rebus 30th anniversary join us on facebook newgen books for YA readers before the fall desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Treatment by C. L. Taylor Read the opening extract of the brand new C. L. Taylor book before its publication on 19/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan
  

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

Historical Fiction   Family Drama   If You Like...You'll Love   Reading Groups   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

An engaging and charmingly bittersweet slice of fiction set during the Second World War. In a Kent village during 1940, the vicar closes the choir, as the ladies of the village start their own choir, the small rebellion creates a chain reaction within their hearts and minds. The war lurks in the background, it’s presence undeniable, yet this tale almost feels timeless. The story is told in a variety of methods, from journals, diaries and letters, to newspaper articles, notices and telegrams. The author Jennifer Ryan creates a beautiful balance in this tale, gentle humour sizzles alongside slicing reality, and a spoonful of love helps proceedings along very nicely. We are allowed to see into the souls of the characters, and yet the gaps are filled in by the telling observations of others. Soft and gentle, yet cutting and knowing, ‘The Chilbury Ladies’s Choir’ is an absolutely gorgeous debut. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Allison Batten - 'Touching WW2 story that I looked forward to reading each day. A gem of a book, highly enjoyable and moving.'
  • Lesley Hart - 'A romp through a village during WWII and the determination of its lady choir not to be dictated to, when their menfolk go to war. Told through letters and diary notes, it is a wonderful uplifting story.'
  • Sarah Hamid - 'A heart-warming novel, told cleverly through diary entries and letters.'
  • Celia Cohen - 'I loved this book...is a mixture of fun, sadness, intrigue and tragedy and is so skilfully written that you will not be able to put it down.'
  • Catherine Jenkins - 'nuanced and unpredictable, with plenty of intrigue. Fans of Downton Abbey will find much to enjoy here.'
  • Melanie Chadwick - 'Filled with humour and a great cast of female characters, The Chilbury Ladies Choir is uplifting and warming like an old-fashioned sing-song.'
  • Angela Rhodes - 'This is a book so full of life and great characters, you will not want the book to end, and will long for a sequel.'
  • Christine Waddington - 'I found it a very entertaining read and look forward to reading more from this author.'
  • Pam Woodburn - 'This is a charming book with a wealth of engaging characters.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This felt like reading juicy gossip and it was fabulous! There was all kinds of love being thrown about with abandon, lies, danger and hopes and dreams too.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'Birth, death, romance, intrigue and German bombs came to Chilbury to create a great story of a village at its best and worst.   It was a joy to read. I loved it.'
  • Hannah Brittlebank - 'This is the very light, readable story of a group of women in a small Kent village, set during the summer of 1940 and told through their letters and diary entries.'
  • Sharon Lowe - 'It was funny, sad, thought provoking, and a thriller all wrapped up in one novel.'
  • Sandra Rabiasz  - 'Set in 1940, this is a story of the home front, told with charm and appeal through the eyes of the Chilbury Ladies Choir.'
  • Carolyn Huckfield - 'This is a beautiful and self-assured first novel.'
  • Ann - 'An entertaining story set in a Kent village in WW2 about a group of ladies who form a choir and learn to rely on their own strengths.'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'Slow and then breathtakingly fast.'

Synopsis

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan

A warm, funny and big-hearted novel of wartime gumption and village spirit which will make your heart sing out, and is perfect for fans of Helen Simonson's The Summer before the War and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Kent, 1940. The women of Chilbury village have taken umbrage at the Vicar's closure of the choir now that its male singers are at war. But when spirited music professor Primrose Trent arrives, it prompts the creation of an all-female singing group. Resurrecting themselves as The Chilbury Ladies' Choir, the women use their song and unity to embolden the community as the war tears through their lives. Dependable Mrs Tilling sees the choir as a chance to finally put herself first, and a welcome distraction from thoughts of her son fighting on the front line. For Kitty Winthrop, the precocious youngest daughter of Chilbury Manor, singing is the only way to outshine her glamorous sister Venetia, who isn't letting the war ruin her plan to make every bachelor in the county fall in love with her. Meanwhile, when midwife Edwina Paltry is presented with a dastardly job which she's convinced will make her rich, she will have to misuse more than the trust of the choir's women to carry out her scheme - and nothing is going to stop her. Filled with intrigue, humour and touching warmth, and set against the devastating backdrop of the Second World War, this is a lively and big-hearted novel told through the voices of four very different but equally vibrant characters, who will win you over as much with their mischief as with their charm.

Reviews

'I am completely and utterly in love with this book. What a joy! It may be in my all-time top five - I just adore every single thing about it'
JILL MANSELL

'I adored it, it made me want to sing with joy'
ALEX BROWN, author of The Secret of Orchard Cottage

'Delightful... it manages to be sad and funny, exciting and heart-warming, all at the same time. Quite an achievement.'
BARBARA ERSKINE author of Sleeper's Castle

About the Author

Jennifer Ryan

Jennifer Ryan grew up in Kent and now lives in the Washington, DC area with her husband and two children. She was previously a nonfiction book editor. The Chilbury Ladies' Choir is her first novel.

Author photo © Tony Awad

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

23rd February 2017

Author

Jennifer Ryan

More books by Jennifer Ryan
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

/jenniferryanbooks.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

The Borough Press an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
464 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Family Drama
If You Like...You'll Love
Reading Groups
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780008163709

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools