Fergus McNeill - Author

About the Author

Fergus McNeill is the author of Eye Contact and Knife Edge. As well as writing crime novels, he has been creating computer games since the early eighties, writing his first interactive fiction titles while still at school. Now running an app development studio, Fergus lives in Hampshire with his wife and teenage son.

 

 

Author photo © Cameron McNeill

Featured books by Fergus McNeill

Cut Out

Cut Out

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Paperback Release Date: 23/04/2015

An extraordinary, well-written, fast-moving and intelligent murder mystery.  It is a tale of obsession and murder, both premeditated and unintentional, the contrasts are intriguing.  The fine line between sanity and insanity is beautifully drawn.  We follow a reclusive computer geek, Matt, his obsession in the flat beneath, Nigel, Nigel’s girlfriend Laura, the police and a seedy photographer.  It is a tale with two strands and a horrific murder early on.  As the strands slowly link so the gradual build becomes nail-biting, leaving you desperately turning pages to a conclusion you really won’t see coming. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Fergus McNeill

Reducing Reoffending

Reducing Reoffending

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/07/2017

Reducing Reoffending provides a critical overview of social work and community justice in Scotland, taking full account of recent developments. The book is divided into three comprehensive sections. Part one of the book provides a critical analysis of the challenge of reducing reoffending in Scotland and locates this challenge within its historical context. Part one also reviews the available evidence about when, how and why people stop offending; about desistance from crime. This analysis exposes not only the complexities of desistance processes, but also the many difficulties that offenders face in making the related transition. Part two of the book provides an account of the legal contexts of criminal justice social work services in Scotland analysing both the role that social work plays in the sentencing process and its role in supervising offenders in the community. The final part the book addresses questions of how the practice of supervision might be best developed so as to support desistance and reduce reoffending, though the books final conclusion is that reducing reoffending requires a much broader commitment to promoting and realising justice in the community.

Probation

Probation

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/07/2016

This volume poses a series of key questions about the practice of probation as an integral part of the European criminal justice system. The contributors are established experts in their respective fields of study and together their questions address the legitimacy, and perhaps continued existence, of probation. The book offers analyses of why people offend and stop offending, and the wide ranging impacts of probation. This includes the impact on offenders' social reintegration, as a form of reparation for victims and communities, on public desire for justice and punishment, and on probationers themselves. The contributors further assess the state of probation and its adaptation to the current state of penality and society, the role of probation officers in pre-sentencing decision-making and the promotion of community sanctions and measures. By providing important recommendations and suggestions for application to practice, the book will be of great interest to academics, students, policy makers and practitioners alike.

Knife Edge

Knife Edge

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/01/2014

The perfect book for fans of serial killer thrillers and crime writers such as Peter James, Mark Billingham and Peter Robinson He didn't intend to let her get so close But Robert Naysmith's girlfriend Kim has become important to him. So he decides to tell her his deadly secret. He wants her to recognise the power he holds. He hopes he won't have to kill her Detective Inspector Harland hasn't forgotten the serial killer who got away from him. But with nothing to go on, he fears he will never bring him to justice. Until he is seconded to investigate the brutal murder of a woman in her Bristol home. A random attack, a murderer who has carefully covered his tracks . . . alarm bells start ringing. Then Harland meets Kim. One last game of life and death is about to begin. Praise for Fergus McNeil 'A chilling game of cat and mouse that should keep you awake long after bedtime. DI Harland is a welcome addition to the growing ranks of British detectives' Peter Robinson, bestselling author of the DCI Banks series 'Let's welcome Fergus McNeill to the ranks of British Crime fiction innovators; he has found a darker shade of noir' Quintin Jardine, bestselling author of the Constable Bob Skinner series 'Creepy, compelling and completely convincing' Erin Kelly, bestselling author of He Said/ She Said 'A gripping first novel' Irish Independent

Eye Contact

Eye Contact

Author: Fergus McNeill Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/02/2013

A crime novel that's perfect for fans of Peter James or Peter Robinson.If you look him in the eye, you're dead.From the outside, Robert Naysmith is a successful businessman, handsome and charming. But for years he's been playing a deadly game. He doesn't choose his victims. Each is selected at random - the first person to make eye contact after he begins 'the game' will not have long to live. Their fate is sealed.When the body of a young woman is found on Severn Beach, Detective Inspector Harland is assigned the case. It's only when he links it to an unsolved murder in Oxford that the police begin to guess at the awful scale of the crimes. But how do you find a killer who strikes without motive?