Owen Laukkanen - Author

About the Author

A graduate of the University of British Columbia's Creative Writing program, Owen Laukkanen spent three years in the world of professional poker reporting before turning to fiction. He currently lives in Vancouver.

 

Author Photo © Kate Anderson

Featured books by Owen Laukkanen

The Stolen Ones

The Stolen Ones

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/05/2015

Cass County, Minnesota: A sheriff's deputy steps out of a diner on a rainy summer evening and a few minutes later he's lying dead in the mud. When state investigator Kirk Stevens arrives on the scene, he discovers local authorities have taken into custody a single suspect: a hysterical young woman found sat beside the body, holding the deputy's own gun. She has no ID, speaks no English. A mystery woman. The puzzle only deepens from there, as Stevens and Carla Windermere, his partner in the new joint state and FBI violent crime task force, find themselves on the trail of a massive international kidnapping and prostitution operation. Before the two agents are done, they will have travelled over half the country, and come face-to-face not only with the most vicious man either of them has ever encountered, but two of the most courageous women. They are sisters, stolen ones. But just because you're a victim doesn't mean you have to stay one.

eBooks of the Month
The Professionals

The Professionals

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/07/2014

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. Four bright university friends turn to professional kidnapping for profit in a failing job market. All goes well with this new business venture until the day they kidnap the wrong man and all hell breaks loose. With both the authorities and a blood-thirsty organized crime outfit on their trail, the loosely criminal entrepreneurs have to do a perilous balancing act to emerge in one piece from the unholy mess. Fast-moving, witty and frightfully imaginative, this is the first in a highly heralded new American series that will appeal to fans of Lee Child, Michael Connelly and other best thriller writers from over the pond. Terrific twists and thrills litter the pages.   Sarah Broadhurst's View... Rather like a present day Bonnie and Clyde with events escalating far beyond what was initially thought to be a safe wheeze, it concerns four young American graduates unable to get satisfying jobs who turn to kidnapping to make a living.  They take ultra-wealthy people, don’t demand too much so it’s easily affordable and then move on.  All goes well until they kidnap the daughter of a Mafia don.  Now they have both the FBI and the Mafia after them … Good action, good characters, lots of plot and good fun.

eBooks of the Month
Kill Fee

Kill Fee

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Ebook Release Date: 01/12/2015

In Saint Paul, Minnesota state investigator Kirk Stevens and his sometime colleague FBI special agent Carla Windermere witness the assassination of a local billionaire. The shooter flees the scene, but not before the pair see his face - and the blank expression in his eyes. Stevens and Windermere investigate and are led across the country, down dead ends and into long-forgotten cold cases, until they finally discover a chilling clue: a high tech murder-for-hire website. It's a break in the case but only the beginning. Who is the dead-eyed shooter? Who recruits the assassins? And who profits from the fee? It is a race against the clock, and the killer has his next target in sight...

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Owen Laukkanen

The Wild

The Wild

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/01/2021

The Wild by Owen Laukkanen

Lone Jack Trail

Lone Jack Trail

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/09/2020

Could your closest friend be a killer? When a body washes up outside Deception Cove, Washington, Jess Winslow-once a US Marine, now a trainee sheriff's deputy-is assigned to investigate. But when she realizes it's Bad Brock Boyd, a hometown celebrity lately fallen from grace, things become complicated. The last person seen with Boyd was her own boyfriend, Mason Burke. An ex-convict and newcomer in town, Mason is one of the only people who can understand Jess's haunting memories of her time in Afghanistan-and her love for Lucy, her devoted service dog. Finding one another in Deception Cove has been the best thing to happen to either of them in years. So Jess knows Mason could never be guilty of murder-doesn't she? As the facts of the case point ever more squarely at Mason, Jess must face that everything she thinks she knows about him might be wrong. A thrilling sequel to Deception Cove, and a heart-pounding adventure all its own, Lone Jack Trail pushes Jess and Mason to a shocking confrontation and will test everything they've come to love and trust in Deception Cove.

Deception Cove

Deception Cove

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/05/2019

One of Kirkus Reviews' Top 100 Books of 2019 A compelling new thriller for fans of CJ Box and David Baldacci. Jess Winslow is a former US Marine struggling to adjust to civilian life after the horrors of Afghanistan. All she has in the world is her black and white pitbull mix, Lucy. Mason Burke trained Lucy for the service animal program while serving fifteen years in prison. Lucy helped keep him sane; now he'll stop at nothing to keep her safe. So when a corrupt deputy sheriff takes Lucy hostage over a package Jess's late husband allegedly stole, newly-released Mason promises to help. But saving Lucy and finding the package is only the start. Soon Mason and Jess are caught up in someone else's private war. Will they be able to trust each other and face their demons in time to save themselves? Deception Cove is a gripping story of survival and redemption set against the beautiful and dangerous coastline of the Pacific Northwest.

Gale Force

Gale Force

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/05/2018

Gale Force by Owen Laukkanen

The Forgotten Girls

The Forgotten Girls

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/03/2017

The Forgotten Girls by Owen Laukkanen

Kill Fee

Kill Fee

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/02/2015

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. A third successful outing for Minnesota state investigator Kirk Stevens and his occasional FBI special agent and younger sidekick Carla Windermere (earlier volumes were The Professionals and Criminal Enterprise). When a local billionaire is assassinated, the cross-country trail weavingly leads to a sinister high tech website advertising murder for hire. It's no longer a matter of identifying the blank-faced killer but also the powers behind the criminal organisation and their motives, whether pecuniary or not. Slick and fast-paced storytelling and likeable characters combine to make this a rapid and involving read and a series that grows on you and is almost ready-made for the smalll screen. Impeccable entertainment perfected with slide rule precision.

eBooks of the Month
Professionals

Professionals

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Ebook Release Date: 01/11/2014

Professionals by Owen Laukkanen

Criminal Enterprise

Criminal Enterprise

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/09/2014

From the outside, Carter Tomlin's life looks perfect: a big house, a pretty wife, two kids - a St. Paul success story. But Tomlin has a secret. He's lost his job, the bills are mounting, and that perfect life is hanging by a thread. Desperate, he robs a bank. Then he robs another. As the red flags start to go up, FBI Special Agent Carla Windermere hones in on Tomlin from one direction, while Minnesota state investigator Kirk Stevens picks up the trail from another. The two cops haven't talked since their first case together, but that's all going to change very quickly. Because Carter Tomlin's decided he likes robbing banks. And it's not because of the money, not anymore. Tomlin has guns and a new taste for violence. And he's not quitting anytime soon...