LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Fergus McNeill - Author

About the Author

Fergus McNeill is the author of Eye Contact and Knife Edge. As well as writing crime novels, he has been creating computer games since the early eighties, writing his first interactive fiction titles while still at school. Now running an app development studio, Fergus lives in Hampshire with his wife and teenage son.

 

 

Author photo © Cameron McNeill

Featured books by Fergus McNeill

Cut Out

Cut Out

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/10/2014

Nigel never meant for it to happen. At first, he just wanted to be Matt's friend. But when he discovers he can hear what is going on in the flat below him, his fascination with his new neighbour drifts into obsession. Rearranging his furniture to recreate the layout of the rooms downstairs. Buying the same clothes, going through his post, his things. Becoming Matt without him ever knowing. And it would have been all right, if Matt hadn't brought the girl home. When things spiral out of control, Detective Inspector Harland has to unravel the disturbing truth. But there's far more to the case than meets the eye ...

ebook of the month

Other books by Fergus McNeill

Eye Contact

Eye Contact

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/10/2020

A crime novel that's perfect for fans of Peter James or Peter Robinson.If you look him in the eye, you're dead.From the outside, Robert Naysmith is a successful businessman, handsome and charming. But for years he's been playing a deadly game. He doesn't choose his victims. Each is selected at random - the first person to make eye contact after he begins 'the game' will not have long to live. Their fate is sealed.When the body of a young woman is found on Severn Beach, Detective Inspector Harland is assigned the case. It's only when he links it to an unsolved murder in Oxford that the police begin to guess at the awful scale of the crimes. But how do you find a killer who strikes without motive?

Pervasive Punishment

Pervasive Punishment

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/11/2018

Despite its dramatic proliferation and diversification in recent decades, supervisory forms of punishment in the community (like probation, parole and unpaid work) have been largely invisible in scholarly and public discussion of criminal justice and its development in late-modern societies. The long-standing pre-occupation with the prison, and more recent concerns about 'mass incarceration' have allowed the emergence of 'mass supervision' to remain in the shadows. Pervasive Punishment insists that we remedy this neglect and exemplifies how we can do so. Drawing on thirty years of personal, practice and research experiences, it offers a compelling and rich account of the scale and social distribution of mass supervision, of the processes by which it has been legitimated, and of how it is experienced by those subject to it. Its innovative approach invites readers to look at, listen to and imagine punishment beyond the prison, through the use of innovative and creative methods including photography, song-writing and story-telling to explore and to represent 'mass supervision'. By so doing, this book offers new insights into how and why combining social science and creative practice can help develop a different kind of democratic dialogue about contentious social issues like crime and punishment. Though focused on the UK and the USA, the methods used in and analysis developed in this book will be of interest to scholars, students and practitioners elsewhere.

Reducing Reoffending

Reducing Reoffending

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/07/2017

Reducing Reoffending provides a critical overview of social work and community justice in Scotland, taking full account of recent developments. The book is divided into three comprehensive sections. Part one of the book provides a critical analysis of the challenge of reducing reoffending in Scotland and locates this challenge within its historical context. Part one also reviews the available evidence about when, how and why people stop offending; about desistance from crime. This analysis exposes not only the complexities of desistance processes, but also the many difficulties that offenders face in making the related transition. Part two of the book provides an account of the legal contexts of criminal justice social work services in Scotland analysing both the role that social work plays in the sentencing process and its role in supervising offenders in the community. The final part the book addresses questions of how the practice of supervision might be best developed so as to support desistance and reduce reoffending, though the books final conclusion is that reducing reoffending requires a much broader commitment to promoting and realising justice in the community.

Probation

Probation

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Hardback Release Date: 25/06/2016

This volume poses a series of key questions about the practice of probation as an integral part of the European criminal justice system. The contributors are established experts in their respective fields of study and together their questions address the legitimacy, and perhaps continued existence, of probation. The book offers analyses of why people offend and stop offending, and the wide ranging impacts of probation. This includes the impact on offenders' social reintegration, as a form of reparation for victims and communities, on public desire for justice and punishment, and on probationers themselves. The contributors further assess the state of probation and its adaptation to the current state of penality and society, the role of probation officers in pre-sentencing decision-making and the promotion of community sanctions and measures. By providing important recommendations and suggestions for application to practice, the book will be of great interest to academics, students, policy makers and practitioners alike.

Changing Offending Behaviour

Changing Offending Behaviour

Author: Fergus McNeill, Clark Baim, Lydia Guthrie Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/07/2014

A one-stop resource of practical exercises for professionals to use in direct work with offenders aged 16+. Changing Offending Behaviour is a guide to the essentials of rehabilitation theory which also equips the reader with ready-to-use photocopiable exercises and activities to help put the theory into practice in rehabilitation work with adult offenders. Drawing on a range of evidence-based methodologies, theories and treatment approaches, including Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT), Attachment Theory, Relationally-based Therapies, Social Learning Theory, Motivational Interviewing and the Cycle of Change, this resource provides exercises to increase self-understanding, examine patterns of behaviour, and build empathy and other crucial skills. All the exercises are culturally aware and designed for maximum flexibility to meet different needs and learning styles. Covering must-know theory and packed with practical exercises that work, this is an indispensable resource for probation workers and related professionals.

Knife Edge

Knife Edge

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2014

The perfect book for fans of serial killer thrillers and crime writers such as Peter James, Mark Billingham and Peter Robinson He didn't intend to let her get so close But Robert Naysmith's girlfriend Kim has become important to him. So he decides to tell her his deadly secret. He wants her to recognise the power he holds. He hopes he won't have to kill her Detective Inspector Harland hasn't forgotten the serial killer who got away from him. But with nothing to go on, he fears he will never bring him to justice. Until he is seconded to investigate the brutal murder of a woman in her Bristol home. A random attack, a murderer who has carefully covered his tracks . . . alarm bells start ringing. Then Harland meets Kim. One last game of life and death is about to begin. Praise for Fergus McNeil 'A chilling game of cat and mouse that should keep you awake long after bedtime. DI Harland is a welcome addition to the growing ranks of British detectives' Peter Robinson, bestselling author of the DCI Banks series 'Let's welcome Fergus McNeill to the ranks of British Crime fiction innovators; he has found a darker shade of noir' Quintin Jardine, bestselling author of the Constable Bob Skinner series 'Creepy, compelling and completely convincing' Erin Kelly, bestselling author of He Said/ She Said 'A gripping first novel' Irish Independent

Reducing Reoffending

Reducing Reoffending

Author: Fergus McNeill, Bill Whyte Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2007

Reducing Reoffending provides a critical overview of social work and community justice in Scotland, taking full account of recent developments. The book is divided into three comprehensive sections. Part one of the book provides a critical analysis of the challenge of reducing reoffending in Scotland and locates this challenge within its historical context. Part one also reviews the available evidence about when, how and why people stop offending; about desistance from crime. This analysis exposes not only the complexities of desistance processes, but also the many difficulties that offenders face in making the related transition. Part two of the book provides an account of the legal contexts of criminal justice social work services in Scotland analysing both the role that social work plays in the sentencing process and its role in supervising offenders in the community. The final part the book addresses questions of how the practice of supervision might be best developed so as to support desistance and reduce reoffending, though the books final conclusion is that reducing reoffending requires a much broader commitment to promoting and realising justice in the community.