Harry Potter House Eds likeyoulove
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

This edition has not yet been published

If available, why not choose another format from the 'Other Formats' box on the right.

Reader Reviewed
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber
  

Are You Sleeping

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Exclusive Pre-Publication   
Notify me
when available

As soon as this book is published
we will send you an email.

Pre-order this book We'd love you to buy your books from Lovereading - especially if we helped you to choose them! But as our mantra is guidance, and that includes guidance on price, please do use our 'Compare Book Price' service to discover if the best value deal is from Lovereading or another specialist bookstore.
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Poppy Parnell is an investigative journalist who digs into a case thirteen years old and produces a couple of podcasts. The first interviews the convicted murderer still claiming his innocence of killing a history professor. The second talks to the detective who was first on the scene and found twin sisters locked in a bedroom. We get the story through the eyes of one twin, now leading a new life with a new name. The media frenzy whipped up by the podcast exposes the vulnerable family with tragic consequences which does eventually allow some reconciliation but not for all. Simply written, highly addictive with the feel of a ‘young adult’ novel about it, this is a debut worth taking note of. Sarah Broadhurst

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Celia Cohen - 'An intriguing psychological thriller.'
  • Kathryn Whitfield - 'A brilliant murder mystery which will have you guessing even after the last page.'
  • Alison Greenacre - 'It's a page turner! With good character development, and good pacing. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys family based thrillers.'
  • Carol Peace - 'It was well written with well-defined characters. I thought it deserved the 5*.'
  • Lorraine Blencoe - 'What a great idea for a story – a man is murdered and the only witness is one of his twin daughters.'
  • Sue Burton - 'This book is thought provoking in the way that one small thing can change everything.  Would highly recommend to other readers.'
  • Stephanie Harding - 'Well drawn characters and a good plot. I had to stay up to read the end – need I say more?'
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'A very modern psychological thriller, that is addictive, and difficult to put down...Kathleen Barber, writes crisp clear prose and her characters are complex. An author to watch.'
  • Michelle Hodson - 'Murder, mystery & mayhem. Lies, intrigue and at the heart of the book a very dysfunctional family drama.  This novel has it all.  Very enjoyable and well written story.  Highly recommended.'    
  • Julie Evans - 'A page turner from beginning to end. Keeps you guessing with its woven stories from Josie's tragic past. Skeletons are released from the cupboard uncovering new information about her father's death.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Overall, this book kept me reading and kept me wanting to find out the truth of who killed Charles Buhrman...Kathleen Barber is a lady with potential.'
  • Lynne Morgan - 'Kathleen Barber brings a long closed murder mystery right up to date by successfully incorporating the tale into a social media format...I found this book really interesting, not just in adopting this new approach, but also in its good old-fashioned suspense.'
  • Gill Wilmott - 'This book racks up the suspense from chapter one. There is no escaping the air of mystery and menace from the very beginning.'
  • Evelyn Love- Gajardo - 'The pace was very slow and seemed to wander round in circles with not much happening.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber

Memory can be imperfect. The truth is always black and white. When a family man is killed at point blank range in his home, it shakes a sleepy town to its core. The murder is a strange, horrifying crime but for the authorities it's an open-and-shut case. Ten years on, the victim's daughter, Josie, has started afresh in New York - far from the tragic events that blew her family apart. No-one knows the truth about her previous life, not even her fiance. Investigative journalist Poppy is convinced the wrong man is in jail for the murder and she's determined to prove it. What starts off as a true-crime podcast snowballs into a national phenomenon and everyone has an opinion on the case. Poppy's relentless pursuit of the truth threatens to expose old secrets. Josie realises that her father's murder could have consequences more devastating than she had ever imagined. Are You Sleeping is an addictive debut psychological thriller for fans of Serial, Disclaimer and Luckiest Girl Alive.

Reviews

Are You Sleeping will more than likely keep you up all night as this most compelling suspenseful novel unfolds. A classic whodunit gets a very clever modern treatment that left this reader's heart racing right up to the last page. Liz Nugent, author of Lying in Wait

I couldn't turn the pages fast enough . . . a terrific debut Jenny Blackhurst, author of Before I Let You In

Tense, clever, addictive Paula Daly, author of The Mistake I Made

About the Author

Kathleen Barber was raised in Galesburg, Illinois. She graduated from the University of Illinois and Northwestern University School of Law, and previously practiced bankruptcy law at large firms in Chicago and New York. When she's not writing, Kathleen enjoys travelling the world with her husband.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

27th December 2017

Author

Kathleen Barber

More books by Kathleen Barber
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Exclusive Pre-Publication

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781509843008

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools