this series is going down as one of my favorites . . . I fall more in love not only with the D'Apliese family, but also with Lucinda's writing.' - Always with a Book, USA 

'Ceci is a remarkable character, of difficult, confused, possessive, complex and at the same time completely captivating genius. A great paradox.' -  Prosa Magica, Brazil 

'The Seven Sisters series is getting better with each book, and we fall in love with each sister as they start the journey to find out their true heritage . . . The Pearl Sister captivates you from the first page with its breath-taking plot.' -Bookliterati 

'An explosive cocktail for delicate and curious palates.' - La Petita Libreria, Spain

'The excitement and anticipation of a new novel from Riley for me must be comparable to how the fans of J K Rowling felt each time a new Harry Potter book was released ...this series is without the best thing Lucinda has written.' - Shaz's Book Blog 

'With a mix of Lucinda's Riley's talent for capturing the reader's imagination in yet another spellbinding tale, along with the painstaking historical research at the heart of each novel in the series, Lucinda paints another epic tale of love, loss and discovery.' - My Weekly 

'The Pearl Sisteris absolutely wonderful [...] Lucinda enthrals and mesmerises as she weaves the modern and the historical settings together so finely there's not a crack to be found in either the plot or the pacing.' - Random Things Through my Letterbox 

'Riley's meticulous research and attention to detail immerse readers in historical background and bring CeCe and Kitty to life. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, and Riley's previous novels will adore this.' - Booklist 

'Every corner of the world has become a thrilling new adventure with master storyteller Lucinda Riley [...] Told through a breath-taking panorama of captivating stories, their fates and fortunes are painted on a broad canvas and all created from a vast sweep of the imagination.' - Lancashire Evening Post

'Spanning continents and decades, this is a well-researched and compelling novel on an epic scale.' -  Sunday Express

'Near-700 pages of delicious reading.' - Daily Mail

'This is like going on a fantastic literary holiday - a magical mystery tour of hope and dreams [...] The locations evocative, the descriptions exquisite and the story woven like ribbons through time and history. I was transported to a world of amazement as well as art.' - The Book Trail 


If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Secret of the Deverills
Monsoon Summer
Cartes Postales from Greece
The Last Secret of the Deverills

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781509840076
Publication date: 05/04/2018
Publisher:
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781509840076
Publication date: 5th April 2018
Author: Lucinda Riley
Publisher:
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 704 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Adult & contemporary romance, Historical romance, Historical fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Lucinda Riley

Lucinda Riley was born in Ireland. She lives in Norfolk with her husband and four children.

More About Lucinda Riley

More Books By Lucinda Riley

Cover for The Love Letter by Lucinda Riley
Cover for Midnight Rose by Lucinda Riley
Cover for The Girl on the Cliff by Lucinda Riley
View All Books By Lucinda Riley

Share this book