debuts of the month books of the month make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

Dead Man Walking by Paul Finch
  

Lovereading view...

The fourth unputdownable book in the DS Mark Heckenburg series. A spine-tingling, suspenseful read for fans of Stuart MacBride and Luther, from the #1 ebook bestseller Paul Finch.

If you like Paul Finch you might also like to read books by Mark Billingham, Katia Lief and Stuart MacBride.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Dead Man Walking by Paul Finch

The fourth unputdownable book in the DS Mark Heckenburg series. A spine-tingling, suspenseful read for fans of Stuart MacBride and Luther, from the #1 ebook bestseller Paul Finch. Beware the stranger in the night...Consigned to a remote valley in the Lake District, DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg is getting used to a quieter life - a far cry from the bloodbath of his former division, the Serial Crimes Unit. But wherever Heck goes, trouble is never far behind. Unknown to Heck, 'The Stranger' has returned. Last seen on Dartmoor ten years earlier, this prolific serial killer has found a new home. As a dense, frozen mist descends on the Lakes, The Stranger returns to his old ways, starting with two young women lost high on the hills. Only one girl is ever found - barely alive - but able to confirm Heck's worst fears. As The Stranger lays siege to the remote community, Heck helplessly watches as the killer plays his cruel game, letting off his trademark call before viciously picking off his victims. And with no way to get word out of the valley, Heck has no choice but to play ball...Lock your doors and bar your windows. This is a thrilling, spine-chilling, nail-shredding book that will leave you scared to turn the lights out. Because when the mist descends, you never know who's watching you...

Reviews

Praise for STALKERS:

'[Stalkers] is ace. Really terrific, compulsive stuff which was given top marks...definitely a talent to watch.

-The Bookseller: One to Watch

'Stalkers is a very dark premise... it'll have you by the throat until you get to the end.'

-Books and Writers

Praise for SACRIFICE:

'Avon's big star...part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa!'

-The Bookseller

About the Author

Paul Finch

Paul Finch is a former cop and journalist, now turned full-time writer. He cut his literary teeth penning episodes of the British crime drama, The Bill, and has written extensively in the field of film, audio drama and children's animation. He is also well known for his work in the thriller and horror fields. To date, he's had 15 books and nearly 300 stories published, and is a two-times winner of the British Fantasy Award and a one-time winner of the International Horror Guild Award. Paul has also written scripts for several movies. The most recent, The Devil's Rock, was released to the cinemas last July. Paul lives in Lancashire, with his wife Catherine and his children, Eleanor and Harry.

Author photo © Paul Mulcahey

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th November 2014

Author

Paul Finch

More books by Paul Finch
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.paulfinch-writer.blogsp...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
480 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780007551279

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools