Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Tainted Love

by Kimberley Chambers

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Tainted Love

An audacious, fast moving, dark but oh so entertaining tale. Prepare yourself… the Butler Family are back, and we observe as they battle their way through life from 1986 to 2001. From the unwavering matriarch Queenie, to her hard as nails sons Vinny and Michael and their various offspring, this is an East End family you wouldn't want to cross. If you haven't met the Butlers before, you could read this as a standalone, however there is a tangled network of characters to get to know. Kimberley Chambers excels at breathing life into this villainous family, some are not particularly likeable, however I admit to having a soft spot for one or two of them and I couldn't help but watch the drama play out. At times it felt as though I was watching a film as the vivid, provocative story rampaged across the pages, I was grabbed from the offset by this gritty story and I thoroughly enjoyed it. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Tainted Love Synopsis

Three Butlers. Two weddings. One funeral. The explosive new novel from the Sunday Times #1 bestselling author Kimberley Chambers. Times are changing in the East End, from bad to worse ...Despite the love they share, Bella's and Michael's lives seem to be continually throwing grenades in their path to true happiness. Bella's dark secret is threatening to spiral out of control - and has the power to destroy the Butler brothers' bond once and for all ...Meanwhile, Little Vinny has truly turned over a new leaf and is doing everything he can to be a good husband and father. He doesn't want to follow in his old man's footsteps, but the apple never falls far from the tree, and despite everything he's done to wipe the slate clean, his past is about to catch up with him.

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

To celebrate the September release of Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry, we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey!!! She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

Tainted Love Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Edel Waugh - 'This was a remarkable story intricately weaving all the lives of one large family and their troubles together in one amazing saga...Truly unforgettable!'
  • Natasha Motton - 'If you are a fan of Martina Cole then you will love this book.'
  • Cathy Petersen - 'Dark passions and family betrayal stalk the villainous Butler family as they struggle to retain control of their Whitechapel patch in the last decade on the twentieth century.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Tainted Love is a page turner, a must read for fans of Martina Cole and Mandasue Heller. Marks out of ten? ten!'
  • Celia Cohen - 'Not a comfortable book to read but somehow compelling.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'Interesting definitely, totally over the top and filled with unpleasant characters...I enjoyed reading out of my comfort zone. I’m glad I read it.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'A true East End tale of a mob style lifestyle. The Butler brothers and families run their neighbourhood but many secrets and enemies set out to destroy them. A fast paced tale with twists and turns!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Felt frustrated reading this story.  Great reading at times but it was hard work.  Too many characters, too many plots and no joined up finale to each plot.'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'Amazing, fast paced and hard to put down...'
  • Jayne Burton - 'An exciting and sometimes chilling book making it hard to put down.'
  • Les Wood - 'Murder, Mystery, Mayhem and Mirth - You will be gripped with laughter as you follow the exploits of two club owners and their dysfunctional families...Martina Cole's crown is very safe.'
  • Sue Burton - 'it is another version of a Martina Cole book,  not nice characters,  did not like any of them and so far-fetched.'
  • Cathy Small - 'They say that truth will out and that doesn't matter if you are one of the feared Butler family or someone who got caught in the wrong crowd.'

Tainted Love Press Reviews

Praise for Kimberley Chambers:

'[Kimberley Chambers is] the queen of the gritty, low-life tale ...a fast-paced, thrill-a-minute ride that takes you on all sorts of twists and turns' Bella

'Easily as good as Martina Cole' News of the World

'Brilliantly delivers a story of violence, treachery and family ties... Easy to read and hard to put down' News of the World

'[a] fast-paced tale with gritty authenticity' The Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

Damaged
Toxic
Save Me
Damaged

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007521791
Publication date: 28/07/2016
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007521777
Publication date: 11/02/2016
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007521777
Publication date: 11th February 2016
Author: Kimberley Chambers
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About Kimberley Chambers

Kimberley Chambers lives in Romford and has been, at various times, a disc jockey and a street trader. She is now a full-time writer.   Author photo © Eammon McCabe

More About Kimberley Chambers

More Books By Kimberley Chambers

Cover for Life of Crime The Gripping No 1 Sunday Times Bestseller by Kimberley Chambers
Cover for Life of Crime by Kimberley Chambers
Cover for Backstabber by Kimberley Chambers
View All Books By Kimberley Chambers

Share this book