likeyoulove win prizes
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Book of Lost and Found by Lucy Foley
  

The Book of Lost and Found

Family Drama   Debuts of the Month   Historical Fiction   Literary Fiction   Reading Groups   Romantic Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

February 2015 Debut of the Month.

One of those involved family dramas of uncertain parentage, mystery and secrets. Wonderful stuff. It concerns a young woman, Kate, who at the age of six loses her mother in a plane crash. Her mother, June, had been a famous ballerina, an orphan child and it is her story we unearth. In doing so Kate travels to Corsica to visit a famous artist where she finds love. So we get a past love story and a present one and beautifully told they are too as we swing from 1928 through to the 90s.

If you like Lucy Foley you might also like to read books by Kate Morton, Katherine Webb and Victoria Hislop.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Jane Pepler - 'A brilliant debut novel by an author that we definitely need to hear more from...Lucy Foley is already a master of her craft and is definitely one to watch!' Read full review >
  • Margaret Freeman - 'There is so much I loved in this book, a love story, as well as a story of loss, discovery and grief as the decisions we make impact on our lives.' Read full review >
  • Julie Wragg - 'An epic romance from a new writer...Beautifully written and presented, I was totally drawn into the story and couldn’t put it down.' Read full review >
  • Dana Captainino - 'Although sometimes a little wordy the book keeps the reader engaged throughout. Read full review >
  • Celia Cohen - 'An enthralling read which grips you from the first page.' Read full review >
  • Emma Barton - 'This book tells the heart-breaking love story of Tom and Alice who first meet as children in the 1920's but also follows Kate Darling in the 1980's who is trying to trace her family roots.' Read full review >
  • Victoria Whish - 'An epic tale of love and loss. It’s the story of a relationship that resonates through the years and generations. If you like Kate Morton, you’ll love this book.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Jones - 'I thoroughly enjoyed every page of this beautiful story. The writing was descriptive and the imagery beautiful and vivid.' Read full review >
  • Linda Amos - 'I loved this book, a few tears and many smiles later I came to the last page. I will be looking for future books from Ms Foley.' Read full review >
  • Louisa Hall - 'A beautiful love story told intricately through differing perspectives and eras which give it a satisfying amount of depth.' Read full review >
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'The book is fantastically written and you would not believe that is a debut novel. I really enjoyed the book and savoured every page ...' Read full review >
  • Ruth Paterson - 'It is an addictive read, I found that the book “lost” me, I couldn't put it down.' Read full review >
  • Riki Bill - 'A mesmerising adventure that spans three generations and the fallout of two World Wars.' Read full review >
  • Farah Alam - 'I really enjoyed this book and, I just really liked the author's writing. It's an epic love story that is really great to read about.' Read full review >
  • Dawn - 'What a beautiful story! I really enjoyed reading this and felt like I was the main character Alice, who ends up travelling to find out more about a drawing of her late grandmother.' Read full review >

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Book of Lost and Found by Lucy Foley

In many ways, my life has been rather like a record of the lost and found. Perhaps all lives are like that. It's when life started in earnest HERTFORDSHIRE, 1928 The paths of Tom and Alice collide against a haze of youthful, carefree exuberance. And so begins a love story that finds its feet by a lake one silvery moonlit evening ...It's when there were no happy endings PARIS, 1939 Alice is living in the City of Light, but the pain of the last decade has already left its mark. There's a shadow creeping across Europe when she and Thomas Stafford - now a world famous artist - find each other once more ...It's when the story begins LONDON, 1986 Bestowed with an old portrait from her grandmother, its true legacy takes Kate Darling on a journey to Corsica, Paris and beyond. And as the secrets of time fall away, a love story as epic as it is life-changing slowly reveals itself ...Sweeping and heartrending - the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.

Reviews



About the Author

Lucy Foley

Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities. She then worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry - during which time she also wrote The Book of Lost and Found. Lucy now writes full-time, and is busy travelling (for research, naturally) and working on her next novel.

Author photo © Philippa Gedge

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th January 2015

Author

Lucy Foley

More books by Lucy Foley
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
468 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Debuts of the Month
Historical Fiction
Literary Fiction
Reading Groups
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007575329

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools