After the Silence Inspector Rykel

by Jake Woodhouse

Part of the Amsterdam Quartet with Inspector Jaap Rykel Series

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Thriller and Suspense Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime and Mystery Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of After the Silence Inspector Rykel

May 2014 Debut of the Month.

Energetic and stimulating, this edgy crime thriller is set over a period of a five days in the Netherlands.  When you start reading it feels as though you could have joined midway through a series, there are hints of intriguing past histories that you want to know more about; consequently you sometimes sense you are racing to catch up, you are kept on edge, trying to work out what has happened, what is happening, what will happen. The three main players, fascinating, different and with their own demons to conquer, attempt to get to grips with a tangled web of murder, corruption and horrific depraved criminality. This is a challenging and thought provoking read. ~ Liz Robinson


In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

Liz Robinson

After the Silence Inspector Rykel Synopsis

After the Silence is the utterly compelling crime debut from Jake Woodhouse. A body is found hanging on a hook above the canals of Amsterdam's old town, a mobile phone forced into the victim's mouth. In a remote coastal village, a doll lies in the ashes of a burnt-down house. But the couple who died in the fire had no children of their own. Did a little girl escape the blaze? And, if so, who is she and where is she now? Inspector Jaap Rykel knows that he's hunting a clever and brutal murderer. Still grieving from the violent death of his last partner, Rykel must work alongside a junior out-of-town detective with her own demons to face, if he has any hope of stopping the killer from striking again. Their investigation reveals two dark truths: everybody in this city harbours secrets - and hearing those secrets comes at a terrible price...After the Silence introduces Inspector Jaap Rykel in a gripping debut police procedural from Jake Woodhouse, which is sure to appeal to fans of Ian Rankin, Peter Robinson and Stuart MacBride. This is the first novel in The Amsterdam Quartet series. Jake Woodhouse has worked as a musician, winemaker and entrepreneur. He now lives in London with his wife and their young gundog. After the Silence is the first book in his Amsterdam Quartet.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781405914314
Publication date: 26th March 2015
Author: Jake Woodhouse
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Win a Mark Billingham Book Bundle!

Win a Mark Billingham Book Bundle!

Closing date: 10/07/2022

"The past is not just haunting Thorne, it’s hunting him in this read-in-one-sitting thrilling crime novel." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer The Murder Book, the latest in the Tom Thorne series by Mark Billingham is out now and to celebrate, we working with Little, Brown Book Group to offer you an opportunity to win a book bundle of the complete Tom Thorne backlist. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 10 July 2022. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After After the Silence Inspector Rykel

What She Left
Date Night
Into the Water

After the Silence Inspector Rykel Reader Reviews

  • Cathy Petersen - 'Haunted characters and dark secrets at the heart of Amsterdam make for an engrossing first novel.' Read full review >
  • Gavin Dimmock - 'A brutal killing; a couple burnt to death in a house fire; a missing child. These crimes lead Inspector Rykel and his colleagues into the darkest side of depravity in Amsterdam.' Read full review >
  • Chris Parfitt - 'Well written introduction to Inspector Japp Rykel that takes you on a trip into the darker side of Amsterdam where drugs and prostitution are only the tip of the iceberg.' Read full review >
  • Cyllene Griffiths - 'Despite the awful nature of the crimes this is a not a depressing read – it is compelling and absorbing and a real treat for crime thriller fans.' Read full review >
  • Victoria Whish - 'The first of a quartet featuring Inspector Rykel, this will definitely whet your appetite for more. A fast-paced thriller that delivers the right amount of twists and turns to keep you hooked.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Musk - 'A tense, dark detective story set in Amsterdam.  The subject matter is grim but Jake Woodhouse tells a very compelling, sometimes complicated tale.' Read full review >
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'I’m already looking forward to the next in Jake Woodhouse’s intended ‘Amsterdam Quartet’ series. A thoroughly enjoyable and gripping read.' Read full review >
  • Reba Khatun - 'After the Silence’ is set in Amsterdam and unlike other non-British and non-American crime novels this novel is easy to follow although the sensitive subject of the book is very upsetting.' Read full review >
  • Cleo Bannister - 'An action packed thriller set in Amsterdam...if you like your police procedurals fast and furious this could be the book for you.' Read full review >
  • Magda North - 'This book was not one for me, but there's plenty there to make it worth a read.' Read full review >
  • Carol Peace - 'European crime at its best...A very solid read.' Read full review >
  • Marta Sloma - 'Not your average crime, not your clean cut police officers, not your typical location. Which is why 'After the Silence' is such a compelling read.' Read full review >
  • Barbara Goldie - 'Amsterdam and thrilling crime a real mix! I really enjoyed the author’s portrayal of the seedy side of Amsterdam and look forward to the next offering from Jake Woodhouse. A recommended read.' Read full review >
  • Alan Brown - 'A book which is set up to compare with the best of today's crime fiction. Not quite there yet as the plot lines are not as strong as they could be?' Read full review >

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781405914314
Publication date: 26/03/2015
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Jake Woodhouse

Jake Woodhouse has worked as a musician, winemaker and entrepreneur. He now lives in London with his wife and their young gundog. After the Silence is the first book in his Amsterdam Quartet.   Below is a Q&A with the author.   1) After the Silence – what’s the elevator pitch?Five days in Amsterdam, city of vice.Three cops in a race against time.One missing girl and a brutal killer who keeps on killing.Fast paced, gritty thriller with a lyrical side to it. And there is an elevator which plays a minor role somewhere ...

More About Jake Woodhouse

More Books By Jake Woodhouse

After the Silence Inspector Rykel
After the Silence Inspector Rykel
After the Silence Inspector Rykel
View All Books By Jake Woodhouse

Share this book