LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Mark Mills - Author

About the Author

Mark Mills graduated from Cambridge University in 1986. He has lived in both Italy and France, and has written for the screen. His first novel, The Whaleboat House, won the 2004 Crime Writers' Association Award for Best Novel by a debut author. His second, The Savage Garden, was a Richard and Judy Summer Read and a No. 1 bestseller. Under the name Mark B. Mills, he has written the comic novel, Waiting for Doggo. He lives near Oxford with his wife and two children.

Photograph © Willow and Pea Portraits

Featured books by Mark Mills

Other books by Mark Mills

Making Your Mark How I built a fortune from GBP1.50 and you can too

Making Your Mark How I built a fortune from GBP1.50 and you can too

Author: Mark Mills Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/09/2019

Cover me while I cut around that blue Mondeo and ambush the guy in the grey suit. There are not many successful entrepreneurs who will enthusiastically break off in the middle of a multi-million pound deal to have a huge snowball fight in the car park with their finance director. But then Mark Mills is not just any successful entrepreneur. Whether organising one of his infamous Summer Christmas parties, flying to New York to find a new business idea or staying up all night to celebrate a successful deal, Mark Mills has always believed in the absolute importance of having fun in business. And not just for him, but for his employees, customers and suppliers too. His brilliantly unique approach has more than paid off. Mark's infectious enthusiasm, relentless energy, can-do approach and spirit of adventure have powered him to the very pinnacle of entrepreneurial success, both in his own businesses and by helping others to do the same in theirs. Over the years he has won countless Entrepreneur of the Year Awards and been asked to give speeches at prestigious events around the world about his achievements. Making Your Mark tells the fascinating and entertaining story of Mark's extraordinary success in business, from selling broken biscuits at the age of 8, through his early years selling everything from payphones to post boxes, to his outstanding success creating Cardpoint, the cash machine business he founded at the age of 29 which at its peak was valued at GBP170 million. But just as importantly, it also tells the story of Mark's disasters along the way, about the times when things went badly wrong and when failure was more often the outcome than success. Along the way Mark shares his unique Golden Rules on how to achieve your own success in business, from learning how to think like an entrepreneur to creating a good business model, from understanding how to build a strong team to learning how to communicate effectively.

Prophecy and Redemption A Soldier's Story

Prophecy and Redemption A Soldier's Story

Author: Mark Mills Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2019

Prophecy and Providence Avenging the Innocent

Prophecy and Providence Avenging the Innocent

Author: Mark Mills Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2019

Where Dead Men Meet

Where Dead Men Meet

Author: Mark Mills Format: eBook Release Date: 30/05/2017

A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert HarrisParis, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity—or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding toward war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago.From the author of the bestselling The Savage Garden, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies.

Where Dead Men Meet The adventure thriller of the year

Where Dead Men Meet The adventure thriller of the year

Author: Mark Mills Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/11/2016

A return to the period adventure thriller in WHERE DEAD MEN MEET re-establishes Mark Mills as: 'A master storyteller' Val McDermid. For fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton - a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy - finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity, or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding towards war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago. From the author of the bestselling THE SAVAGE GARDEN, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets and lies.

Waiting For Doggo The feel-good romantic comedy for dog lovers and friends

Waiting For Doggo The feel-good romantic comedy for dog lovers and friends

Author: Mark Mills Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/08/2015

In WAITING FOR DOGGO, it seems that Dan has needed someone to put his life in order... No-one ever called Dan a pushover. But then no-one ever called him fast-track either. He's been with Clara for four years and he's been perfectly happy; but now she's left him, leaving nothing but a long letter filled with incriminations and a small, white, almost hairless dog, named Doggo. So now Dan is single, a man without any kind of partner whether working or in love. He's just one reluctant dog owner. Find a new home for him, that's the plan. But Doggo proves to be just as reluctant to go...

Waiting For Doggo The feel-good romantic comedy for dog lovers and friends

Waiting For Doggo The feel-good romantic comedy for dog lovers and friends

Author: Mark Mills Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/11/2014

No-one ever called Dan a pushover. But then no-one ever called him fast-track either. He likes driving slowly, playing Sudoku on his iPhone, swapping one scruffy jumper for another. He's been with Clara for four years and he's been perfectly happy; but now she's left him, leaving nothing but a long letter filled with incriminations and a small, white, almost hairless dog, named Doggo. So now Dan is single, a man without any kind of partner whether working or in love. He's just one reluctant dog owner. Find a new home for him, that's the plan. Come on...everyone knows the old adage about the best laid plans and besides, Doggo is one special kind of a four legged friend...and an inspiration.

House of the Hanged

House of the Hanged

Author: Mark Mills Format: eBook Release Date: 07/07/2011

From the No. 1 bestseller and author of Richard & Judy pick The Savage Garden: a riveting tale of passion and murder set on the French Riviera in the 1930s for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jed RubenfeldFrance, 1935: At the poor man's end of the Riviera sits Le Rayol, a haven for artists, expatriates and refugees. Here, a world away from the rumblings of a continent heading towards war, Tom Nash has rebuilt his life after a turbulent career in the Secret Intelligence Service.His past, though, is less willing to leave him behind. When a midnight intruder tries to kill him, Tom knows it is just a matter of time before another assassination attempt is made.Gathered at Le Rayol for the summer months are all those he holds most dear, including his beloved goddaughter Lucy. Reluctantly, Tom comes to believe that one of them must have betrayed him. If he is to live, Tom must draw his enemy out, but at what cost to himself and the people he loves...?

Preparations

Preparations

Author: Mark Mills Format: eBook Release Date: 01/02/2011

Ronald T. Turner is prepared for anything. And the zombies are prepared for him.At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Information Officer

Information Officer

Author: Mark Mills Format: eBook Release Date: 02/02/2010

Malta, April 1942. Max Chadwick is the military officer charged with managing information and maintaining morale on the tiny Mediterranean island, a strategic lynchpin in the war. Bombs rain from the sky at all hours of the day and night, as the Maltese and their British protectors fiercely cling to the rocky outcropping that is all that stands between the Axis and total dominance of the Mediterranean theater. When a Maltese woman is murdered and evidence links her death to a British serviceman, Chadwick is faced with the possibility that the fragile and crucial esprit de corps could shatter. Forced to keep his investigation a secret, he sets out to unravel the mystery and unmask the killer. At stake is not only his only life and that of the woman he loves but also a conflict with far broader consequences.

The Information Officer

The Information Officer

Author: Mark Mills Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2009

From the No. 1 bestseller and author of Richard & Judy pick The Savage Garden: an atmospheric world war two crime thriller for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jed Rubenfeld You want to know who I am? I'm the last living soul you'll ever set eyes on Summer, 1942. For the people of Malta, suffering daily bombing raids, the British are the last line of defence against the Nazis. And it is Max Chadwick's job as the information officer to ensure the news the islanders receive maintains morale. So when Max is given proof suggesting a British officer is murdering local women, he knows the consequences of discovery are dire. With the violence on the war-ravaged island escalating daily, he embarks on a private investigation, hidden from the eyes of superiors, friends and the woman he loves. But Max finds himself torn between patriotic duty and personal honour in his efforts to track down the killer... an elusive figure always one step ahead of his hunter.

Information Officer

Information Officer

Author: Mark Mills Format: eBook Release Date: 30/04/2009

From the No. 1 bestseller and author of Richard & Judy pick The Savage Garden: an atmospheric world war two crime thriller for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jed Rubenfeld"e;You want to know who I am? I'm the last living soul you'll ever set eyes on"e;Summer, 1942. For the people of Malta, suffering daily bombing raids, the British are the last line of defence against the Nazis. And it is Max Chadwick's job as the information officer to ensure the news the islanders receive maintains morale.So when Max is given proof suggesting a British officer is murdering local women, he knows the consequences of discovery are dire. With the violence on the war-ravaged island escalating daily, he embarks on a private investigation, hidden from the eyes of superiors, friends and the woman he loves.But Max finds himself torn between patriotic duty and personal honour in his efforts to track down the killer... an elusive figure always one step ahead of his hunter.