Seven Days of Us

by Francesca Hornak

Family Drama Light-Hearted / Humour

LoveReading View on Seven Days of Us

Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2018

For fans of David Nicholls and Richard Curtis movies, this is an observational, tender and heart-warming drama about the trials and tribulations of spending a week with your family at Christmas.

 

What a beautiful, perceptive, absorbing read this is. Family drama… yes, yet it’s more. Relationship tale… yes, yet it’s much more. Incredibly readable… oh yes yes yes! The Birch family are due to spend the seven days over Christmas at their holiday home in Norfolk in strict quarantine, as doctor Olivia has been in Liberia treating a serious epidemic. The prologue and first chapter take hold of this family, and toss their lives sky-high, I was well and truly hooked, and found myself reluctant to put the book down, even for a second. Francesca Hornak writes with empathy yet she cuts through to the heart of things, creating a believable, relatable, touchable family. As events spiralled out of control, yet in ever decreasing circles, and relationships unravelled, I wondered where on earth we were all going to end up. The ending is as satisfying and emotionally enthralling as the journey to reach it. ‘Seven Days of Us’ is a terrific read, I savoured every word, and I can’t wait to see what Francesca Hornak offers next. ~ Liz Robinson

Seven Days of Us Synopsis

It's Christmas, and the Birch family is gathering for the first time in years. Emma is elated at having everybody under one roof, but her oldest child, Olivia, is only home because she has nowhere else to go. She's just returned from treating an epidemic abroad and must stay in quarantine for a week - and so, too should her family. For the next seven days, no one can leave the house and no one can enter. It doesn't sound too hard. But a week with your nearest and dearest can feel like an eternity, especially when they're all harbouring secrets. One of whom is about to come knocking at their door...

Seven Days of Us Press Reviews

'With its wry observations on class, family, and veddy-British traditions, Francesca Hornak's absorbing debut sparkles with glints of Nancy Mitford and Julian Fellowes -- Stephanie Clifford, New York Times bestselling author of Everybody Rise This book is heartwarming and gloriously funny, anyone who spends the Christmas period with their family will be able to relate hugely to this novel. Thank god it's happening to the characters and not to you!' - Doncaster Free Press

'Seven Days of Us expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit' - The i 

'One of the best books of the year' - Hello!

'A humorous and heartwarming page-turner' - Belfast Telegraph 

'Witty and deeply heartfelt' - Bestselling author Emily Griffin 

'Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has 'Working Title film deal written all over it'  - Glamour 

'I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching' - Daily Mail

'Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable' - Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us

'Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting!' - Bestselling author Maeve Haran 

'An emotional but ultimately uplifting holiday story' - Kirkus Review 

'Warm hearted, witty and wise, Seven Days Of Us is hugely entertaining' - Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins

'Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home' -  Booklist starred review 

'An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it!' - Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks

'It's a cliche to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn't move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner. The plot is compulsive and doesn't let up till the very last chapter. It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific' - Virginia Ironside

'Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it' - Adele Geras

'LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous!' - Marian Keyes 


If you loved this, you might like these...

The Adults
How Hard Can It Be?
One in a Million
A Summer Scandal

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780349415598
Publication date: 19/10/2017
Publisher: Piatkus Books an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780349415598
Publication date: 19th October 2017
Author: Francesca Hornak
Publisher: Piatkus Books an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: Family Drama, Light-Hearted,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Francesca Hornak

Francesca Hornak is a journalist and writer, whose work has appeared in newspapers and magazines including The Sunday Times, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, Grazia and Stylist. Her column History of the World in 100 Modern Objects first appeared in The Sunday Times Style Magazine in 2013, and ran for 2 years. She lives in Islington, London and is currently working on her next book Worry with Mother.

More About Francesca Hornak

More Books By Francesca Hornak

Cover for Worry with Mother 101 Neuroses for the Modern Mama by Francesca Hornak
Cover for History of the World in 100 Modern Objects Middle-Class Stuff (and Nonsense) by Francesca Hornak
View All Books By Francesca Hornak

Share this book