win prizes book price comparison
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
Tainted Love by Kimberley Chambers
  

Tainted Love

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

An audacious, fast moving, dark but oh so entertaining tale. Prepare yourself… the Butler Family are back, and we observe as they battle their way through life from 1986 to 2001. From the unwavering matriarch Queenie, to her hard as nails sons Vinny and Michael and their various offspring, this is an East End family you wouldn't want to cross. If you haven't met the Butlers before, you could read this as a standalone, however there is a tangled network of characters to get to know. Kimberley Chambers excels at breathing life into this villainous family, some are not particularly likeable, however I admit to having a soft spot for one or two of them and I couldn't help but watch the drama play out. At times it felt as though I was watching a film as the vivid, provocative story rampaged across the pages, I was grabbed from the offset by this gritty story and I thoroughly enjoyed it. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Kimberley Chambers you might also like to read books by Mandasue Heller, jessie keane and Martina Cole.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Edel Waugh - 'This was a remarkable story intricately weaving all the lives of one large family and their troubles together in one amazing saga...Truly unforgettable!'
  • Natasha Motton - 'If you are a fan of Martina Cole then you will love this book.'
  • Cathy Petersen - 'Dark passions and family betrayal stalk the villainous Butler family as they struggle to retain control of their Whitechapel patch in the last decade on the twentieth century.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Tainted Love is a page turner, a must read for fans of Martina Cole and Mandasue Heller. Marks out of ten? ten!'
  • Celia Cohen - 'Not a comfortable book to read but somehow compelling.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'Interesting definitely, totally over the top and filled with unpleasant characters...I enjoyed reading out of my comfort zone. I’m glad I read it.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'A true East End tale of a mob style lifestyle. The Butler brothers and families run their neighbourhood but many secrets and enemies set out to destroy them. A fast paced tale with twists and turns!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Felt frustrated reading this story.  Great reading at times but it was hard work.  Too many characters, too many plots and no joined up finale to each plot.'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'Amazing, fast paced and hard to put down...'
  • Jayne Burton - 'An exciting and sometimes chilling book making it hard to put down.'
  • Les Wood - 'Murder, Mystery, Mayhem and Mirth - You will be gripped with laughter as you follow the exploits of two club owners and their dysfunctional families...Martina Cole's crown is very safe.'
  • Sue Burton - 'it is another version of a Martina Cole book,  not nice characters,  did not like any of them and so far-fetched.'
  • Cathy Small - 'They say that truth will out and that doesn't matter if you are one of the feared Butler family or someone who got caught in the wrong crowd.'

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Tainted Love by Kimberley Chambers

Three Butlers. Two weddings. One funeral. The explosive new novel from the Sunday Times #1 bestselling author Kimberley Chambers. Times are changing in the East End, from bad to worse ...Despite the love they share, Bella's and Michael's lives seem to be continually throwing grenades in their path to true happiness. Bella's dark secret is threatening to spiral out of control - and has the power to destroy the Butler brothers' bond once and for all ...Meanwhile, Little Vinny has truly turned over a new leaf and is doing everything he can to be a good husband and father. He doesn't want to follow in his old man's footsteps, but the apple never falls far from the tree, and despite everything he's done to wipe the slate clean, his past is about to catch up with him.

Reviews

Praise for Kimberley Chambers:

'[Kimberley Chambers is] the queen of the gritty, low-life tale ...a fast-paced, thrill-a-minute ride that takes you on all sorts of twists and turns' Bella

'Easily as good as Martina Cole' News of the World

'Brilliantly delivers a story of violence, treachery and family ties... Easy to read and hard to put down' News of the World

'[a] fast-paced tale with gritty authenticity' The Guardian

About the Author

Kimberley Chambers

Kimberley Chambers lives in Romford and has been, at various times, a disc jockey and a street trader. She is now a full-time writer.

Author photo © Eammon McCabe

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th February 2016

Author

Kimberley Chambers

More books by Kimberley Chambers
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.kimberleychambers.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
496 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780007521777

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools