Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

book price comparison twitter
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Monsoon Summer by Julia Gregson
  

Monsoon Summer

Historical Fiction   Family Drama   If You Like...You'll Love   eBook Favourites   Sagas and Romance   

Lovereading view...

From the bestselling author of the Richard and Judy Book Club summer read, East of the Sun, Julia Gregson returns with this compelling love story set in India - perfect for fans of The Tea Planter's Wife.

If you like Julia Gregson you might also like to read books by Judith Lennox, Jojo Moyes and Kate furnivall.

Win a signed book proof of Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED COPY competition! We are giving away one very desirable book proof of Anne Boleyn, Alison Weir's 2nd novel in her Six Tudor Queens historical fiction series.

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

Monsoon Summer by Julia Gregson

Oxfordshire, 1947. Exhausted by the war and nursing a tragic secret, Kit Smallwood flees to Wickam Farm to recuperate. There she throws herself into helping Daisy set up a charity sending midwives to India. Daisy's plan is fraught with danger. With newly-acquired Independence, many of India's people furiously resent the English for withdrawing so quickly, blaming them for the riots that left millions dead. When Kit meets Anto, a handsome, complicated but charming trainee doctor nearing the end of his English education, she falls utterly in love. Anto makes her laugh and marriage should be the easiest thing in the world. But when he informs his family that he is shortly to return home with an English bride, his parents are appalled. Despite being Anglo-Indian herself, Kit's own mother is equally horrified. She has spent most of her life trying to erase a painful past and losing her daughter to an Indian man is her worst fear realized. As they journey to a new life in India, Kit begins to realize the seriousness of what she has undertaken. Thrown into the heart of a traditional Indian family in a rapidly changing world, Kit has much to learn about the nature of home and the depth of her love for Anto.

Reviews

A wonderful evocation of the rugged Welsh coastline and Catherine's home life * HISTORICAL NOVELS REVIEW on THE WATER HORSE * Lively, atmospheric novel ... the writing is skillful, vivid and explicit * SUNDAY TELEGRAPH on THE WATER HORSE * A tenderly told and wonderfully evocative story * DAILY EXPRESS on JASMINE NIGHTS * Exotic, decadent, dangerous and terrific storytelling * Fanny Blake, WOMAN & HOME on JASMINE NIGHTS * What a gorgeous read. Exciting, romantic, unpredictable and funny. I didn't want it to end. You'll crave curry for weeks. * Tracey Ullman on EAST OF THE SUN * This engaging novel perfectly captures the last days of the Raj * DAILY EXPRESS on EAST OF THE SUN * A sweeping romance between a young Indian doctor and a British midwife. * Good Housekeeping * Gregson draws on accounts of the experience of English midwives in India to weave a compelling tale of the complex ties of family, class and culture. * Booklist * Heartbreaking poignant lovestory set in post-war India * HEAT MAGAZINE * I adored this wonderful story. I loved the characters who leapt from the page and lived in my mind: I wept at the heart break, and my heart lifted at the hope and the joy. The depth of detail covering the life of an Indian family and the conflict between the two cultures was totally convincing. The big dramatic moments were terrific, but where it truly shone for me was in the small but telling moments when I felt as if I could see into the hearts and minds of the characters. I believed every word and from the moment I began reading I truly felt as if I was there. Astonishingly good -- Dinah Jefferies, author of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE


About the Author

Julia Gregson

Julia Gregson is the prize-winning author of three novels, one book of non-fiction, and several short stories. Her novel, EAST OF THE SUN, was chosen for the Richard and Judy TV Book Club and became a SUNDAY TIMES bestseller in the UK. It won Romantic Novel of the Year and the Prince Maurice Prize and has since been translated into more than twenty languages. Previously a journalist, for the SYDNEY MORNING HERALD, THE TIMES, GOOD HOUSEKEEPING, and ROLLING STONE in the USA, she is married and lives in Wales.

Author photo © Paul Stuart

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th August 2017

Author

Julia Gregson

More books by Julia Gregson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

juliagregson.net/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Family Drama
If You Like...You'll Love
eBook Favourites
Sagas and Romance

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781409103059

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools