make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Reader Reviewed
Mind of Winter by Laura Kasischke

Mind of Winter

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Clever, persuasive writing where the ending has you reaching for the beginning. The first few sentences grab your attention and from then on, you find yourself analysing, speculating, wondering. This story plays with your mind, encouraging it to turn one way, then another, continuing to fill you with uncertainty as a prickle of alarm flits across your consciousness. There is, somehow a feeling of inevitability, of sorrow and heartache that ripples across the pages and permeates your thoughts. The most important thing, is not to race ahead, to not flick through the final few pages, because one glimpse of the last page would completely spoil the unexpectedly startling close to a memorable little book. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Laura Kasischke you might also like to read books by Mary Kubica.

The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. On a snowy Christmas morning, Holly Judge wakes with a feeling of great unease. As the events of the day unfold, she relives, in her mind, the process of adopting her daughter Tatiana from Siberia thirteen years ago. Guests are held-up and the blizzard traps Holly and Tatty at home. Holly prepares the Christmas meal hoping her family and friends will arrive soon, but her disquiet about Tatty’s behaviour and the taunting phrase, something had followed them home from Russia, hovering on the edge of her consciousness increases the tension in the house. This is a chilling and gripping read.
~ Alison Smith

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Glenda Worth - 'A dark and mysterious thriller which grips you from the beginning, not knowing which way it will go until the twist at the end leaving you wanting more.' Read full review >
  • JB Johnston - 'Mind of Winter is a dark and atmospheric read.' Read full review >
  • Fiona Rothery - 'if you want something that makes you think, long after you have read the final page, I would definitely recommend this intense psychological drama.' Read full review >
  • Ian Tyreman - 'An amazing thriller for a shorter length novel.' Read full review >
  • Stephanie Harding - 'I was gripped. Just when you think the story is going in one specific direction it changes course. The twist at the end I found completely unpredictable.' Read full review >
  • Susan Walsh - 'Absolute delight. From the heart of a Siberian Orphanage springs a life that will capture their Hearts...' Read full review >
  • Jennie Thrift - 'Not since I read Her Fearful Symmetry have I felt like this after a book. Haunting from the first page and it doesn't let up!' Read full review >
  • Genevieve McAllister - 'Holly and her adopted daughter Tatiana are at home on Christmas Day. Holly reflects on her life, her family and how she adopted Tatty from Russia years ago.  We know something’s off, but what is it?' Read full review >
  • Mollie Mayson-Simpson - 'Just don't even think about peeping at the end, for clues – it’s well worth waiting for!' Read full review >
  • Reba Khatun - 'They say there are two sides to every story and this is definitely the case for Mind of Winter.  This unsettling and tense story left me with a chill down my spine.' Read full review >
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'This is a great book. Dark and mysterious and not too long - just the kind of book I love. Throw in a blizzard and isolation and it's the perfect recipe for a chilling read.' Read full review >
  • Val Rowe - 'A darkly mysterious novel with unpredictable outcomes. I have never read anything quite like it.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Harper - 'Wow! An intriguing, brooding tale which keeps you hanging on a thread until the bitter end. A brilliant creation – I loved it.' Read full review >
  • Lindsey Whittle - 'A brilliant psychological thriller.' Read full review >

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


Mind of Winter by Laura Kasischke

A chilling and dark psychological drama, Mind of Winter is a spine-tingling and beautifully written novel that will leave you guessing until the very last page - perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn or Kate Atkinson.Something had followed them home from Russia.On a snowy Christmas morning, Holly Judge awakens with the fragments of a nightmare floating on the edge of her consciousness. Thirteen years ago, she and her husband Eric adopted baby Tatty, their pretty, black-haired Rapunzel, from the Pokrovka Orphanage #2. Now, at fifteen, Tatiana is more beautiful than ever - and disturbingly erratic.As a blizzard rages outside, Holly and Tatiana are alone. With each passing hour, Tatiana's mood darkens, and her behaviour becomes increasingly frightening ...until Holly finds she no longer recognises her daughter.


'Thought-provoking and chilling, Mind of Winter will have you looking over your shoulder as you tear through the pages to the shocking and heartbreaking conclusion' - Kimberly McCreight

It's rare and wonderful to find a book like Mind of Winter that is both a masterwork of evocative prose and a bone-chilling page-turner' - Jennifer McMahon

'Shocking' - Vogue

About the Author

Laura Kasischke
Laura Kasischke is an American poet and novelist. Her work has won critical acclaim in the world of literature and has been recognized with numerous honors, including the Pushcart Prize, the Elmer Holmes Bobst Award for Emerging Writers, and the Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award. Laura teaches creative writing and lives in Michigan.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th January 2015


Laura Kasischke

More books by Laura Kasischke
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website


Hesperus Press Ltd


288 pages


Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense



Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith