Jake Woodhouse - Author

About the Author

Jake Woodhouse has worked as a musician, winemaker and entrepreneur. He now lives in London with his wife and their young gundog. After the Silence is the first book in his Amsterdam Quartet.

 

Below is a Q&A with the author.

 

1) After the Silence – what’s the elevator pitch?
Five days in Amsterdam, city of vice.
Three cops in a race against time.
One missing girl and a brutal killer who keeps on killing.
Fast paced, gritty thriller with a lyrical side to it. And there is an elevator which plays a minor role somewhere towards the end.

2) Where did your inspiration come for the Amsterdam setting?
I studied music in Amsterdam, and performed there on and off over the years. I love to walk round cities, and Amsterdam is a great city to do that, compact with a huge range of diverse architectural styles and fascinating, contrasting districts. When I sat down to write my first book I didn't make a conscious decision to write about Amsterdam, it just happened.

3) Can we expect more case-cracking from the Amsterdam Police Force?
Absolutely! After the Silence is the first instalment in the Amsterdam Quartet, a series of four interlinking novels which cover four years in the life of Jaap Rykel.

4) How would you describe your protagonist, Inspector Jaap Rykel?
Jaap Rykel is a searcher, someone who wants answers, even if they lead him places he'd be better off avoiding. He's also a man trying to achieve balance in a crazy world, but as things get tough he starts to lose faith in his convictions, and his rational side comes increasingly under attack by another, darker, more irrational part of him. This struggle is one of the main themes of the Amsterdam Quartet.

5) What do you enjoy reading?
Pretty much anything I can get my hands on! We didn't have a TV when I was young, so I've always been an avid reader. It's hard to pin down favourites, but I hugely enjoy T.C. Boyles' novels; his verbal exuberance, wit, and feeling for people in tough situations keeps me rereading his books, I never get tired of them. The same goes for David Mitchell - I read Ghostwritten a few years ago and was instantly hooked, so I rushed out and bought all his other books. Quite simply he writes lines which stop you dead in your tracks, I tend to like that in a writer.
In Crime I've recently been reading a lot of Don Winslow who is just getting better and better with each new book (and he was pretty damn good to begin with), pushing the boundaries of what can be done with a crime novel. And although I've not read them for many years, I keep meaning to reread the Asterix books...

Featured books by Jake Woodhouse

Other books by Jake Woodhouse

Before the Dawn Inspector Rykel Book 3

Before the Dawn Inspector Rykel Book 3

Author: Jake Woodhouse Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/01/2017

A gripping police procedural, After the Silence sees Inspector Jaap Rykel of Amsterdam's Murder Squad drawn into a case which may destroy him . . . On a small Dutch island a body is found. The victim's head is wrapped in cling film. Her hands are tied behind her back. Veteran detective Inspector Jaap Rykel of Amsterdam's Murder Squad is swiftly summoned and he soon identifies a suspect, who hands himself over. Yet the man has no history of violence, no motive, and no connection to the victim. On the other side of Holland, a similar murder - and confession - is reported and Rykel wonders if these are random senseless acts, or something more mysterious. Seeking patterns no one wants to see, Rykel is drawn deeper into a sinister, sprawling case which will destroy all who touch it . . . Praise for Jake Woodhouse: 'A strong sense of place matched by storytelling that keeps the plot accelerating' Daily Mail 'Utterly enthralling ... Looks set to be one of the key sequences in modern crime fiction' Barry Forshaw, Crimetime 'Taut, expertly woven and beautifully written' Craig Robertson

After the Silence Inspector Rykel Book 1

After the Silence Inspector Rykel Book 1

Author: Jake Woodhouse Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/07/2015

Perfect for fans of The Killing or The Bridge, After the Silence is an utterly compelling crime debut set in Amsterdam. *** A body is found hanging on a hook above the canals of Amsterdam's old town, a mobile phone forced into the victim's mouth. In a remote coastal village, a doll lies in the ashes of a burnt-down house. But the couple who died in the fire had no children of their own. Did a little girl escape the blaze? And, if so, who is she and where is she now? Inspector Jaap Rykel knows that he's hunting a clever and brutal murderer. Still grieving from the violent death of his last partner, Rykel must work alongside a junior out-of-town detective with her own demons to face, if he has any hope of stopping the killer from striking again. Their investigation reveals two dark truths: everybody in this city harbours secrets - and hearing those secrets comes at a terrible price ... After the Silence introduces Inspector Jaap Rykel in a gripping debut police procedural from Jake Woodhouse, which is sure to appeal to fans of Ian Rankin, Peter Robinson and Stuart MacBride. This is the first novel in The Amsterdam Quartet series. PRAISE FOR JAKE WOODHOUSE: 'This gripping detective novel will thrill fans of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and bears comparison to Fatherland ... Utterly unputdownable' The Sun 'Utterly enthralling ... looks set to be one of the key sequences in modern crime fiction' Barry Forshaw, Crimetime 'Jake Woodhouse's taut, twisty plots are expertly woven and beautifully written. They are peopled with complex characters that will have you turning the pages to see what becomes of them. He has created a flawed gem in Inspector Jaap Rykel, a cop with an assured literary future' Craig Robertson, author of Witness the Dead and The Last Refuge 'After the Silence is as dark and twisty as the Amsterdam it navigates and Rykel a fascinating and original protagonist. A promising start to what could be a great series.' Stav Sherez, author of A Dark Redemption 'Complex ... intriguing ... keeps the reader hooked' Eurocrime

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.jakewoodhouse.com/index.html

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more