Stephen Aryan - Author

About the Author

Stephen Aryan was born in 1977 and raised by the sea in the North East of England. He started reading fantasy at a young age and cites among his early influences Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman, Ursula Le Guin, Terry Brooks, David Eddings and David Gemmell. He currently lives in West Yorkshire and when he's not sampling real ales or walking in the hills, he can be found reading and writing fantasy.

 

Author photo © Hannah Webster

Featured books by Stephen Aryan

The Coward

The Coward

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/06/2021

A thoroughly entertaining and epic slice of heroic fantasy fiction with battles and heroes aplenty, yet there is more to focus on here than initially meets the eye. With reluctance legend Kell Kressia, who for ten years has been tending his farm, sets out on a quest to save the land from an icy terror. Author Stephen Aryan’s debut was a finalist in the David Gemmell Morningstar Award, and The Coward definitely put me in mind of the late and great author. There is a solid backbone of decency, with the traditional action, adventure and swordplay on offer, this book also looks at cowardice, heroism, friendship, and love. Set in a world that I felt on the edge of already knowing, the landscape is almost recognisable, yet different enough to create interest. The characters have some depth while still being larger than life. This is a lively yet simple tale, one that you can wholeheartedly throw yourself into, and there are some unexpected moments to help you along the way. The plot sings along and makes this a read you can roar through. It’s a thundering introduction to a new series, and you can sign me up for book two already! A heady hit of escapism, The Coward is rollicking-good read.

Battlemage

Battlemage

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/09/2015

Shortlisted for the Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer at the David Gemmell Awards 2016. Highly Recommended. Stephen Aryan’s ambitious and very adept debut launches a new series that should appeal to fans of Brandon Sanderson and James Barclay alike. Set in a world of magicians and warring kingdoms you might think that there was little original to Battle Mage but in fact this fast moving and meaty fantasy soon surprises and keeps the twists and novel turns coming. Even the main characters; a grizzled soldier, a powerful mage and a very capable princess are soon revealed to be not quite what you might expect. Aryan’s confidence in how he paces the story and parcels out his revelations would be impressive in an established author – that he is manages it in his first novel is immensely to his credit. Fans of epic fantasy will quickly feel at home here, yet this also manages to feel very original in its own way: Aryan avoids the clichéd fantasy races instead coming up with vivid creatures of his own and his pantheon of gods is wonderfully fresh and sometimes alarmingly down to earth. But it is his characters that ground this book: even when there is clearly more to them than meets the eye they are always believable and real. Rich world-building, a willingness to be original, a vivid way with action scenes and a ready wit mean that Stephen Aryan is someone who should be well able to keep readers happily onside for the long game.   A 'Piece of Passion' from the publisher... When I first read Battlemage I was blown away by the way that Stephen Aryan puts the reader down on the front line with his warriors and wizards, fighting with magic and cold steel. Like Stan Nicholls’ Orcs or Markus Heitz’s The Dwarves, this book took a character type I thought I knew – that of the battlemage – and changed how I saw it. Stephen has really thought about how magic would be used as a weapon of war, and about the effect it would have on the people using it – outcasts in an army that fears their power almost as much as it fears the enemy. ~ Jenni Hill, Commissioning Editor, Orbit

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Stephen Aryan

Magebane

Magebane

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/08/2019

MAGIC IS THE ONLY WEAPON AGAINST THE GODS A plague rages in the streets of Perizzi. Guardians rally to deal with riots while apothecarists struggle to find a cure. The cult of Akosh has been decimated but there are many survivors in the north hungry for revenge. Elsewhere, new alliances are formed to combat a deity who feeds on pestilence and decay. Gods, Sorcerers and Battlemages must set aside the past to work together - or risk unleashing greater suffering than they can possibly imagine . . .

Magefall

Magefall

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/09/2018

'Stephen Aryan puts the epic into Epic Fantasy' Den Patrick The land is in turmoil. Mages are hunted by men and gods alike. With their last refuge fallen, two young mages must conspire against a god to show the world that their abilities aren't a curse; they are the only way to ensure lasting peace. Under the threat of anti-magic fanatics, Wren struggles to find her place as a leader and to keep her people safe as they build a new home. Danoph searches for answers on a spiritual journey, determined to find out who he really is and where he came from in an effort to calm the coming storm. The world has turned against mages, yet only they can save it. 'Aryan's battle scenes are visceral masterpieces that transport the reader deep into the melee' Taran Matharu For more from Stephen Aryan, check out: Age of Darkness Battlemage Bloodmage Chaosmage The Age of Dread Mageborn Magefall ebook-only novella: Of Gods and Men

Chaosmage

Chaosmage

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Ebook Release Date: 01/08/2018

Einst war die Stadt Voechenka fur ihre Musik, Kunst und Schonheit bekannt, aber nun ist sie verwustet und trostlos. Die einstige Metropole steht unter Belagerung, und manche sagen, sie sei verflucht. Der Krieg des irren Konigs Taikon und seines dunklen Hexenmeisters ist zwar voruber, doch nicht alle Kriegsopfer sind so tot, wie man geglaubt hat ... In jeder Nacht seit dem Ende des Krieges greifen ruhelose Untote Voechenka an und locken die Lebenden in ihre Welt jenseits der Graber. Die junge Friedenswachterin Tammy, die Verraterin Zannah und der Kriegsmagier Balfruss mussen sich zusammentun, um gegen die Untoten zu kampfen. Konnen sie Voechenka vor einem grausamen Schicksal bewahren?

Of Gods and Men

Of Gods and Men

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Ebook Release Date: 06/02/2018

The gruff and mysterious warrior known as Vargus has meant many things to many people over the course of his long life. But when he hears of a village suffering strange attacks in the dead of night, he must take up the role of the Gath - the people's protector - once again, before any more children go missing.Exclusive to ebook and audiobook, Of Gods and Men is an original epic fantasy novella by Stephen Aryan focusing on a fan-favourite character from the Age of Dread trilogy. Story takes place before the events of Battlemage.

Mageborn

Mageborn

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/10/2017

'Stephen Aryan puts the epic into Epic Fantasy' Den Patrick ***The start of a brand new magic-fuelled trilogy from the author of Battlemage*** Thousands died when mages sundered the earth and split the sky. It was a war that devastated entire kingdoms. Now one man believes eradicating magic is the only way to ensure a lasting peace. He and his followers will do anything to achieve his goal - even if it means murdering every child born with the ability. 'Aryan's battle scenes are visceral masterpieces that transport the reader deep into the melee' Taran Matharu For more from Stephen Aryan, check out: Age of Darkness Battlemage Bloodmage Chaosmage The Age of Dread Mageborn Magefall ebook-only novella: Of Gods and Men

Bloodmage

Bloodmage

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Ebook Release Date: 01/08/2017

Der irre Konig Taikon wurde besiegt und der Westen befreit. Doch das Reich hat sich noch lange nicht vom Krieg erholt. Furcht und Misstrauen spalten die Volker; Magier werden aus Angst vor ihren Kraften ausgestoen und verachtet. Die junge Konigin Talandra steht vor der scheinbar unmoglichen Aufgabe, die Volker zu vereinen und das Reich zusammenzuhalten. Als die Stadt Perizzi von einer grausamen Mordserie erschuttert wird, prallen Wachter, Spione und Morder aufeinander und drohen, die Stadt in einem Blutbad versinken zu lassen ... Voller Intrigen, blutiger Schlachten und kraftvoller Magieausbruche wird das epische Abenteuer um die Tage des Krieges in "e;Bloodmage"e; fortgesetzt.

Chaosmage

Chaosmage

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Paperback Release Date: 13/10/2016

'Stephen Aryan puts the epic into Epic Fantasy' Den Patrick ***One of Fantasy Faction's Best Books of the year*** Voechenka is a city under siege. Its restless dead attack every night, begging the living to join them beyond the grave. Three survivors will fight to save the city. TAMMY, whose investigation could rescue Voechenka from its grisly fate. ZANNAH, who must pay penance for her war crimes. And BALFRUSS: scholar, traveller, and legendary battlemage. 'Epic fantasy for readers who appreciate extra helpings of carnage with their backstabbing' Publishers Weekly on Battlemage 'Aryan's battle scenes are visceral masterpieces that transport the reader deep into the melee' Taran Matharu, author of the Summoner novels For more from Stephen Aryan, check out: Age of Darkness Battlemage Bloodmage Chaosmage The Age of Dread Mageborn Magefall ebook-only novella: Of Gods and Men

Bloodmage

Bloodmage

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/04/2016

'Stephen Aryan puts the epic into Epic Fantasy' Den Patrick Watchmen and spies, assassins and criminals will clash on the streets of a war-torn city in this magic-fuelled adventure from the author of David Gemmell award-shortlisted Battlemage. Pick up this series if you like the sound of mage-on-mage battles and you're ready to watch the fireballs fly! The people of Perizzi have survived the battlemage war, but their future is looking darker than ever... BYRNE is a member of the Watch, investigating a series of murders in which the corpse was drained entirely of life. FRAY's expertise with magic is needed to catch the killer, but working with the Watch destroyed his father, years before. CHOSS is a champion fighter, trying to diffuse a war in the underworld that threatens to turn the streets red with rivers of blood. KATJA is a spy from a foreign land, attempting to prevent a massacre that will topple two dynasties and destroy the fragile peace in the city for ever. For more from Stephen Aryan, check out: Age of Darkness Battlemage Bloodmage Chaosmage The Age of Dread Mageborn Magefall ebook only novella: Of Gods and Men

Battlemage

Battlemage

Author: Stephen Aryan Format: Ebook Release Date: 14/09/2015

Die Welt, die Stephen Aryan kreiert, ist hart und erbarmungslos. Ein irrer Konig uberzieht das Land mit Krieg. Sein Lieblingsspielzeug im Vernichtungsfeldzug ist ein groenwahnsinniger Hexenmeister, der langst all seine Menschlichkeit verloren hat. Einzig die letzten verbleibenden Kriegsmagier stehen zwischen ihm und dem Herz des Reiches. Doch ihre Zahl ist gering und ihre Reihen wanken, wahrend die einfachen Soldaten in der Schlacht sterben wie die Fliegen. Die Gotter interessieren diese sterblichen Schicksale wenig, sich einzumischen ist nicht ihre Art. Doch tatenlos zuzusehen, wie der Glaube an sie immer schwacher wird, konnen sie sich bald nicht mehr erlauben. Die letzten Tage des Krieges brechen an ...

Author Info

Author's Website

https://stephen-aryan.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more