Suzanne Rindell - Author

About the Author

Suzanne Rindell is currently finishing a Ph.D. in English Literature at Rice University. The Other Typist is her first novel. She lives in New York.

 

Author photo © Kate Roemer

Featured books by Suzanne Rindell

Other books by Suzanne Rindell

Eagle & Crane

Eagle & Crane

Author: Suzanne Rindell Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/07/2018

Louis Thorn and Haruto `Harry' Yamada are the star attractions of a daredevil aerial stunt team that traverses Depression-era California: Eagle & Crane. The young men have a complicated relationship, due to the Thorn family's belief that the Yamadas - Japanese immigrants - stole land belonging to them. This tension is inflamed when Louis and Harry are both drawn to the same woman, Ava Brooks. After the bombing of Pearl Harbor there are changes and harsh realities to face. When one of the stunt planes crashes with two charred bodies inside, the authorities conclude that the victims are Harry and his father, escaped from a Japanese internment camp. However, as Agent Bonner is sent to confirm the facts, his ensuing investigation struggles when the details don't add up and no one seems willing to tell the truth.

Eagle & Crane

Eagle & Crane

Author: Suzanne Rindell Format: eBook Release Date: 03/07/2018

Two young daredevil flyers confront ugly truths and family secrets during the U.S. internment of Japanese citizens during World War II, from the author of The Other Typist and Three-Martini Lunch.Louis Thorn and Haruto "e;Harry"e; Yamada--Eagle and Crane--are the star attractions of Earl Shaw's Flying Circus, a daredevil (and not exactly legal) flying act that traverses Depression-era California. The young men have a complicated relationship, thanks to the Thorn family's belief that the Yamadas--Japanese immigrants--stole land that should have stayed in the Thorn family.When Louis and Harry become aerial stuntmen, performing death-defying tricks high above audiences, they're both drawn to Shaw's smart and appealing stepdaughter, Ava Brooks. After the Japanese bomb Pearl Harbor and one of Shaw's planes mysteriously crashes and two charred bodies are discovered in it, authorities conclude that the victims were Harry and his father, Kenichi, who had escaped from a Japanese internment camp they had been sent to by the federal government. To the local sheriff, the situation is open and shut. But to the lone FBI agent assigned to the case, the details don't add up.Thus begins an investigation into what really happened to cause the plane crash, who was in the plane when it fell from the sky, and why no one involved seems willing to tell the truth. By turns an absorbing mystery and a fascinating exploration of race, family and loyalty, Eagle and Crane is that rare novel that tells a gripping story as it explores a terrible era of American history.

Three-Martini Lunch

Three-Martini Lunch

Author: Suzanne Rindell Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/08/2017

Cliff Nelson is the privileged son of an editor at a New York publishing house. Having dropped out of college he's slumming it around Greenwich village, enjoying the nightlife, booze, drugs and the idea that he's the next Kerouac. Eden Katz arrives in New York fresh-faced and filled with ambition to realise her dream of becoming an editor. She has to develop a thicker skin and adopt an imposture of her own in order to succeed. Finally Miles Tillman, a black soon-to-be Columbia graduate and publishing house bike messenger, is an aspiring writer who feels he straddles various worlds and belongs to none. Their choices, concealments and betrayals as they reach for their goals ripple outwards leaving none of them unchanged.

Three-Martini Lunch

Three-Martini Lunch

Author: Suzanne Rindell Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/05/2016

Cliff Nelson is the privileged son of an editor at a New York publishing house. Having dropped out of college he's slumming it around Greenwich village, enjoying the nightlife, booze, drugs and the idea that he's the next Kerouac. Eden Katz arrives in New York fresh-faced and filled with ambition to realise her dream of becoming an editor. She has to develop a thicker skin and adopt an imposture of her own in order to succeed. Finally Miles Tillman, a black soon-to-be Columbia graduate and publishing house bike messenger, is an aspiring writer who feels he straddles various worlds and belongs to none. Their choices, concealments and betrayals as they reach for their goals ripple outwards leaving none of them unchanged.

Three-Martini Lunch

Three-Martini Lunch

Author: Suzanne Rindell Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/05/2016

Cliff Nelson is the privileged son of an editor at a New York publishing house. Having dropped out of college he's slumming it around Greenwich village, enjoying the nightlife, booze, drugs and the idea that he's the next Kerouac. Eden Katz arrives in New York fresh-faced and filled with ambition to realise her dream of becoming an editor. She has to develop a thicker skin and adopt an imposture of her own in order to succeed. Finally Miles Tillman, a black soon-to-be Columbia graduate and publishing house bike messenger, is an aspiring writer who feels he straddles various worlds and belongs to none. Their choices, concealments and betrayals as they reach for their goals ripple outwards leaving none of them unchanged.

Three-Martini Lunch

Three-Martini Lunch

Author: Suzanne Rindell Format: eBook Release Date: 05/04/2016

From the author of the ';thrilling' (The Christian Science Monitor) novel The Other Typist comes an evocative, multilayered story of ambition, success, and secrecy in 1950s New York. In 1958, Greenwich Village buzzes with beatniks, jazz clubs, and new ideasthe ideal spot for three ambitious young people to meet. Cliff Nelson, the son of a successful book editor, is convinced he's the next Kerouac, if only his father would notice. Eden Katz dreams of being an editor but is shocked when she encounters roadblocks to that ambition. And Miles Tillman, a talented black writer from Harlem, seeks to learn the truth about his father's past, finding love in the process. Though different from one another, all three share a common goal: to succeed in the competitive and uncompromising world of book publishing. As they reach for what they want, they come to understand what they must sacrifice, conceal, and betray to achieve their goals, learning they must live with the consequences of their choices. In Three-Martini Lunch, Suzanne Rindell has written both a page-turning morality tale and a captivating look at a stylish, demanding eraand a world steeped in tradition that's poised for great upheaval.From the Hardcover edition.

Other Typist

Other Typist

Author: Suzanne Rindell Format: eBook Release Date: 07/05/2013

One of the most fascinating, unreliable narrators you'll read this year, for fans of The Talented Mr. Ripley and Rules of Civility.It is 1923. Rose Baker is a typist in the New York City Police Department on the lower east side. Confessions are her job. The criminals admit to their crimes, and like a high priestess, Rose records their every word. Often she is the only woman present. And while she may hear about shootings, knifings, and crimes of passion, as soon as she leaves that room she is once again the weaker sex, best suited for making coffee.It is a new era for women, and New York City is a confusing time for Rose. Gone are the Victorian standards of what is acceptable. Now women bob their hair short like men, they smoke, they go to speakeasies. But prudish Rose is stuck in the fading light of yesteryear, searching for the nurturing companionship that eluded her childhood and clinging to the Victorian ideal of sisterhood.But when glamorous Odalie, a new girl, joins the typing pool, despite her best intentions Rose falls under Odalie's spell. As the two women navigate between the sparkling underworld of speakeasies by night, and their work at the station by day, Rose is drawn fully into Odalie's high stakes world and her fascination with Odalie turns into an obsession from which she may never recover.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://suzannerindell.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Suzanne Rindell on Facebook