LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Owen Laukkanen - Author

About the Author

A graduate of the University of British Columbia's Creative Writing program, Owen Laukkanen spent three years in the world of professional poker reporting before turning to fiction. He currently lives in Vancouver.

 

Author Photo © Kate Anderson

Featured books by Owen Laukkanen

The Stolen Ones

The Stolen Ones

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/05/2015

Cass County, Minnesota: A sheriff's deputy steps out of a diner on a rainy summer evening and a few minutes later he's lying dead in the mud. When state investigator Kirk Stevens arrives on the scene, he discovers local authorities have taken into custody a single suspect: a hysterical young woman found sat beside the body, holding the deputy's own gun. She has no ID, speaks no English. A mystery woman. The puzzle only deepens from there, as Stevens and Carla Windermere, his partner in the new joint state and FBI violent crime task force, find themselves on the trail of a massive international kidnapping and prostitution operation. Before the two agents are done, they will have travelled over half the country, and come face-to-face not only with the most vicious man either of them has ever encountered, but two of the most courageous women. They are sisters, stolen ones. But just because you're a victim doesn't mean you have to stay one.

ebook of the month

Other books by Owen Laukkanen

Deception Cove A gripping and fast paced thriller

Deception Cove A gripping and fast paced thriller

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/05/2019

A compelling new thriller for fans of CJ Box and David Baldacci. Jess Winslow is a former US Marine struggling to adjust to civilian life after the horrors of Afghanistan. All she has in the world is her black and white pitbull mix, Lucy. Mason Burke trained Lucy for the service animal program while serving fifteen years in prison. Lucy helped keep him sane; now he'll stop at nothing to keep her safe. So when a corrupt deputy sheriff takes Lucy hostage over a package Jess's late husband allegedly stole, newly-released Mason promises to help. But saving Lucy and finding the package is only the start. Soon Mason and Jess are caught up in someone else's private war. Will they be able to trust each other and face their demons in time to save themselves? Deception Cove is a gripping story of survival and redemption set against the beautiful and dangerous coastline of the Pacific Northwest.

Gale Force

Gale Force

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: eBook Release Date: 08/05/2018

For all lovers of maritime adventure comes an electrifying thriller of treachery and peril on the high seas featuring a dynamic new heroine, from multi-award-nominated suspense star Owen Laukkanen.In the high-stakes world of deep-sea salvage, an ocean disaster can mean a huge payoff--if you can survive the chase.McKenna Rhodes has never been able to get the sight of her father's death out of her mind. A freak maritime accident has made her the captain of the salvage boat Gale Force, but it's also made her cautious, sticking closer to the Alaska coastline. She and her crew are just scraping by, when the freighter Pacific Lion, out of Yokohama, founders two hundred miles out in a storm.This job is their last chance--but there is even more at stake than they know. Unlisted on any manifest, the Lion's crew includes a man on the run carrying fifty million dollars in stolen Yakuza bearer bonds. The Japanese gangsters want the money. The thief's associates want the money. Another salvage ship, far bigger and more powerful than Gale Force, is racing to the rendezvous as well. And the storm rages on. If McKenna can't find a way to prevail, everything she loves--the ship, her way of life, maybe even her life itself--will be lost.Filled with bravery, betrayal, sudden twists, and pure excitement, Gale Force is a spectacular new adventure from the fast-rising suspense star.

Gale Force

Gale Force

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/05/2018

The Forgotten Girls

The Forgotten Girls

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/03/2017

Kill Fee

Kill Fee

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: eBook Release Date: 01/12/2015

The Stolen Ones

The Stolen Ones

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/05/2015

Cass County, Minnesota: A sheriff's deputy steps out of a diner on a rainy summer evening and a few minutes later he's lying dead in the mud. When state investigator Kirk Stevens arrives on the scene, he discovers local authorities have taken into custody a single suspect: a hysterical young woman found sat beside the body, holding the deputy's own gun. She has no ID, speaks no English. A mystery woman. The puzzle only deepens from there, as Stevens and Carla Windermere, his partner in the new joint state and FBI violent crime task force, find themselves on the trail of a massive international kidnapping and prostitution operation. Before the two agents are done, they will have travelled over half the country, and come face-to-face not only with the most vicious man either of them has ever encountered, but two of the most courageous women. They are sisters, stolen ones. But just because you're a victim doesn't mean you have to stay one.

ebook of the month
Professionals

Professionals

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: eBook Release Date: 01/11/2014

Criminal Enterprise

Criminal Enterprise

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/09/2014

From the outside, Carter Tomlin's life looks perfect: a big house, a pretty wife, two kids - a St. Paul success story. But Tomlin has a secret. He's lost his job, the bills are mounting, and that perfect life is hanging by a thread. Desperate, he robs a bank. Then he robs another. As the red flags start to go up, FBI Special Agent Carla Windermere hones in on Tomlin from one direction, while Minnesota state investigator Kirk Stevens picks up the trail from another. The two cops haven't talked since their first case together, but that's all going to change very quickly. Because Carter Tomlin's decided he likes robbing banks. And it's not because of the money, not anymore. Tomlin has guns and a new taste for violence. And he's not quitting anytime soon...