broken trilogy i found you lisa jewel birdcage walk helen dunmore make the most of Lovereading orange blossom days
Vouchers


Reader Reviewed
Tainted Love by Kimberley Chambers
  

Tainted Love

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

An audacious, fast moving, dark but oh so entertaining tale. Prepare yourself… the Butler Family are back, and we observe as they battle their way through life from 1986 to 2001. From the unwavering matriarch Queenie, to her hard as nails sons Vinny and Michael and their various offspring, this is an East End family you wouldn't want to cross. If you haven't met the Butlers before, you could read this as a standalone, however there is a tangled network of characters to get to know. Kimberley Chambers excels at breathing life into this villainous family, some are not particularly likeable, however I admit to having a soft spot for one or two of them and I couldn't help but watch the drama play out. At times it felt as though I was watching a film as the vivid, provocative story rampaged across the pages, I was grabbed from the offset by this gritty story and I thoroughly enjoyed it. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Kimberley Chambers you might also like to read books by Martina Cole, jessie keane and dreda say mitchell.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Edel Waugh - 'This was a remarkable story intricately weaving all the lives of one large family and their troubles together in one amazing saga...Truly unforgettable!'
  • Natasha Motton - 'If you are a fan of Martina Cole then you will love this book.'
  • Cathy Petersen - 'Dark passions and family betrayal stalk the villainous Butler family as they struggle to retain control of their Whitechapel patch in the last decade on the twentieth century.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Tainted Love is a page turner, a must read for fans of Martina Cole and Mandasue Heller. Marks out of ten? ten!'
  • Celia Cohen - 'Not a comfortable book to read but somehow compelling.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'Interesting definitely, totally over the top and filled with unpleasant characters...I enjoyed reading out of my comfort zone. I’m glad I read it.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'A true East End tale of a mob style lifestyle. The Butler brothers and families run their neighbourhood but many secrets and enemies set out to destroy them. A fast paced tale with twists and turns!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Felt frustrated reading this story.  Great reading at times but it was hard work.  Too many characters, too many plots and no joined up finale to each plot.'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'Amazing, fast paced and hard to put down...'
  • Jayne Burton - 'An exciting and sometimes chilling book making it hard to put down.'
  • Les Wood - 'Murder, Mystery, Mayhem and Mirth - You will be gripped with laughter as you follow the exploits of two club owners and their dysfunctional families...Martina Cole's crown is very safe.'
  • Sue Burton - 'it is another version of a Martina Cole book,  not nice characters,  did not like any of them and so far-fetched.'
  • Cathy Small - 'They say that truth will out and that doesn't matter if you are one of the feared Butler family or someone who got caught in the wrong crowd.'

Synopsis

Tainted Love by Kimberley Chambers

Three Butlers. Two weddings. One funeral. The explosive new novel from the Sunday Times #1 bestselling author Kimberley Chambers. Times are changing in the East End, from bad to worse ...Despite the love they share, Bella's and Michael's lives seem to be continually throwing grenades in their path to true happiness. Bella's dark secret is threatening to spiral out of control - and has the power to destroy the Butler brothers' bond once and for all ...Meanwhile, Little Vinny has truly turned over a new leaf and is doing everything he can to be a good husband and father. He doesn't want to follow in his old man's footsteps, but the apple never falls far from the tree, and despite everything he's done to wipe the slate clean, his past is about to catch up with him.

Reviews

Praise for Kimberley Chambers:

'[Kimberley Chambers is] the queen of the gritty, low-life tale ...a fast-paced, thrill-a-minute ride that takes you on all sorts of twists and turns' Bella

'Easily as good as Martina Cole' News of the World

'Brilliantly delivers a story of violence, treachery and family ties... Easy to read and hard to put down' News of the World

'[a] fast-paced tale with gritty authenticity' The Guardian

About the Author

Kimberley Chambers

Kimberley Chambers lives in Romford and has been, at various times, a disc jockey and a street trader. She is now a full-time writer.

Author photo © Eammon McCabe

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th February 2016

Author

Kimberley Chambers

More books by Kimberley Chambers
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.kimberleychambers.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
496 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780007521777

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools