Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Devil's Dice

by Roz Watkins

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Devil's Dice

March 2018 Debut of the Month

The first in the ‘DI Meg Dalton Thriller’ series is an addictive, absolute treat of a read. Meg recently moved forces and is now based in Derbyshire, she is thrown in the deep end when a lawyer is found dead in a cave and a sinister game of cat and mouse is initiated. ‘The Devil’s Dice’ was shortlisted for the 2016 Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger Award (for unpublished writers), so my expectations were high, and I certainly wasn’t disappointed. The first few pages set my thoughts fluttering, and throughout this tale a ghostly shadow hovers over the pages. Roz Watkins allows humour to enter at just the right moments, and has created a fabulous main lead. While Meg does have her fair share of problems, and a certain vulnerability too, she really grew on me. As I read, I set my mind free, to delve into the pages, to ponder, to speculate. The Devil’s Dice’ is just so readable, this is a thoroughly modern tale with a teasing strange connection to the past, and a towering cliff hanger of an ending… hopefully there will be many more stories to come.

Liz Robinson

The Devil's Dice Synopsis

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley. This game can only end in murder.

A SHOCKING DEATH A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A SINISTER MESSAGE Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There's just one catch - chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man's initials, and it's been there for over a century.

A DEADLY GAME As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it's clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg - and the dice are loaded...

The Devil's Dice Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

This book is an excellent read - I found it hard to put down! Full review

Kathy Howell

A real page-turner of a supernatural murder mystery where nothing is quite as it seems. Full review

Nicola Kingswell

Easy reading and intriguing thriller with characters full of fun and a sense of reality about their lives. Full review

Phylippa Smithson

A (Derbyshire) debut worthy of your time. Really enjoyable and clever. Full review

Nikki Whitmore

A satisfying and enjoyable debut about a Peak District Detective's investigation of a grisly murder, a local curse, witchcraft and suicides. Well-paced and entertaining. Full review

Sharon Wood

The twist and turns make it a compelling read, cleverly steering the reader into a labyrinth of deceptions and lies. An intelligent and fast moving story. A cracking debut novel. Full review

Helen Clark

An excellent debut novel. This was a real page turner which was difficult to put down. Roz Watkins is a talent to watch out for. Full review

Linda Haw

‘The Devil's Dice’ is no ordinary police procedural and certainly stands out from the crowd. It's a very twisty mystery, with plenty of cliff-hangers and a clever thought-provoking plot. Full review

Victoria Goldman

A good debut novel kept recent with the use of geocaching! Likeable characters, good storyline but a bit like a rollercoaster ride, parts that were fast and thrilling, others slower and drawn out. Full review

Julie Evans

A gripping and involving debut, with a central character I would like to see more of. Full review

Alison Layland

Introducing DI Meg Dalton, who despite her seemingly crippling lack of confidence plunges in “where angels fear to tread” and often suffers for it ! Like a clever “whodunit” ? You’ll enjoy this! Full review

Gillian Wilmott

The Devil’s Dice is so cleverly written by debut author, Roz Watkins. The clues are ingeniously hidden throughout the story. I can’t wait for the next DI Meg Dalton novel. I’m definitely hooked. Full review

Reba Khatun

An excellent first book by Roz Watkins. The sharp quick grammar style wheels the reader along breathlessly through the story. Full review

Alan Brown

I loved this book. The pace of the story is great; it carries you along, revealing just the right amount of clues to keep your interest going throughout the book. I can’t wait to read the next one soon! Full review

Lynne Morgan

This is a good new detective thriller with unusual twists. It is set in the Peak District giving it a different setting with its own problems, areas of bad communications and narrow twisting roads. Full review

Jocelyn Garvey

The Devils Dice is a great debut book from Roz Watkins. The story cleverly weaves in a murder mystery which is being investigated by DI Meg Dalton who also has a personal matter from her past that keeps cropping up and causing issues for her. Full review

Ian Watkin

The Devil's Dice Press Reviews

`A fabulous book. I can't wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again  B A Paris

`An outstanding debut. The Devil's Dice had me gripped from the start  Stephen Booth

`A fascinating debut with a deliciously old school mystery at its heart. I can't wait to see what Watkins does next!  Angela Clarke

`The Devil's Dice encapsulates the dark heart of the Peaks and enthrals the reader with its clever and compelling plot.  Sarah Ward

`Brilliant. I love Meg!  Lisa Hall

`Smart, atmospheric detective story with an unexpected topical twist  Adam Hamdy

`Really enjoyed The Devil's Dice - loved the supernatural feel and excellent resolution. What a copper!  Mick Finlay

`A humdinger of a debut - whip-smart and with a protagonist you're guaranteed to want to get behind  Mel McGrath

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Thing She Told Me
The Cult on Fog Island
Skin Deep
The Lingering

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008214616
Publication date: 08/03/2018
Publisher: HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008214616
Publication date: 8th March 2018
Author: Roz Watkins
Publisher: HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About Roz Watkins

Roz originally studied engineering and natural sciences at Cambridge University, before becoming a patent attorney in Derby, but this has absolutely nothing to do with there being a dead one in her first novel. In her spare time, Roz clicker-trains her dog and horse, and likes to walk in the Peak District, scouting out murder locations.

More About Roz Watkins

Share this book