desmond elliott 2017 book price comparison
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Waiting for Callback: Take Two by Perdita Cargill, Honor Cargill
  

Waiting for Callback: Take Two

NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

In a Nutshell: Living the dream (kind of) | Fabulously feel-good, epically entertaining series about the highs and lows of life as a teen actress.

This sidesplitting sequel sees Elektra’s life crank up a few notches (and then some) from the outset…For starters, she’s ACTUALLY got together with Archie, and then there’s the matter of receiving The Call. You know, the call in which a HOLLYWOOD DIRECTOR offers you a leading role in a major dystopian movie. She’s over the moon – obvs! – and soon scoots to glamorous Slough to start shooting. Except it’s not exactly glam. Her costume is a hessian sack, and there are more on-set set backs than you can shake a clapperboard at. Meanwhile, Archie’s jetted off to Transylvania to star in a TV show and, to quote Elektra, “trying to maintain a long-distance relationship with a boyfriend who was playing a vampire-slaying heart-throb… surrounded by fit maidens (who would not be wearing sacks)” isn’t exactly easy. The question is, will Elektra eventually get her Hollywood ending?

While her life is far from ordinary, Elektra has a gratifying girl-next-door, down-to-earth personality, with a serious talent for inducing LOLs. Penned with humour and heart by a mother-daughter team, this series will be adored by aficionados of Geek Girl, Girl Online and the Flirty Dancing series. ~ Joanne Owen

Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, Waiting for Callback. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Megan Chambers, age 14 - 'This book was fantastic, it made me laugh, smile and cringe, and more importantly, dragged me right into the story.'
  • Imogen Breaks, age 13 - 'Waiting For Callback is a hilarious and heart warming novel that spills the heart felt secrets of waiting to be called back for an audition. I absolutely loved this book and recommend it to 11+.'
  • Humaira Kauser, age 17 - 'Such a funny feel good book!'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This was such a fun uplifting book about the ups and downs of one young teen called Eleckra who dreams of being on the stage and screen.'
  • Jodi Coffman, age 13 - 'This book was brilliant, different and a great read.'
  • Alex McCalla, age 16 - 'Such a well-written book, by very good authors. Love this title.'

Synopsis

Waiting for Callback: Take Two by Perdita Cargill, Honor Cargill

Elektra has finally landed a part in a film. It's the dream. Well ...until she works out that Straker is a movie so dystopian that within weeks most of the cast and all of the crew wish that the world had actually ended (preferably in scene one). And while it's obviously great news that she's moved from the friend-zone with Archie to become his almost-girlfriend, it would be better if he hadn't immediately relocated to Transylvania to play a vampire hunter surrounded by 'maidens of peerless beauty'...Full of humour and warmth, this new series is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and The It Girl.

Reviews

Praise for Waiting for Callback:

‘Glows with warmth and wit’ Jenny McLachlan, author of Flirty Dancing

'A hugely entertaining voice, wonderful characters, hilarious situations and lots and lots of DRAMA. Waiting for Callback is the kind of book many try to write but few get completely right. Perdita and Honor, however, nail it. It's a fabulously funny read with a very big heart.' Abi Elphinstone, author of The Dreamsnatcher

‘A witty, feel-good romp of a book. Waiting For Callback is my new favourite teen read!’ Emma Carroll, author of The Girl who Walked on Air

‘Absolutely loved Waiting for Callback… So warm and funny with characters who feel like friends’ Keris Stainton, author of Starring Kitty

‘There is lots of fiction vying for the attention of Geek Girl fans... but this one stood out for me. A really warm, funny account of a girl trying to make it in the world of acting, with plenty of drama (friends and family) along the way.’ The Bookseller

About the Author

Perdita Cargill is a former barrister and her sixteen-year-old daughter Honor is currently studying for her A-levels. Honor herself has dipped her toe into the world of acting, giving them some unforgettable experiences to draw on for their debut novel together. They live in North London.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th January 2017

Author

Perdita Cargill, Honor Cargill

More books by Perdita Cargill, Honor Cargill
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Paperback
368 pages
Interest Age: From 11 years

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage)
Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781471144851

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools