debuts of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Battlemage by Stephen Aryan
  

Battlemage

Part of the The Age of Darkness Series
Fantasy   All Shortlists and Winners   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer at the David Gemmell Awards 2016.

Highly Recommended.

Stephen Aryan’s ambitious and very adept debut launches a new series that should appeal to fans of Brandon Sanderson and James Barclay alike. Set in a world of magicians and warring kingdoms you might think that there was little original to Battle Mage but in fact this fast moving and meaty fantasy soon surprises and keeps the twists and novel turns coming. Even the main characters; a grizzled soldier, a powerful mage and a very capable princess are soon revealed to be not quite what you might expect. Aryan’s confidence in how he paces the story and parcels out his revelations would be impressive in an established author – that he is manages it in his first novel is immensely to his credit.

Fans of epic fantasy will quickly feel at home here, yet this also manages to feel very original in its own way: Aryan avoids the clichéd fantasy races instead coming up with vivid creatures of his own and his pantheon of gods is wonderfully fresh and sometimes alarmingly down to earth. But it is his characters that ground this book: even when there is clearly more to them than meets the eye they are always believable and real. Rich world-building, a willingness to be original, a vivid way with action scenes and a ready wit mean that Stephen Aryan is someone who should be well able to keep readers happily onside for the long game. ~ Simon Spanton

A 'Piece of Passion' from the publisher...

When I first read Battlemage I was blown away by the way that Stephen Aryan puts the reader down on the front line with his warriors and wizards, fighting with magic and cold steel. Like Stan Nicholls’ Orcs or Markus Heitz’s The Dwarves, this book took a character type I thought I knew – that of the battlemage – and changed how I saw it. Stephen has really thought about how magic would be used as a weapon of war, and about the effect it would have on the people using it – outcasts in an army that fears their power almost as much as it fears the enemy. ~ Jenni Hill, Commissioning Editor, Orbit

Synopsis

Battlemage by Stephen Aryan

'I can command storms, summon fire and unmake stone,' Balfruss growled. 'It's dangerous to meddle with things you don't understand.' BALFRUSS is a battlemage, sworn to fight and die for a country that fears his kind. VARGUS is a common soldier - while mages shoot lightning from the walls of his city, he is down on the front line getting blood on his blade. TALANDRA is a princess and spymaster, but the war will force her to risk everything, and make the greatest sacrifice of all. Magic and mayhem collide in this explosive epic fantasy from a major new talent.

Reviews



About the Author

Stephen Aryan

Stephen Aryan was born in 1977 and raised by the sea in the North East of England. He started reading fantasy at a young age and cites among his early influences Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman, Ursula Le Guin, Terry Brooks, David Eddings and David Gemmell. He currently lives in West Yorkshire and when he's not sampling real ales or walking in the hills, he can be found reading and writing fantasy.

Author photo © Hannah Webster

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th September 2015

Author

Stephen Aryan

More books by Stephen Aryan
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

stephen-aryan.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Fantasy
All Shortlists and Winners
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Fantasy
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780356504803

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools