Where Dead Men Meet

by Mark Mills

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Thriller and Suspense Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime and Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical fiction Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Where Dead Men Meet

Absolutely thrilling… this is a fast-paced, firecracker of a read, set in Europe as the Second World War is brewing. Why is Luke Hamilton, intelligence officer at the British Embassy in Paris the target of an assassination attempt? As Luke tries to outrun his pursuers he begins to uncover the secret of his past. The words set the action so clearly in my mind, it didn't feel as though I was looking back in time, it actually felt as though I was there. Mark Mills allows you more knowledge than the characters, consequently, the tension skyrockets as the story constantly accelerates forward. An artful balance is maintained, at no point does this feel out of control as there are moments of stillness, of contemplation and anticipation. I reached the end and felt very satisfied indeed, ‘Where Dead Men Meet’ just begs to be continued as a series, please say it will be, please! ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Where Dead Men Meet Synopsis

A return to the period adventure thriller in WHERE DEAD MEN MEET re-establishes Mark Mills as: 'A master storyteller' Val McDermid. For fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton - a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy - finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity, or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding towards war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago. From the author of the bestselling THE SAVAGE GARDEN, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets and lies.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780755392384
Publication date: 13th July 2017
Author: Mark Mills
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Collections:
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Copy of Breaking Point and A £50 Costa Coffee Voucher!

Win a Copy of Breaking Point and A £50 Costa Coffee Voucher!

Closing date: 20/02/2022

Win a copy of the "chilling, emotional thriller" Breaking Point by Edel Coffey as well as a £50 Costa Coffee voucher in our new giveaway. We're also offering copies of the book to five runners up. "an absolute page-turner all with the compelling, “can’t-look-away-for-a-moment” power of a primetime TV thriller." Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 20th February 2022. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Where Dead Men Meet

The Ghost of the Mary Celeste
The Vesuvius Club
The Other Typist
Pleasantville

Where Dead Men Meet Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Rebecca Cockeram - 'A fast paced tale of espionage and adventure, really evoking the feel of pre-war Europe. Absolute page turner.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'It had everything, from people on the run, spies, and the uncertainty of war, a good back story and very satisfying conclusion. What more could you want! Go read this!
  • Mrs D. Forbes-Ritte - 'I found this a really enjoyable read with an engaging historical backdrop and would highly recommend you give it a go.'
  • Alfred Nobile - 'This is worthwhile read, the writing is excellent and it keeps the reader turning the pages.'
  • Emily Curnow - 'A fast paced novel of mistaken identity, mystery, murder and passion, played out in a back drop of pre-war Europe. You will keep reading until the very last page to reveal the final secrets.'
  • Dana Captainino - 'This is a book of intrigue, secrets and murder which draws you in from the first evocative line.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'an engaging, face paced read.  A perfect choice if you are looking for an easy yet entertaining thriller.'  
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Full of secrets, lies, and espionage, this novel is ideal to curl up with for anyone who likes adventure.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A good tale which kept my interest throughout despite not being the sort of book I would normally choose.  It had a realism to it that made it all seem possible including some very unpleasant characters!'
  • Humaira - 'I loved every word of it. It kept me on edge and guessing. Compelling and adventurous. Read this book!'
  • Evelyn Barrett - 'Mark Mills is such a great storyteller... Engaging characters, fluid style and heart-stopping action, this was a very enjoyable read.'
  • Judith Sharp - I found myself liking the characters and routing for them to succeed.  I could have read it in a couple of sessions if I had been able to, such was it’s hold.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'The story is fast paced and gritty, descriptions of places are vivid and thought provoking, almost reads like a Bond film in places.'
  • Jocelyn F Garvey - 'Full of details of pre-war Europe, old boundaries, espionage and loyalties. This is really well written, just enough information to keep you turning the pages.'
  • Victoria Emerson - 'a thoroughly enjoyable thriller involving a chase across Europe and set during World War II. A real page turner.'
  • Gerri Tennant - 'Great potential which doesn't seem to materialise.'
  • Sue Mooney - 'A really good read. Pleasantly surprised and wanted more!'

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780755392384
Publication date: 13/07/2017
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781504736596
Publication date: 30/05/2017
Format: Ebook

ISBN: 9780755392353
Publication date: 17/11/2016
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Mark Mills

Mark Mills graduated from Cambridge University in 1986. He has lived in both Italy and France, and has written for the screen. His first novel, The Whaleboat House, won the 2004 Crime Writers' Association Award for Best Novel by a debut author. His second, The Savage Garden, was a Richard and Judy Summer Read and a No. 1 bestseller. Under the name Mark B. Mills, he has written the comic novel, Waiting for Doggo. He lives near Oxford with his wife and two children. Photograph © Willow and Pea Portraits

More About Mark Mills

More Books By Mark Mills

Where Dead Men Meet
Where Dead Men Meet
Where Dead Men Meet
View All Books By Mark Mills

Share this book