eleanor oliphant twitter
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills
  

Where Dead Men Meet

Action Adventure / Spy   Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

December 2016 eBook of the Month.

Absolutely thrilling… this is a fast-paced, firecracker of a read, set in Europe as the Second World War is brewing. Why is Luke Hamilton, intelligence officer at the British Embassy in Paris the target of an assassination attempt? As Luke tries to outrun his pursuers he begins to uncover the secret of his past. The words set the action so clearly in my mind, it didn't feel as though I was looking back in time, it actually felt as though I was there. Mark Mills allows you more knowledge than the characters, consequently, the tension skyrockets as the story constantly accelerates forward. An artful balance is maintained, at no point does this feel out of control as there are moments of stillness, of contemplation and anticipation. I reached the end and felt very satisfied indeed, ‘Where Dead Men Meet’ just begs to be continued as a series, please say it will be, please! ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Mark Mills you might also like to read books by Sarah Rayne, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Robert Goddard.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Rebecca Cockeram - 'A fast paced tale of espionage and adventure, really evoking the feel of pre-war Europe. Absolute page turner.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'It had everything, from people on the run, spies, and the uncertainty of war, a good back story and very satisfying conclusion. What more could you want! Go read this!
  • Mrs D. Forbes-Ritte - 'I found this a really enjoyable read with an engaging historical backdrop and would highly recommend you give it a go.'
  • Alfred Nobile - 'This is worthwhile read, the writing is excellent and it keeps the reader turning the pages.'
  • Emily Curnow - 'A fast paced novel of mistaken identity, mystery, murder and passion, played out in a back drop of pre-war Europe. You will keep reading until the very last page to reveal the final secrets.'
  • Dana Captainino - 'This is a book of intrigue, secrets and murder which draws you in from the first evocative line.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'an engaging, face paced read.  A perfect choice if you are looking for an easy yet entertaining thriller.'  
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Full of secrets, lies, and espionage, this novel is ideal to curl up with for anyone who likes adventure.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A good tale which kept my interest throughout despite not being the sort of book I would normally choose.  It had a realism to it that made it all seem possible including some very unpleasant characters!'
  • Humaira - 'I loved every word of it. It kept me on edge and guessing. Compelling and adventurous. Read this book!'
  • Evelyn Barrett - 'Mark Mills is such a great storyteller... Engaging characters, fluid style and heart-stopping action, this was a very enjoyable read.'
  • Judith Sharp - I found myself liking the characters and routing for them to succeed.  I could have read it in a couple of sessions if I had been able to, such was it’s hold.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'The story is fast paced and gritty, descriptions of places are vivid and thought provoking, almost reads like a Bond film in places.'
  • Jocelyn F Garvey - 'Full of details of pre-war Europe, old boundaries, espionage and loyalties. This is really well written, just enough information to keep you turning the pages.'
  • Victoria Emerson - 'a thoroughly enjoyable thriller involving a chase across Europe and set during World War II. A real page turner.'
  • Gerri Tennant - 'Great potential which doesn't seem to materialise.'
  • Sue Mooney - 'A really good read. Pleasantly surprised and wanted more!'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills

A return to the period adventure thriller in WHERE DEAD MEN MEET re-establishes Mark Mills as: 'A master storyteller' Val McDermid. For fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton - a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy - finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity, or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding towards war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago. From the author of the bestselling THE SAVAGE GARDEN, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets and lies.

Reviews

Believable characters, a richly detailed historical setting, and a story that keeps the reader's attention glued until the final page * Library Journal * WHERE DEAD MEN MEET is a grand adventure, in the tradition of Graham Greene's 'entertainments,
and John Buchan

's before that - a sweeping race through Europe for the highest possible stakes, in the year before the Anschluss. Here's hoping it's only the first of many exploits for Luke and Pippi -- JOSEPH FINDER, New York Times bestselling author of PARANOIA and THE SWITCH Handling the twists and turns of his plot with cool dexterity * Daily Mail * Elegantly plotted... superb period drama * The Sunday Mirror * Secrets, lies and nail-biting moments feature in the fine storytelling * Choice * Mills keeps the pages turning * Belfast Telegraph * Reminiscent of Eric Ambler's brilliant thrillers... Where Dead Men Meet is a well-told, exciting story * The Sunday Times *'


About the Author

Mark Mills

Mark Mills graduated from Cambridge University in 1986. He has lived in both Italy and France, and has written for the screen. His first novel, The Whaleboat House, won the 2004 Crime Writers' Association Award for Best Novel by a debut author. His second, The Savage Garden, was a Richard and Judy Summer Read and a No. 1 bestseller. Under the name Mark B. Mills, he has written the comic novel, Waiting for Doggo. He lives near Oxford with his wife and two children.

Photograph © Willow and Pea Portraits

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

17th November 2016

Author

Mark Mills

More books by Mark Mills
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.markmills.org.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Hardback
448 pages

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780755392353

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools