Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Tim Willocks - Author

About the Author

Tim Willock is a British born doctor of psychiatry. He has written four novels for adults, including Bad City Blues, which was adapted for the screen in a movie starring Dennis Hopper. He also wrote the Steven Spielberg documentary 'The Unfinished Journey'. Tim is a black belt in Shotokan Karate.

 

He currently lives on a mountain in Kerry, Ireland.

 

During his life he has lived with four unforgettable dogs: a German shepherd called Gul, a black and white greyhound called Auda, a black greyhound called Lily, and a white lurcher called Feargal.

Featured books by Tim Willocks

The Twelve Children of Paris

The Twelve Children of Paris

Author: Tim Willocks Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/04/2014

Paris, August 23rd, 1572. What do you do when your wife disappears. In the middle of the bloodiest massacre in European history and you know she is about to give birth to your only child? Three wars of religion have turned Paris into a fetid cauldron of hatred, intrigue and corruption. The Royal Wedding, intended to heal the wounds, has served only to further poison the fanatics of either creed. But Carla could not have known that when she accepted an invitation to the ceremony. When Mattias Tannhauser rides into town, on Saint Bartholomew's Eve, his only intention is to find her and take her home. But as the massacre of tens of thousands of Huguenots begins, and the city plunges into anarchy, Carla is abducted by Grymonde, the grotesque gang leader of the Yards, and Tannhauser finds himself imprisoned in the Louvre, at the centre of a vicious conspiracy. Wanted by the law, the assassins' guild, and a militant army who call themselves the Pilgrims of Saint-Jacques, Tannhauser must rise to pitiless extremes even he has never known before. With no one to help him but a stable boy, he wades into a river of blood without knowing what lies on the other side. As he harrows Hell in search of his beloved his destiny is changed forever by The Twelve Children Of Paris.

Other books by Tim Willocks

Memo From Turner

Memo From Turner

Author: Tim Willocks Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/08/2018

What happens when a man of absolute integrity finds himself trapped in a world of absolute corruption? During a weekend spree in Cape Town a young, rich Afrikaner fatally injures a teenage street girl with his Range Rover but is too drunk to know that he has hit her. His companions - who do know - leave the girl to die. The driver's mother, a self-made mining magnate called Margot Le Roux, intends to keep her son in ignorance of his crime. Why should his life be ruined for a nameless girl who was already terminally ill? No one will care and the law is cheap. But by chance the case falls to the relentless Warrant Officer Turner of Cape Town homicide. When Turner travels to the remote mining town that Margot owns - including the local police and private security force - he finds her determined to protect her son at any cost. As the battle of wills escalates, and the moral contradictions multiply, Turner won't be bought and won't be bullied, and when they try to bury him he rediscovers, during a desperate odyssey to the very brink of death, a long-forgotten truth about himself... By the time Willocks's tale is finished, fourteen men have died. He shows once again that he is the laureate of the violent thriller.

Memo From Turner

Memo From Turner

Author: Tim Willocks Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/08/2018

What happens when a man of absolute integrity finds himself trapped in a world of absolute corruption? During a weekend spree in Cape Town a young, rich Afrikaner fatally injures a teenage street girl with his Range Rover but is too drunk to know that he has hit her. His companions - who do know - leave the girl to die. The driver's mother, a self-made mining magnate called Margot Le Roux, intends to keep her son in ignorance of his crime. Why should his life be ruined for a nameless girl who was already terminally ill? No one will care and the law is cheap. But by chance the case falls to the relentless Warrant Officer Turner of Cape Town homicide. When Turner travels to the remote mining town that Margot owns - including the local police and private security force - he finds her determined to protect her son at any cost. As the battle of wills escalates, and the moral contradictions multiply, Turner won't be bought and won't be bullied, and when they try to bury him he rediscovers, during a desperate odyssey to the very brink of death, a long-forgotten truth about himself... By the time Willocks's tale is finished, fourteen men have died. He shows once again that he is the laureate of the violent thriller.

The Twelve Children of Paris

The Twelve Children of Paris

Author: Tim Willocks Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/04/2014

Paris, August 23rd, 1572. What do you do when your wife disappears. In the middle of the bloodiest massacre in European history and you know she is about to give birth to your only child? Three wars of religion have turned Paris into a fetid cauldron of hatred, intrigue and corruption. The Royal Wedding, intended to heal the wounds, has served only to further poison the fanatics of either creed. But Carla could not have known that when she accepted an invitation to the ceremony. When Mattias Tannhauser rides into town, on Saint Bartholomew's Eve, his only intention is to find her and take her home. But as the massacre of tens of thousands of Huguenots begins, and the city plunges into anarchy, Carla is abducted by Grymonde, the grotesque gang leader of the Yards, and Tannhauser finds himself imprisoned in the Louvre, at the centre of a vicious conspiracy. Wanted by the law, the assassins' guild, and a militant army who call themselves the Pilgrims of Saint-Jacques, Tannhauser must rise to pitiless extremes even he has never known before. With no one to help him but a stable boy, he wades into a river of blood without knowing what lies on the other side. As he harrows Hell in search of his beloved his destiny is changed forever by The Twelve Children Of Paris.

Green River Rising

Green River Rising

Author: Tim Willocks Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/04/2014

An edge-of-your-seat thriller for all fans of James Ellroy, Cormac McCarthy and John Grisham. For fans of The Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile and The Rock. After three years' hard time, minding no-one's business but his own, Ray Klein wins his parole. That same day, the disciplinary perfection of Green River State Penitentiary is torn apart by tribal war, and the prison falls into the hands of its inmates. As the River sucks them all towards the abyss, Klein must choose either to claim his freedom and leave the ones he cares for to die, or risk everything and fight...

The Religion

The Religion

Author: Tim Willocks Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/04/2013

Their god is War. And every god needs his Devil. THE RELIGION Malta, 1565. The greatest war the world has ever seen is unleashed on the doomed island as the Turks do battle with the Knights. The Knights call themselves The Religion. The Turks call them the Hounds of Hell. Back in Sicily, the beautiful, rich Carla pines for her bastard son, lost in the bloody inferno across the water. Enter Mattias Tannhauser - warrior, hero and double agent. Under Carla's command, he embarks on a death-defying mission to save her son. But can he evade the Inquisition and escape to run the Turkish blockade to victory in time?

Religion

Religion

Author: Tim Willocks Format: eBook Release Date: 15/05/2007

May 1565. Suleiman the Magnificent, emperor of the Ottomans, has declared a jihad against the Knights of Saint John the Baptist. The largest armada of all time approaches the Knights' Christian stronghold on the island of Malta. The Turks know the Knights as the "e;The Hounds of Hell."e; The Knights call themselves "e;The Religion."e;In Messina, Sicily, a French countess, Carla la Penautier, seeks a passage to Malta in a quest to find the son taken from her at his birth twelve years ago. The only man with the expertise and daring to help her is a Rabelaisian soldier of fortune, arms dealer, former janissary, and strapping Saxon adventurer by the name of Mattias Tannhauser. He agrees to accompany the lady to Malta, where, amidst the most spectacular siege in military history, they must try to find the boy- whose name they do not know and whose face they have never seen-and pluck him from the jaws of Holy War. The Religion is Book One of The Tannhauser Triology, and from the first page of this epic account of the last great medieval conflict between East and West, it is clear we are in the hands of a master. Not since James Clavell has a novelist so powerfully and assuredly plunged readers headlong into another place and time. Anne Rice transformed the vampire novel. Stephen King reinvented horror. Now, in a spectacular tale of heroism, tragedy, and passion, Tim Willocks revivifies historical fiction.

The Religion

The Religion

Author: Tim Willocks Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/08/2006

In 1994, Tim Willocks burst onto the scene with an unforgettable novel called Green River Rising . Hailed as 'the best thriller since The Silence of the Lambs ' ( Daily Telegraph ), it was particularly praised for the quality of Tim Willocks' prose and for his extraordinarily dark imagination. Both these qualities are very much in evidence in his new novel, The Religion . In Malta, in May 1565 - from the shores of the Golden Horn, Suleiman the Magnificent, Emperor of the Ottomans, has sent the greatest armada since antiquity to wipe out Islam's most implacable foe, the Knights of Saint John of Jerusalem, in their stronghold on the island of Malta. To the Turks the knights are known as 'The Hounds of Hell'. The knights call themselves 'The Religion'. Meanwhile, in Sicily, a disgraced and exiled Maltese noblewoman, Carla La Penautier, has been trying to return to the doomed island in an attempt to find the bastard son who was taken from her at his birth. The Religion have refused her every plea and a tormented Roman Inquisitor, Ludovico Ludovici, seeks to imprison her. But Carla recruits a notorious adventurer and arms merchant - Mattias Tannhauser - to help her evade the Inquisition and to escape on the last galley to run the Turkish blockade. As the ensuing apocalyptic conflict between Islam and Christianity becomes the most brutal and harrowing siege in military history, Tannhauser and Carla must survive the bloody inferno and track down a twelve-year-old boy whose face they have never seen and whose name they do not know. And neither of them reckon on the return of the avenging Inquisitor, Ludovico Ludovici... The Religion is an epic and exuberant tale of love and war, of intrigue and obsession, of politics and faith and high adventure. Against a rich and meticulously detailed historical backcloth, it tells of a small band of intrepid men and women who defy the madness of Holy War to realize their own vision of God and Eternity.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.timwillocks.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more