Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Professionals by Owen Laukkanen
  

The Professionals

Part of the Stevens & Windermere Series
Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Maxim Jakubowski's view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Four bright university friends turn to professional kidnapping for profit in a failing job market. All goes well with this new business venture until the day they kidnap the wrong man and all hell breaks loose. With both the authorities and a blood-thirsty organized crime outfit on their trail, the loosely criminal entrepreneurs have to do a perilous balancing act to emerge in one piece from the unholy mess. Fast-moving, witty and frightfully imaginative, this is the first in a highly heralded new American series that will appeal to fans of Lee Child, Michael Connelly and other best thriller writers from over the pond. Terrific twists and thrills litter the pages.

Sarah Broadhurst's View...

Rather like a present day Bonnie and Clyde with events escalating far beyond what was initially thought to be a safe wheeze, it concerns four young American graduates unable to get satisfying jobs who turn to kidnapping to make a living. They take ultra-wealthy people, don’t demand too much so it’s easily affordable and then move on. All goes well until they kidnap the daughter of a Mafia don. Now they have both the FBI and the Mafia after them … Good action, good characters, lots of plot and good fun.

Who is Maxim Jakubowski

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

The Professionals by Owen Laukkanen

Four friends, caught in a terrible job market, joke about turning to kidnapping to survive. And then, suddenly, it's no joke. For two years, the strategy they devise works like a charm - until they kidnap the wrong man. Now two groups are after them - the law, in the form of veteran state investigator Kirk Stevens and hotshot young FBI agent Carla Windermere, and an organized crime outfit looking for payback. As they crisscross the country in a series of increasingly explosive confrontations, each of them is ultimately forced to recognize the truth: the real professionals, cop or criminal, are those who are willing to sacrifice everything.

Reviews

'Really terrific - characters that live and breathe, a just-right story, and chills aplenty. Highly recommended' -- Lee Child

'Ingenious plotting, perfect-pitch characterization and evocative sense of place combine to create an impressive debut' -- Jonathan Kellerman

'Fasten your seat belts, Owen Laukkanen's The Professionals is one heck of a wild ride. A first-class thriller by a terrific new voice' -- John Lescroart

'A high-octane adrenaline and gunpowder-fueled rocket ride across the country from Seattle to Miami to Detroit and points in-between... An excellent first novel!' -- C.J. Box

'A coiling plot, insightful characters, and a tale fraught with danger. What more could any thriller reader want?' -- Steve Berry

'A fast-moving debut thriller with enough twists to fill a pretzel bag... Let's hope Laukkanen writes more thrillers like this one' -- Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

Owen Laukkanen

A graduate of the University of British Columbia's Creative Writing program, Owen Laukkanen spent three years in the world of professional poker reporting before turning to fiction. He currently lives in Vancouver.

Author Photo © Kate Anderson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd July 2014

Author

Owen Laukkanen

More books by Owen Laukkanen
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

owenlaukkanen.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781782393665

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools