Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

twitter debuts of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Twelve Children of Paris by Tim Willocks
  

The Twelve Children of Paris

Action Adventure / Spy   Historical Fiction   Books for the Boys   eBook Favourites   

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

The long-awaited sequel to Willocks’ The Religion (though those new to his work will have no trouble starting here if they wish), The Twelve Children of Paris sees the return of MattiasTannhauser. It is 1572, 7 years have passed since the bloody events on Malta and Tannhauser’s pregnant wife Carla has travelled to Paris for the royal wedding. But when the city turns into a bloodbath and Carla’s kidnapped, Tannhauser has no choice but to wade in and make everything even bloodier. Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones (but without the fantasy) or Jack Reacher (if you want something historical), this is brutal, bloody, rampant, gripping stuff.

If you like Tim Willocks you might also like to read books by Simon Scarrow, David Gilman and Richard Montanari.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Twelve Children of Paris by Tim Willocks

Paris, August 23rd, 1572. What do you do when your wife disappears. In the middle of the bloodiest massacre in European history and you know she is about to give birth to your only child? Three wars of religion have turned Paris into a fetid cauldron of hatred, intrigue and corruption. The Royal Wedding, intended to heal the wounds, has served only to further poison the fanatics of either creed. But Carla could not have known that when she accepted an invitation to the ceremony. When Mattias Tannhauser rides into town, on Saint Bartholomew's Eve, his only intention is to find her and take her home. But as the massacre of tens of thousands of Huguenots begins, and the city plunges into anarchy, Carla is abducted by Grymonde, the grotesque gang leader of the Yards, and Tannhauser finds himself imprisoned in the Louvre, at the centre of a vicious conspiracy. Wanted by the law, the assassins' guild, and a militant army who call themselves the Pilgrims of Saint-Jacques, Tannhauser must rise to pitiless extremes even he has never known before. With no one to help him but a stable boy, he wades into a river of blood without knowing what lies on the other side. As he harrows Hell in search of his beloved his destiny is changed forever by The Twelve Children Of Paris.

Reviews

A brilliant novel, thrilling and mysterious with a suspense hard to bear - Historical Novel Society

There is much to recommend this book. -- Kathy Stevenson Daily Mail

Do you have a Game of Thrones-shaped hole in your life? Tim Willocks's brutal but highly intelligent follow-up to The Religion may not be fantasy but it's a thrilling epic that will satisfy even the most bloodthirsty reader's appetite for gore, intrigue and religious fanaticism - Metro

About the Author

Tim Willocks

Tim Willock is a British born doctor of psychiatry. He has written four novels for adults, including Bad City Blues, which was adapted for the screen in a movie starring Dennis Hopper. He also wrote the Steven Spielberg documentary 'The Unfinished Journey'. Tim is a black belt in Shotokan Karate.

He currently lives on a mountain in Kerry, Ireland.

During his life he has lived with four unforgettable dogs: a German shepherd called Gul, a black and white greyhound called Auda, a black greyhound called Lily, and a white lurcher called Feargal.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th April 2014

Author

Tim Willocks

More books by Tim Willocks
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.timwillocks.com/

Publisher

Vintage an imprint of Vintage Publishing

Format

Paperback
768 pages

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
Historical Fiction
Books for the Boys
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780099578925

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools