debuts of the month
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

A Strong Hand to Hold by Anne Bennett

A Strong Hand to Hold

Sagas and Romance   eBook Favourites   

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Originally published in 1999 by a different publisher (Headline if you’re interested) but now reissued for a new audience and coming alongside her lovely new book, A Girl Can Dream. She is one of the best in this gritty saga area. Here two girls become firm friends during the Second World War and rely heavily on each other once the war is over. It’s full of tragedy, passion, incident and eventually joy. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

If you like Anne Bennett you might also like to read books by Charlotte Bingham, Elizabeth Waite and Rosie Harris.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst


A Strong Hand to Hold by Anne Bennett

A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Jenny O'Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham's injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day. Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her. So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything...


Praise for Anne Bennett: 'A powerful read that will have you gripped.

'[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing'
Daily Post

'An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters.'

'The beauty of Anne's books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all'
Birmingham Post

About the Author

Anne Bennett

Anne Bennett was born in a back-to-back house in the Horsefair district of Birmingham. The daughter of Roman Catholic, Irish immigrants, she grew up in a tight-knit community where she was taught to be proud of her heritage. She considers herself to be an Irish Brummie and feels therefore that she has a foot in both cultures. She has four children and four grandchildren. For many years she taught in schools to the north of Birmingham. An accident put paid to her teaching career and, after moving to North Wales, Anne turned to the other great love of her life and began to write seriously.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd July 2014


Anne Bennett

More books by Anne Bennett
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website


HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers


480 pages


Sagas and Romance
eBook Favourites




It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis