A Strong Hand to Hold

by Anne Bennett

Sagas and Romance

A Strong Hand to Hold Synopsis

A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Jenny O'Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham's injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day. Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her. So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything...

A Strong Hand to Hold Press Reviews

Praise for Anne Bennett: 'A powerful read that will have you gripped.
Yours

'[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing'
Daily Post

'An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters.'
Choice

'The beauty of Anne's books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all'
Birmingham Post

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sisters of Gold
The Doorstep Child
The Mersey Daughter
Those Were the Days

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007547760
Publication date: 03/07/2014
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007547760
Publication date: 3rd July 2014
Author: Anne Bennett
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Genres: Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Sagas,

About Anne Bennett

Anne Bennett was born in a back-to-back house in the Horsefair district of Birmingham. The daughter of Roman Catholic, Irish immigrants, she grew up in a tight-knit community where she was taught to be proud of her heritage. She considers herself to be an Irish Brummie and feels therefore that she has a foot in both cultures. She has four children and four grandchildren. For many years she taught in schools to the north of Birmingham. An accident put paid to her teaching career and, after moving to North Wales, Anne turned to the other great love of her life ...

More About Anne Bennett

More Books By Anne Bennett

Cover for The Forget-Me-Not Child by Anne Bennett
Cover for Another Man's Child by Anne Bennett
Cover for A Girl Can Dream by Anne Bennett
View All Books By Anne Bennett

Share this book