debuts of the month rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Mind of Winter by Laura Kasischke
  

Mind of Winter

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Clever, persuasive writing where the ending has you reaching for the beginning. The first few sentences grab your attention and from then on, you find yourself analysing, speculating, wondering. This story plays with your mind, encouraging it to turn one way, then another, continuing to fill you with uncertainty as a prickle of alarm flits across your consciousness. There is, somehow a feeling of inevitability, of sorrow and heartache that ripples across the pages and permeates your thoughts. The most important thing, is not to race ahead, to not flick through the final few pages, because one glimpse of the last page would completely spoil the unexpectedly startling close to a memorable little book. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Laura Kasischke you might also like to read books by Mary Kubica.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. On a snowy Christmas morning, Holly Judge wakes with a feeling of great unease. As the events of the day unfold, she relives, in her mind, the process of adopting her daughter Tatiana from Siberia thirteen years ago. Guests are held-up and the blizzard traps Holly and Tatty at home. Holly prepares the Christmas meal hoping her family and friends will arrive soon, but her disquiet about Tatty’s behaviour and the taunting phrase, something had followed them home from Russia, hovering on the edge of her consciousness increases the tension in the house. This is a chilling and gripping read.
~ Alison Smith

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Glenda Worth - 'A dark and mysterious thriller which grips you from the beginning, not knowing which way it will go until the twist at the end leaving you wanting more.' Read full review >
  • JB Johnston - 'Mind of Winter is a dark and atmospheric read.' Read full review >
  • Fiona Rothery - 'if you want something that makes you think, long after you have read the final page, I would definitely recommend this intense psychological drama.' Read full review >
  • Ian Tyreman - 'An amazing thriller for a shorter length novel.' Read full review >
  • Stephanie Harding - 'I was gripped. Just when you think the story is going in one specific direction it changes course. The twist at the end I found completely unpredictable.' Read full review >
  • Susan Walsh - 'Absolute delight. From the heart of a Siberian Orphanage springs a life that will capture their Hearts...' Read full review >
  • Jennie Thrift - 'Not since I read Her Fearful Symmetry have I felt like this after a book. Haunting from the first page and it doesn't let up!' Read full review >
  • Genevieve McAllister - 'Holly and her adopted daughter Tatiana are at home on Christmas Day. Holly reflects on her life, her family and how she adopted Tatty from Russia years ago.  We know something’s off, but what is it?' Read full review >
  • Mollie Mayson-Simpson - 'Just don't even think about peeping at the end, for clues – it’s well worth waiting for!' Read full review >
  • Reba Khatun - 'They say there are two sides to every story and this is definitely the case for Mind of Winter.  This unsettling and tense story left me with a chill down my spine.' Read full review >
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'This is a great book. Dark and mysterious and not too long - just the kind of book I love. Throw in a blizzard and isolation and it's the perfect recipe for a chilling read.' Read full review >
  • Val Rowe - 'A darkly mysterious novel with unpredictable outcomes. I have never read anything quite like it.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Harper - 'Wow! An intriguing, brooding tale which keeps you hanging on a thread until the bitter end. A brilliant creation – I loved it.' Read full review >
  • Lindsey Whittle - 'A brilliant psychological thriller.' Read full review >

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Mind of Winter by Laura Kasischke

A chilling and dark psychological drama, Mind of Winter is a spine-tingling and beautifully written novel that will leave you guessing until the very last page - perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn or Kate Atkinson.Something had followed them home from Russia.On a snowy Christmas morning, Holly Judge awakens with the fragments of a nightmare floating on the edge of her consciousness. Thirteen years ago, she and her husband Eric adopted baby Tatty, their pretty, black-haired Rapunzel, from the Pokrovka Orphanage #2. Now, at fifteen, Tatiana is more beautiful than ever - and disturbingly erratic.As a blizzard rages outside, Holly and Tatiana are alone. With each passing hour, Tatiana's mood darkens, and her behaviour becomes increasingly frightening ...until Holly finds she no longer recognises her daughter.

Reviews

'Thought-provoking and chilling, Mind of Winter will have you looking over your shoulder as you tear through the pages to the shocking and heartbreaking conclusion' - Kimberly McCreight

It's rare and wonderful to find a book like Mind of Winter that is both a masterwork of evocative prose and a bone-chilling page-turner' - Jennifer McMahon

'Shocking' - Vogue

About the Author

Laura Kasischke
Laura Kasischke is an American poet and novelist. Her work has won critical acclaim in the world of literature and has been recognized with numerous honors, including the Pushcart Prize, the Elmer Holmes Bobst Award for Emerging Writers, and the Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award. Laura teaches creative writing and lives in Michigan.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th January 2015

Author

Laura Kasischke

More books by Laura Kasischke
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.laurakasischke.com/

Publisher

Hesperus Press Ltd

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781843915485

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools