Search our site
Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron Read the opening extract of the brand new Sophie Cameron book before its publication on 22/03/2018

Fellside by M. R. Carey


Horror   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Highly Recommended.

The new novel from the author of The Girl With All The Gifts is a gripping meld of prison novel, whodunit and supernatural suspense. Carey is an astute observer of people and their foibles and this novel, set in Fellside, a private prison on the North Yorkshire moors, offers him ample opportunity to introduce the reader to a cast of troubled and very real characters. Fellside is a modern prison but is full of the Dickensian abuse and violence. And something else, rather more otherworldly.

Newly arrived in Fellside is Jess Moulson, a young woman addicted to heroin, found guilty of murdering a boy in a fire that consumed the flats where she and the boy’s family were living. Jess is plagued by a terrifying cocktail of guilt, heroin withdrawal and the pain of her injuries. Considering death, Jess begins to see the ghost of the dead boy. He speaks to her, asks for her help, offers some sort of redemption. At which point Carey’s novel breaks out of the prison genre and takes us to places beyond life and waking.

Carey is a very skilled writer able to use brief moments to introduce both horror and sensitive insight into the lives of his characters. The latter part of the book takes a few liberties with criminal justice procedures but by this point you are gripped by Jess’ search for the truth. A perfect read for fans of Stephen King, John Connolly and Sarah Pinborough. ~ Simon Spanton

If you like M. R. Carey you might also like to read books by Justin Cronin, Lauren Beukes and Neil Gaiman.

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


Fellside by M. R. Carey

Fellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. It's not the kind of place you'd want to end up. But it's where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life. It's a place where even the walls whisper. And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess. Will she listen? Discover M. R. Carey's powerful new novel - a chillingly atmospheric tale filled with tension, action and emotion that's set to take the world by storm.


Praise for M. R. Carey:

'Original, thrilling and powerful' - Guardian

'Haunting, heartbreaking' - Vogue

'A great read that takes hold of you and doesn't let go' - John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In

'Scary, tense and fast-paced...but with a heartwarming tenderness' - Marie Claire

'An intense, haunting thriller with heart. You will not want to put this down' Laini Taylor, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

'A dark, intriguing read' Martina Cole on FELLSIDE

'As brilliant as it is dark and devious' Jonathan Maberry, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

'A fantastic, twist-upon-twist, shape-shifting novel. Gripping, deeply affecting and arrestingly beautiful, it is a haunting tale of raw horror and extraordinary redemption. I adored every page' Miranda Dickinson, SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

About the Author

M. R. Carey

M. R. Carey is a pen name for an established British writer of prose fiction and comic books. He has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on X-Men and Fantastic Four, Marvel's flagship superhero titles. His creator-owned books regularly appear in the New York Times graphic fiction bestseller list. He also has several previous novels and one Hollywood movie screenplay to his credit.

Click here to read our 'Ask the Author' feature on M.R. Carey.

Author photo © Charlie Hopkinson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th April 2016


M. R. Carey

More books by M. R. Carey
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website
Loading twitter updates...


Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group




Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites



Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta