Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Dead Man Walking by Paul Finch
  

Lovereading view...

The fourth unputdownable book in the DS Mark Heckenburg series. A spine-tingling, suspenseful read for fans of Stuart MacBride and Luther, from the #1 ebook bestseller Paul Finch.

If you like Paul Finch you might also like to read books by Neil White, Katia Lief and Chris Carter.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Dead Man Walking by Paul Finch

The fourth unputdownable book in the DS Mark Heckenburg series. A spine-tingling, suspenseful read for fans of Stuart MacBride and Luther, from the #1 ebook bestseller Paul Finch. Beware the stranger in the night...Consigned to a remote valley in the Lake District, DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg is getting used to a quieter life - a far cry from the bloodbath of his former division, the Serial Crimes Unit. But wherever Heck goes, trouble is never far behind. Unknown to Heck, 'The Stranger' has returned. Last seen on Dartmoor ten years earlier, this prolific serial killer has found a new home. As a dense, frozen mist descends on the Lakes, The Stranger returns to his old ways, starting with two young women lost high on the hills. Only one girl is ever found - barely alive - but able to confirm Heck's worst fears. As The Stranger lays siege to the remote community, Heck helplessly watches as the killer plays his cruel game, letting off his trademark call before viciously picking off his victims. And with no way to get word out of the valley, Heck has no choice but to play ball...Lock your doors and bar your windows. This is a thrilling, spine-chilling, nail-shredding book that will leave you scared to turn the lights out. Because when the mist descends, you never know who's watching you...

Reviews

Praise for STALKERS:

'[Stalkers] is ace. Really terrific, compulsive stuff which was given top marks...definitely a talent to watch.

-The Bookseller: One to Watch

'Stalkers is a very dark premise... it'll have you by the throat until you get to the end.'

-Books and Writers

Praise for SACRIFICE:

'Avon's big star...part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa!'

-The Bookseller

About the Author

Paul Finch

Paul Finch is a former cop and journalist, now turned full-time writer. He cut his literary teeth penning episodes of the British crime drama, The Bill, and has written extensively in the field of film, audio drama and children's animation. He is also well known for his work in the thriller and horror fields. To date, he's had 15 books and nearly 300 stories published, and is a two-times winner of the British Fantasy Award and a one-time winner of the International Horror Guild Award. Paul has also written scripts for several movies. The most recent, The Devil's Rock, was released to the cinemas last July. Paul lives in Lancashire, with his wife Catherine and his children, Eleanor and Harry.

Author photo © Paul Mulcahey

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th November 2014

Author

Paul Finch

More books by Paul Finch
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.paulfinch-writer.blogsp...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
480 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780007551279

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools