Harry Potter House Eds rebus 30th anniversary likeyoulove
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Fellside by M. R. Carey
  

Fellside

Horror   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £16.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Highly Recommended.

The new novel from the author of The Girl With All The Gifts is a gripping meld of prison novel, whodunit and supernatural suspense. Carey is an astute observer of people and their foibles and this novel, set in Fellside, a private prison on the North Yorkshire moors, offers him ample opportunity to introduce the reader to a cast of troubled and very real characters. Fellside is a modern prison but is full of the Dickensian abuse and violence. And something else, rather more otherworldly.

Newly arrived in Fellside is Jess Moulson, a young woman addicted to heroin, found guilty of murdering a boy in a fire that consumed the flats where she and the boy’s family were living. Jess is plagued by a terrifying cocktail of guilt, heroin withdrawal and the pain of her injuries. Considering death, Jess begins to see the ghost of the dead boy. He speaks to her, asks for her help, offers some sort of redemption. At which point Carey’s novel breaks out of the prison genre and takes us to places beyond life and waking.

Carey is a very skilled writer able to use brief moments to introduce both horror and sensitive insight into the lives of his characters. The latter part of the book takes a few liberties with criminal justice procedures but by this point you are gripped by Jess’ search for the truth. A perfect read for fans of Stephen King, John Connolly and Sarah Pinborough. ~ Simon Spanton

If you like M. R. Carey you might also like to read books by Lauren Beukes, Justin Cronin and Neil Gaiman.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Fellside by M. R. Carey

Fellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. It's not the kind of place you'd want to end up. But it's where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life. It's a place where even the walls whisper. And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess. Will she listen? Discover M. R. Carey's powerful new novel - a chillingly atmospheric tale filled with tension, action and emotion that's set to take the world by storm.

Reviews

Praise for M. R. Carey:

'Original, thrilling and powerful' - Guardian

'Haunting, heartbreaking' - Vogue

'A great read that takes hold of you and doesn't let go' - John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In

'Scary, tense and fast-paced...but with a heartwarming tenderness' - Marie Claire

'An intense, haunting thriller with heart. You will not want to put this down' Laini Taylor, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

'A dark, intriguing read' Martina Cole on FELLSIDE

'As brilliant as it is dark and devious' Jonathan Maberry, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

'A fantastic, twist-upon-twist, shape-shifting novel. Gripping, deeply affecting and arrestingly beautiful, it is a haunting tale of raw horror and extraordinary redemption. I adored every page' Miranda Dickinson, SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

About the Author

M. R. Carey

M. R. Carey is a pen name for an established British writer of prose fiction and comic books. He has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on X-Men and Fantastic Four, Marvel's flagship superhero titles. His creator-owned books regularly appear in the New York Times graphic fiction bestseller list. He also has several previous novels and one Hollywood movie screenplay to his credit.

Click here to read our 'Ask the Author' feature on M.R. Carey.

Author photo © Charlie Hopkinson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th April 2016

Author

M. R. Carey

More books by M. R. Carey
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

mikeandpeter.com/about/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Hardback
496 pages

Categories

Horror
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Science fiction

ISBN

9780356503585

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools