Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Are You Sleeping

by Kathleen Barber

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Are You Sleeping

January 2018 Debut of the Month

Poppy Parnell is an investigative journalist who digs into a case thirteen years old and produces a couple of podcasts. The first interviews  the convicted murderer still claiming his innocence  of killing a history professor. The second talks to the detective who was first on the scene and found twin sisters locked in a bedroom.  We get the story through the eyes of one twin, now leading a new life with a new name.  The media frenzy whipped up by the podcast exposes the vulnerable family with tragic consequences which does eventually allow some reconciliation but not for all.  Simply written, highly addictive with the feel of a ‘young adult’ novel about it, this is a debut worth taking note of. Sarah Broadhurst

Sarah Broadhurst

Are You Sleeping Synopsis

Memory can be imperfect. The truth is always black and white. When a family man is killed at point blank range in his home, it shakes a sleepy town to its core. The murder is a strange, horrifying crime but for the authorities it's an open-and-shut case. Ten years on, the victim's daughter, Josie, has started afresh in New York - far from the tragic events that blew her family apart. No-one knows the truth about her previous life, not even her fiance. Investigative journalist Poppy is convinced the wrong man is in jail for the murder and she's determined to prove it. What starts off as a true-crime podcast snowballs into a national phenomenon and everyone has an opinion on the case. Poppy's relentless pursuit of the truth threatens to expose old secrets. Josie realises that her father's murder could have consequences more devastating than she had ever imagined. Are You Sleeping is an addictive debut psychological thriller for fans of Serial, Disclaimer and Luckiest Girl Alive.

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

To celebrate the September release of Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry, we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey!!! She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

Are You Sleeping Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

An intriguing psychological thriller. Full review

Celia Cohen

A brilliant murder mystery which will have you guessing even after the last page. Full review

Kathryn Whitfield

What a great idea for a story – a man is murdered and the only witness is one of his twin daughters. Full review

Lorraine Blencoe

It was well written with well-defined characters. I thought it deserved the 5*. Full review

Carol Peace

It's a page turner! With good character development, and good pacing. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys family based thrillers. Full review

Alison Greenacre

This book is thought provoking in the way that one small thing can change everything. Would highly recommend to other readers. Full review

Sue Burton

Well drawn characters and a good plot. I had to stay up to read the end – need I say more? Full review

Stephanie Harding

A page turner from beginning to end. Keeps you guessing with its woven stories from Josie's tragic past. Skeletons are released from the cupboard uncovering new information about her father's death. Full review

Julie Evans

Murder, mystery & mayhem. Lies, intrigue and at the heart of the book a very dysfunctional family drama. This novel has it all. Very enjoyable and well written story. Highly recommended. Full review

Michelle Hodson

Kathleen Barber brings a long closed murder mystery right up to date by successfully incorporating the tale into a social media format. I found this book really interesting, not just in adopting this new approach, but also in its good old-fashioned suspense. Full review

Lynne Morgan

Overall, this book kept me reading and kept me wanting to find out the truth of who killed Charles Buhrman. Kathleen Barber is a lady with potential. Full review

Helen Lowry

A very modern psychological thriller, that is addictive, and difficult to put down.Kathleen Barber, writes crisp clear prose and her characters are complex. An author to watch. Full review

Teresa O'Halloran

This book racks up the suspense from chapter one. There is no escaping the air of mystery and menace from the very beginning. I would highly recommend this book. Full review

Gill Wilmott

The pace was very slow and seemed to wander round in circles with not much happening Full review

Evelyn Love - Gajardo

Are You Sleeping Press Reviews

Are You Sleeping will more than likely keep you up all night as this most compelling suspenseful novel unfolds. A classic whodunit gets a very clever modern treatment that left this reader's heart racing right up to the last page.  Liz Nugent, author of Lying in Wait

I couldn't turn the pages fast enough . . . a terrific debut    Jenny Blackhurst, author of Before I Let You In

Tense, clever, addictive    Paula Daly, author of The Mistake I Made

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Thing She Told Me
The Hunting Party
Into the Night
Top Dog

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781509843008
Publication date: 27/12/2017
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781509843008
Publication date: 27th December 2017
Author: Kathleen Barber
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, Debuts of the Month, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense,

About Kathleen Barber

Kathleen Barber was raised in Galesburg, Illinois. She graduated from the University of Illinois and Northwestern University School of Law, and previously practiced bankruptcy law at large firms in Chicago and New York. When she's not writing, Kathleen enjoys travelling the world with her husband.

More About Kathleen Barber

Share this book