win prizes debuts of the month
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
Fifth Column by Mike Hollow
  

Fifth Column

Part of the The Blitz Detective Series
Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A fascinating and captivating trip into the bomb damaged (and occasionally crime-ridden) streets of London during the Second World War. ‘Fifth Column’ is the second in ‘The Blitz Detective’ series and while you can jump straight in here, I suggest you start with the first, ‘Direct Hit’. DI Jago and DC Craddock are investigating a murder, several Nazi sympathisers attempt to keep a low profile, could there be more to this crime than meets the eye? The realistic and honest tones, ensure that this isn't a romanticised foray into the past, yet the story is completely engaging. Mike Hollow describes the ravaged streets so vividly it feels as though you're standing next to a blasted pile of debris, covered in white plaster dust. I found myself completely immersed in this tale, the folk and surroundings of West Ham and Canning Town come to life. This series promises to keep delivering and I can't wait for the next instalment. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review the first in The Blitz Detective Series, Direct Hit. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Alan Brown - 'An easy book to read because the author takes care with setting the scene and taking the reader back to the time of the Blitz in East London. A good crime plot too.'
  • Anne Rhodes - 'A local big-wig is murdered during an air-raid. In between avoiding bombs D.I. Jago has an intriguing case to solve!'
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'Perfect for fans of Foyles War or Murder on the Home Front and those who enjoy period murder mysteries. I have already pre-ordered the second book in the series!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Really enjoyed this largely because it was a murder mystery set as London came under attack by the Germans during the Blitz.  Added a really different dimension.'
  • Susan Wallace - 'A murder mystery set during the Blitz, with good attention to historic detail.  A pleasant and quick read.'
  • Sharon Wood - 'Evocative, enjoyable entertainment in the East End...an intriguing mix of suspense, drama, danger, communism, the blitz and even a possible love interest.'
  • Gill Wilmott - 'Evocative for readers my age and informative for younger ones this book is really set wonderfully in its time.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'This story was a great learning curve as well as a cracking good crime novel and I would be happy to read more involving Inspector John Jago.'
  • Mrs Tuckett - 'A story of how people coped during the 1940 Blitz sets the scene.'
  • Joan Sidwell - 'I couldn’t put this down, Mike Hollow has a compelling writing style which draws....  I can’t wait for the next book in the series.'   
  • Pearl Wilson - 'an excellent read which I thoroughly enjoyed.  The main reason I loved it was the constant action throughout, with every turn of the page there was no way I could judge what was going to happen next.'
  • Gill Williams - 'An old fashioned style of writing that evokes the feel and suffering of London in the blitz and of a world long disappeared in this modern frenetic world of technology.'
  • Melanie Rose - 'A great first novel...If you like Foyle's War you will definitely enjoy this book.'
  • Kathryn Whitfield - 'Loved it! Fantastic story, a brilliant read.'
  • Peter Baiden - 'With a mix of characters and excellent location settings, Direct Hit gives a clear, precise, but interesting story of the investigation; with the narrative flowing smoothly, with a slightly surprising ending.'
  • Siobhan McDowell - 'This book was a good read at describing the effects of bombing in inner cities!'
  • Edel Waugh - 'The setting and Jago make this a great story, I definitely want to read more in this series!'
  • Neil Williams - 'A slow burner, but ultimately a good story.'

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

Fifth Column by Mike Hollow

An attractive young woman is found dead on a bomb site in the early hours of the morning. At first glance, she is just another casualty of the previous night's air raid, but when the post-mortem shows signs of strangling, DI Jago is called on to investigate. The dead woman is smartly dressed but carries no identity card. However, a local engineering company reports a member of staff has failed to appear at work that morning and the body is quickly identified as that of Miss Mary Watkins. DI Jago's initial interviews yield little fruit, no one can think of a reason why Mary would be murdered, but as the investigation continues DI Jago starts to uncover a trail of deception and betrayal.

Reviews

An atmosphere of intrigue and deception permeates this story. With great skill Mike Hollow digs into the rubble of wartime London and shows us a world of danger and conspiracy. -- Gethin Russel-Jones, author of My Secret Life in Hut Six


About the Author

Mike Hollow

Mike Hollow was born in 1953 in the Essex County Borough of West Ham and spent his early years in Romford. After studying Russian and French at Cambridge University he worked for the BBC for sixteen years and then the international development agency Tearfund for eleven before going freelance as a writer and editor in 2002. He lives in Hampshire with his wife Margaret and has two grown-up children who live in London. Nowadays he earns his living translating Russian in his cellar and spends the rest of his time writing stories about Detective Inspector John Jago, the Blitz Detective. The first novel, Direct Hit, was published in 2015, and Fifth Column is the second in the series.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

18th March 2016

Author

Mike Hollow

More books by Mike Hollow
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.blitzdetective.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Lion Fiction an imprint of Lion Hudson Plc

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781782641865

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools