shadow land elizabeth kostova second sister katie fforde desmond elliott 2017 eleanor oliphant
Vouchers


The Fourteenth Letter by Claire Evans
  

Lovereading view...

London 1881. A bride is murdered on at her engagement party, setting in chain a twisting, riveting mystery full of memorable characters in Claire Evans' dramatic debut novel perfect for fans of Kate Mosse's Labyrinth, Carlos Ruiz Zafon's The Shadow of the Wind and Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist.

Synopsis

The Fourteenth Letter by Claire Evans

A mysterious keepsake, a murdered bride, a legacy of secrets...One balmy June evening in 1881, Phoebe Stanbury stands before the guests at her engagement party: this is her moment, when she will join the renowned Raycraft family and ascend to polite society. As she takes her fiance's hand, a stranger holding a knife steps forward and ends the poor girl's life. Amid the chaos, he turns to her aristocratic groom and mouths: 'I promised I would save you.' The following morning, just a few miles away, timid young legal clerk William Lamb meets a reclusive client. He finds the old man terrified and in desperate need of aid: William must keep safe a small casket of yellowing papers, and deliver an enigmatic message: The Finder knows.

Reviews

'If you enjoyed Kate Mosse's Labyrinth or Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist, then chances are you're going to love this new thriller' Hello Magazine

'A brilliantly plotted, unpredictable page-turner that builds to a devastating conclusion' Jack Williams, co-creator of The Missing (BBC One)

About the Author

Claire Evans is an established business specialist in the UK television industry. After finishing her law degree, she qualified as an accountant, but realising her mistake quickly ran away to work at the National Theatre before finally landing a job at the BBC. Once there, she rose through the ranks to head up operations and business affairs across the TV commissioning teams. In drama, she led the BBC's commercial relationships with the Independent production sector and a wide range of international co-producers and distributors. She left the BBC in 2013 to pursue her writing career. Since then she has advised a number of drama and film production companies, most recently working on The Honourable Woman and Doctor Foster. She is also now the Chief Operating Officer at Two Brothers Pictures Ltd, the company set up by Harry and Jack Williams, the creators of The Missing.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

6th April 2017

Author

Claire Evans

More books by Claire Evans
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Sphere an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Hardback
448 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Thriller / suspense
Historical mysteries

ISBN

9780751566383

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools