Mind of Winter

by Laura Kasischke

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Mind of Winter

Clever, persuasive writing where the ending has you reaching for the beginning. The first few sentences grab your attention and from then on, you find yourself analysing, speculating, wondering. This story plays with your mind, encouraging it to turn one way, then another, continuing to fill you with uncertainty as a prickle of alarm flits across your consciousness. There is, somehow a feeling of inevitability, of sorrow and heartache that ripples across the pages and permeates your thoughts. The most important thing, is not to race ahead, to not flick through the final few pages, because one glimpse of the last page would completely spoil the unexpectedly startling close to a memorable little book. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Mind of Winter Synopsis

A chilling and dark psychological drama, Mind of Winter is a spine-tingling and beautifully written novel that will leave you guessing until the very last page - perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn or Kate Atkinson.Something had followed them home from Russia.On a snowy Christmas morning, Holly Judge awakens with the fragments of a nightmare floating on the edge of her consciousness. Thirteen years ago, she and her husband Eric adopted baby Tatty, their pretty, black-haired Rapunzel, from the Pokrovka Orphanage #2. Now, at fifteen, Tatiana is more beautiful than ever - and disturbingly erratic.As a blizzard rages outside, Holly and Tatiana are alone. With each passing hour, Tatiana's mood darkens, and her behaviour becomes increasingly frightening ...until Holly finds she no longer recognises her daughter.

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Closing date: 06/09/2018

We are giving FIVE lucky people the chance to win SIGNED Hardback copies of Karin Slaughter's latest book, Pieces of Her. The draw closes on the 6th September and the winner will be notified by the 10th September. The latest, thrilling new book from the No.1 Internationally Bestselling Author, Pieces of Her makes you question how well you know your nearest and dearest. Andrea Oliver knows everything about her mother Laura. She knows she's always lived in the small town of Belle Isle; she knows she's a pillar of the community; she knows she's never kept a secret in her life. but she's hiding something... Then one day, a trip to the mall explodes into a shocking act of violence and Andy suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. and it could destroy them both...

Enter Now

Mind of Winter Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Glenda Worth - 'A dark and mysterious thriller which grips you from the beginning, not knowing which way it will go until the twist at the end leaving you wanting more.' Read full review >
  • JB Johnston - 'Mind of Winter is a dark and atmospheric read.' Read full review >
  • Fiona Rothery - 'if you want something that makes you think, long after you have read the final page, I would definitely recommend this intense psychological drama.' Read full review >
  • Ian Tyreman - 'An amazing thriller for a shorter length novel.' Read full review >
  • Stephanie Harding - 'I was gripped. Just when you think the story is going in one specific direction it changes course. The twist at the end I found completely unpredictable.' Read full review >
  • Susan Walsh - 'Absolute delight. From the heart of a Siberian Orphanage springs a life that will capture their Hearts...' Read full review >
  • Jennie Thrift - 'Not since I read Her Fearful Symmetry have I felt like this after a book. Haunting from the first page and it doesn't let up!' Read full review >
  • Genevieve McAllister - 'Holly and her adopted daughter Tatiana are at home on Christmas Day. Holly reflects on her life, her family and how she adopted Tatty from Russia years ago.  We know something’s off, but what is it?' Read full review >
  • Mollie Mayson-Simpson - 'Just don't even think about peeping at the end, for clues – it’s well worth waiting for!' Read full review >
  • Reba Khatun - 'They say there are two sides to every story and this is definitely the case for Mind of Winter.  This unsettling and tense story left me with a chill down my spine.' Read full review >
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'This is a great book. Dark and mysterious and not too long - just the kind of book I love. Throw in a blizzard and isolation and it's the perfect recipe for a chilling read.' Read full review >
  • Val Rowe - 'A darkly mysterious novel with unpredictable outcomes. I have never read anything quite like it.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Harper - 'Wow! An intriguing, brooding tale which keeps you hanging on a thread until the bitter end. A brilliant creation – I loved it.' Read full review >
  • Lindsey Whittle - 'A brilliant psychological thriller.' Read full review >

The Good Book Guide Review

On a snowy Christmas morning, Holly Judge wakes with a feeling of great unease. As the events of the day unfold, she relives, in her mind, the process of adopting her daughter Tatiana from Siberia thirteen years ago. Guests are held-up and the blizzard traps Holly and Tatty at home. Holly prepares the Christmas meal hoping her family and friends will arrive soon, but her disquiet about Tatty’s behaviour and the taunting phrase, something had followed them home from Russia, hovering on the edge of her consciousness increases the tension in the house. This is a chilling and gripping read.

Mind of Winter Press Reviews

'Thought-provoking and chilling, Mind of Winter will have you looking over your shoulder as you tear through the pages to the shocking and heartbreaking conclusion' - Kimberly McCreight

 

It's rare and wonderful to find a book like Mind of Winter that is both a masterwork of evocative prose and a bone-chilling page-turner' - Jennifer McMahon

 

'Shocking' - Vogue

If you loved this, you might like these...

Every Last Lie
Don't You Cry
Pretty Baby
The Good Girl

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781843915485
Publication date: 16/01/2015
Publisher: Hesperus Press Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781843915485
Publication date: 16th January 2015
Author: Laura Kasischke
Publisher: Hesperus Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Reading Groups, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About Laura Kasischke

Laura Kasischke is an American poet and novelist. Her work has won critical acclaim in the world of literature and has been recognized with numerous honors, including the Pushcart Prize, the Elmer Holmes Bobst Award for Emerging Writers, and the Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award. Laura teaches creative writing and lives in Michigan.

More About Laura Kasischke

More Books By Laura Kasischke

Cover for Be Mine by Laura Kasischke
View All Books By Laura Kasischke

Share this book