Rain Dogs

by Adrian McKinty

Crime and Mystery Thriller and Suspense eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Rain Dogs

Shortlisted for the Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2016.

Shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2016.

An involved, complex Irish-set murder mystery with two deaths to baffle Sergeant Sean Duffy in his fifth case. Set in 1987 while some high-ranking Finnish businessmen were visiting Ireland, Sean Duffy is called to their hotel when a wallet is stolen. He meets a young reporter from the Financial Times who is found dead at Carrickfergus Castle the next day. It looks like suicide but not to Duffy. Paedophilia eventually raises its ugly head and what I found quite startling is that famous names now pop into the tale, Jimmy Saville amongst them, coming across as vulgar and rude. Given that the action takes place in the late 1980s it was an interesting portrait of him. The conclusion is fun, in fact a good deal of humour spots the drama. The Sean Duffy series are well worth investing in. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

February 2016 Book of the Month. 

The Sean Duffy series:
The Cold, Cold Ground
2. I Hear the Sirens in the Street
3. In the Morning I'll be Gone
4. Gun Street Girl
5. Rain Dogs

Sarah Broadhurst

Rain Dogs Synopsis

Rain Dogs, a stunning installment in the Sean Duffy thriller series, following the Edgar Award-nominated Gun Street Girl, is "e;another standout in a superior series"e; (Booklist).It's just the same things over and again for Sean Duffy: riot duty, heartbreak, cases he can solve but never get to court. But what detective gets two locked-room mysteries in one career?When journalist Lily Bigelow is found dead in the courtyard of Carrickfergus Castle, it looks like a suicide. Yet there are a few things that bother Duffy just enough to keep the case file open, which is how he finds out that Bigelow was working on a devastating investigation of corruption and abuse at the highest levels of power in the UK and beyond.And so Duffy has two impossible problems on his desk: Who killed Lily Bigelow? And what were they trying to hide?

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781504675888
Publication date: 8th March 2016
Author: Adrian McKinty
Publisher: Blackstone Audio Blackstone Audio
Format: Ebook
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Win a Bitter Lemon Press book bundle!

Win a Bitter Lemon Press book bundle!

Closing date: 07/11/2021

We are teaming up with translated crime fiction aficionados Bitter Lemon Press to offer a brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include a copy of all six 2021 releases. The titles up for grabs are: Crocodile Tears by Mercedes Rosende The Measure of Time by Gianrico Carofiglio How To Betray Your Country by James Wolff The Basel Killings by Hansjo?rg Schneider The Transparency of Time by Leonardo Padura The Foreign Girls by Sergio Olguín This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 7th November 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Rain Dogs

Little Boy Blue
The Girl with a Clock for a Heart
Broken Promise
Saints of the Shadow Bible

Adrian McKinty Press Reviews

Praise for the Sean Duffy series:

'Fast-paced, intricate and crime to the core Guardian A treat and an education' -- Val McDermid

'Creeps up on you and explodes' Daily Mail

'Gun Street Girl revels in the farce that was the past to deliver a stellar crime novel for the present. Simply outstanding.' Sydney Morning Herald

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781504675888
Publication date: 08/03/2016
Format: Ebook

ISBN: 9781781254578
Publication date: 24/12/2015
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Adrian McKinty

Adrian McKinty was born and grew up in Northern Ireland. He studied law, politics and philosophy at university. He moved to New York City in the early nineties where he worked in bars, bookstores and building sites. He now lives in Melbourne, Australia and writes a popular blog on film, music, politics and literature at adrianmckinty.blogspot.com and tweets @adrianmckinty. McKinty is best known for his series of Sean Duffy thrillers. The first, The Cold Cold Ground, was published in 2012 and won the 2013 Spinetingler Award and its sequel I Hear The Sirens In The Street has been shortlisted for ...

More About Adrian McKinty

More Books By Adrian McKinty

Rain Dogs
Rain Dogs
Rain Dogs
View All Books By Adrian McKinty

Share this book