Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Direct Hit

by Mike Hollow

Part of the The Blitz Detective Series

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Direct Hit

March 2016 Debut of the Month.

A wonderfully uncomplicated and somehow charming read about a murder investigation during the Second World War. This isn't a gore-fest, even though death is afoot and there are a sack full of motivations for murder. Jago, ‘The Blitz Detective’ is engaging, reliable and hiding hurts from the previous war, his young side kick is wet behind the ears and keen as mustard. Not only are you in the middle of an interesting inquiry, you can literally wander the streets of the East End during the Blitz; you can hear the bombers flying in formation overhead, feel the fear of not having adequate shelter and see the ragged outlines of buildings smashed to smithereens. A worthy new Detective Inspector is on patrol, you want him by your side and on your side as you take a step back in time. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Direct Hit Synopsis

The jagged blast of high explosives rips through the evening air. In the sky over East London the searchlights criss-cross in search of the enemy. On the first night of the Blitz, a corpse is discovered in a van in the back streets of West Ham. Detective Inspector John Jago recognizes the dead man as local Justice of the Peace Charles Villiers. But a German bomb obliterates all evidence. Villiers was not a popular man, both powerful and feared. As the sirens wail, the detective must start matching motive to opportunity - and it doesn't help when his boss foists an intrusive American journalist on him. Jago soon discovers the dead man held many secrets, some reaching back to World War I. A lot of people wished Villiers dead - and an air raid is a good time to conceal a murder.

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

To celebrate the September release of Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry, we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey!!! She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

Direct Hit Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Alan Brown - 'An easy book to read because the author takes care with setting the scene and taking the reader back to the time of the Blitz in East London. A good crime plot too.'
  • Anne Rhodes - 'A local big-wig is murdered during an air-raid. In between avoiding bombs D.I. Jago has an intriguing case to solve!'
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'Perfect for fans of Foyles War or Murder on the Home Front and those who enjoy period murder mysteries. I have already pre-ordered the second book in the series!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Really enjoyed this largely because it was a murder mystery set as London came under attack by the Germans during the Blitz.  Added a really different dimension.'
  • Susan Wallace - 'A murder mystery set during the Blitz, with good attention to historic detail.  A pleasant and quick read.'
  • Sharon Wood - 'Evocative, enjoyable entertainment in the East End...an intriguing mix of suspense, drama, danger, communism, the blitz and even a possible love interest.'
  • Gill Wilmott - 'Evocative for readers my age and informative for younger ones this book is really set wonderfully in its time.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'This story was a great learning curve as well as a cracking good crime novel and I would be happy to read more involving Inspector John Jago.'
  • Mrs Tuckett - 'A story of how people coped during the 1940 Blitz sets the scene.'
  • Joan Sidwell - 'I couldn’t put this down, Mike Hollow has a compelling writing style which draws....  I can’t wait for the next book in the series.'   
  • Pearl Wilson - 'an excellent read which I thoroughly enjoyed.  The main reason I loved it was the constant action throughout, with every turn of the page there was no way I could judge what was going to happen next.'
  • Gill Williams - 'An old fashioned style of writing that evokes the feel and suffering of London in the blitz and of a world long disappeared in this modern frenetic world of technology.'
  • Melanie Rose - 'A great first novel...If you like ‘Foyle's War’ you will definitely enjoy this book.'
  • Kathryn Whitfield - 'Loved it! Fantastic story, a brilliant read.'
  • Peter Baiden - 'With a mix of characters and excellent location settings, Direct Hit gives a clear, precise, but interesting story of the investigation; with the narrative flowing smoothly, with a slightly surprising ending.'
  • Siobhan McDowell - 'This book was a good read at describing the effects of bombing in inner cities!'
  • Edel Waugh - 'The setting and Jago make this a great story, I definitely want to read more in this series!'
  • Neil Williams - 'A slow burner, but ultimately a good story.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Hunting Party
Into the Night
Top Dog
Palm Beach, Finland

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781782641278
Publication date: 20/03/2015
Publisher: Lion Fiction an imprint of Lion Hudson Plc
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781782641278
Publication date: 20th March 2015
Author: Mike Hollow
Publisher: Lion Fiction an imprint of Lion Hudson Plc
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, Debuts of the Month, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Historical mysteries,

About Mike Hollow

Mike Hollow was born in 1953 in the Essex County Borough of West Ham and spent his early years in Romford. After studying Russian and French at Cambridge University he worked for the BBC for sixteen years and then the international development agency Tearfund for eleven before going freelance as a writer and editor in 2002. He lives in Hampshire with his wife Margaret and has two grown-up children who live in London. Nowadays he earns his living translating Russian in his cellar and spends the rest of his time writing stories about Detective Inspector John Jago, the Blitz Detective. The first ...

More About Mike Hollow

More Books By Mike Hollow

Cover for Fifth Column by Mike Hollow
View All Books By Mike Hollow

Share this book