likeyoulove granchester before the fall
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

A Strong Hand to Hold by Anne Bennett
  

A Strong Hand to Hold

Sagas and Romance   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Originally published in 1999 by a different publisher (Headline if you’re interested) but now reissued for a new audience and coming alongside her lovely new book, A Girl Can Dream. She is one of the best in this gritty saga area. Here two girls become firm friends during the Second World War and rely heavily on each other once the war is over. It’s full of tragedy, passion, incident and eventually joy. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

If you like Anne Bennett you might also like to read books by Annie Groves, Lily Baxter and Charlotte Bingham.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

A Strong Hand to Hold by Anne Bennett

A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Jenny O'Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham's injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day. Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her. So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything...

Reviews

Praise for Anne Bennett: 'A powerful read that will have you gripped.
Yours

'[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing'
Daily Post

'An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters.'
Choice

'The beauty of Anne's books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all'
Birmingham Post

About the Author

Anne Bennett

Anne Bennett was born in a back-to-back house in the Horsefair district of Birmingham. The daughter of Roman Catholic, Irish immigrants, she grew up in a tight-knit community where she was taught to be proud of her heritage. She considers herself to be an Irish Brummie and feels therefore that she has a foot in both cultures. She has four children and four grandchildren. For many years she taught in schools to the north of Birmingham. An accident put paid to her teaching career and, after moving to North Wales, Anne turned to the other great love of her life and began to write seriously.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st July 2014

Author

Anne Bennett

More books by Anne Bennett
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.annebennett.co.uk/

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
480 pages

Categories

Sagas and Romance
eBook Favourites

Sagas

ISBN

9780007547760

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools