birdcage walk helen dunmore book price comparison hold back the stars newgen books for YA readers orange blossom days
Vouchers


Reader Reviewed
Direct Hit by Mike Hollow
  

Direct Hit

Part of the The Blitz Detective Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

March 2016 Debut of the Month.

A wonderfully uncomplicated and somehow charming read about a murder investigation during the Second World War. This isn't a gore-fest, even though death is afoot and there are a sack full of motivations for murder. Jago, ‘The Blitz Detective’ is engaging, reliable and hiding hurts from the previous war, his young side kick is wet behind the ears and keen as mustard. Not only are you in the middle of an interesting inquiry, you can literally wander the streets of the East End during the Blitz; you can hear the bombers flying in formation overhead, feel the fear of not having adequate shelter and see the ragged outlines of buildings smashed to smithereens. A worthy new Detective Inspector is on patrol, you want him by your side and on your side as you take a step back in time. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Alan Brown - 'An easy book to read because the author takes care with setting the scene and taking the reader back to the time of the Blitz in East London. A good crime plot too.'
  • Anne Rhodes - 'A local big-wig is murdered during an air-raid. In between avoiding bombs D.I. Jago has an intriguing case to solve!'
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'Perfect for fans of Foyles War or Murder on the Home Front and those who enjoy period murder mysteries. I have already pre-ordered the second book in the series!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Really enjoyed this largely because it was a murder mystery set as London came under attack by the Germans during the Blitz.  Added a really different dimension.'
  • Susan Wallace - 'A murder mystery set during the Blitz, with good attention to historic detail.  A pleasant and quick read.'
  • Sharon Wood - 'Evocative, enjoyable entertainment in the East End...an intriguing mix of suspense, drama, danger, communism, the blitz and even a possible love interest.'
  • Gill Wilmott - 'Evocative for readers my age and informative for younger ones this book is really set wonderfully in its time.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'This story was a great learning curve as well as a cracking good crime novel and I would be happy to read more involving Inspector John Jago.'
  • Mrs Tuckett - 'A story of how people coped during the 1940 Blitz sets the scene.'
  • Joan Sidwell - 'I couldn’t put this down, Mike Hollow has a compelling writing style which draws....  I can’t wait for the next book in the series.'   
  • Pearl Wilson - 'an excellent read which I thoroughly enjoyed.  The main reason I loved it was the constant action throughout, with every turn of the page there was no way I could judge what was going to happen next.'
  • Gill Williams - 'An old fashioned style of writing that evokes the feel and suffering of London in the blitz and of a world long disappeared in this modern frenetic world of technology.'
  • Melanie Rose - 'A great first novel...If you like ‘Foyle's War’ you will definitely enjoy this book.'
  • Kathryn Whitfield - 'Loved it! Fantastic story, a brilliant read.'
  • Peter Baiden - 'With a mix of characters and excellent location settings, Direct Hit gives a clear, precise, but interesting story of the investigation; with the narrative flowing smoothly, with a slightly surprising ending.'
  • Siobhan McDowell - 'This book was a good read at describing the effects of bombing in inner cities!'
  • Edel Waugh - 'The setting and Jago make this a great story, I definitely want to read more in this series!'
  • Neil Williams - 'A slow burner, but ultimately a good story.'

Win tickets to Chiddingstone Castle Lit Fest

We have four pairs of tickets to give away to hear Alison Weir at the Chiddingstone Castle Literary Festival Sunday 30 April 4 - 5 pm. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once and the prize cannot be exchanged for cash and does not include transport or accommodation. Draw closes on Friday 17 April. The winners will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 20 April 2017.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 17/04/2017

Synopsis

Direct Hit by Mike Hollow

The jagged blast of high explosives rips through the evening air. In the sky over East London the searchlights criss-cross in search of the enemy. On the first night of the Blitz, a corpse is discovered in a van in the back streets of West Ham. Detective Inspector John Jago recognizes the dead man as local Justice of the Peace Charles Villiers. But a German bomb obliterates all evidence. Villiers was not a popular man, both powerful and feared. As the sirens wail, the detective must start matching motive to opportunity - and it doesn't help when his boss foists an intrusive American journalist on him. Jago soon discovers the dead man held many secrets, some reaching back to World War I. A lot of people wished Villiers dead - and an air raid is a good time to conceal a murder.

Reviews

Compelling - with a twist of nostalgia for a lost London. Jago is a passionate but unfailingly polite detective aiming his torch through the fog of war. Law and order amid bombs, spivs, and fish and chips. Jago is to cups of tea what Jack Reacher is to coffee. -- Andy Martin, author of Reacher 20: Lee Child and the Making of Make Me Mike Hollow has created a warm and engaging detective in John Jago, who isn't afraid to face his own vulnerability as he pursues a murderer. -- Elizabeth Flynn, author of Game, Set and Murder I started reading Direct Hit and couldn't stop. Mike Hollow wonderfully evokes the events and atmosphere of wartime London and brings the gritty nature of life in the heavily bombed East End to life with a rich cast of characters. I enjoyed the book immensely - a new detective inspector has made his appearance, and I hope very much that it won't be the last we've heard of him. -- Peter Stansky, author of The First Day of the Blitz


About the Author

Mike Hollow

Mike Hollow was born in 1953 in the Essex County Borough of West Ham and spent his early years in Romford. After studying Russian and French at Cambridge University he worked for the BBC for sixteen years and then the international development agency Tearfund for eleven before going freelance as a writer and editor in 2002. He lives in Hampshire with his wife Margaret and has two grown-up children who live in London. Nowadays he earns his living translating Russian in his cellar and spends the rest of his time writing stories about Detective Inspector John Jago, the Blitz Detective. The first novel, Direct Hit, was published in 2015, and Fifth Column is the second in the series.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th March 2015

Author

Mike Hollow

More books by Mike Hollow
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.blitzdetective.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Lion Fiction an imprint of Lion Hudson Plc

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical mysteries

ISBN

9781782641278

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools