Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Claire Kendal - Author

About the Author

Claire Kendal was born in America and educated in England, where she has spent all of her adult life. The Book of You is her first novel. It will be translated into over a dozen languages. Claire teaches English Literature and Creative Writing, and lives in the South West with her family. She is working on her next psychological thriller.

 

Featured books by Claire Kendal

Other books by Claire Kendal

Second Sister

Second Sister

Author: Claire Kendal Format: eBook Release Date: 26/09/2017

An obsessive quest to solve the mystery of her older sisters disappearance puts a young woman in mortal jeopardy in this taut, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense from the author of the truly riveting (New York Times) The Book of You. An intoxicating cocktail of loyalty and secrets, lies and betrayal, reminiscent of Rosamund Luptons Sister and Kimberly McCreights Reconstructing Amelia.A decade ago, Ella Brookes older sister, Miranda, vanished without a trace. With every passing year, Ella has come to resemble more closely the sister she lostthe same dark hair, the same piercing blue eyesand now shes the same age Miranda was when she disappeared.Ella has never let go of her sister. She can still feel Mirandas presence, still hear her voice. She still talks to her. What holds Ella together is her love for her sisters ten-year-old son and her work as a self-defense expert helping victims.Ella is certain that Miranda was taken, and that one man is key to her disappearance: Jason Thorne. The tabloids report that a new link has been found connecting Miranda to this sadistic serial killer locked away in a psychiatric hospital. Ignoring warnings from the police and the disapproval of her parents, she seeks Thorne out. Ella will do whatever it takes to uncover the truthno matter how dangerous

Second Sister: The exciting new psychological thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Claire Kendal

Second Sister: The exciting new psychological thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Claire Kendal

Author: Claire Kendal Format: eBook Release Date: 04/05/2017

The chilling new psychological thriller from the author of the top ten bestseller, THE BOOK OF YOU, which was selected for Richard and Judy in 2015. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and DISCLAIMER.It is ten years since Ella's sister Miranda disappeared without trace, leaving her young baby behind. Chilling new evidence links Miranda to the horrifying Jason Thorne, now in prison for murdering several women. Is it possible that Miranda knew him?At thirty, Miranda's age when she vanished, Ella looks uncannily like the sister she idolized. What holds Ella together is her love for her sister's child and her work as a self-defence expert helping victims.Haunted by the possibility that Thorne took Miranda, and driven by her nephew's longing to know about his mother, Ella will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth - no matter how dangerous...

Book of You

Book of You

Author: Claire Kendal, Z.Lozhkina Format: eBook Release Date: 08/08/2016

A mesmerizing tale of psychological suspense about a woman who must fight to escape an expert manipulator determined to possess her, Claire Kendal's debut novel is a sophisticated and disturbing portrait of compulsion, control, and terror that will appeal to fans of Before I Go to Sleep, The Silent Wife, and Into the Darkest Corner. His name is Rafe, and he is everywhere Clarissa turns. At the university where she works. Her favorite sewing shop. The train station. Outside her apartment. His messages choke her voice mail; his gifts litter her mailbox. Since that one regrettable night, his obsession with her has grown, becoming more terrifying with each passing day. And as Rafe has made clear, he will never let her go. Clarissa's only escape from this harrowing nightmare is inside a courtroom-where she is a juror on a trial involving a victim whose experiences eerily parallel her own. There she finds some peace and even makes new friends, including an attractive widower named Robert, whose caring attentions make her feel desired and safe. But as a disturbingly violent crime unfolds in the courtroom, Clarissa realizes that to survive she must expose Rafe herself. Conceiving a plan, she begins collecting the evidence of Rafe's madness to use against him-a record of terror that will force her to relive every excruciating moment she desperately wants to forget. Proof that will reveal the twisted, macabre fairy tale that Rafe has spun around them . . . with an ending more horrifying than her darkest fears. Masterfully constructed, filled with exquisite tension and a pervasive sense of menace, The Book of You explores the lines between love and compulsion, fantasy and reality, and offers a heart-stopping portrait of a woman determined to survive. Claire Kendal's extraordinary debut will haunt readers long after it reaches its terrifying, breathtaking conclusion.

Du bist mein Tod

Du bist mein Tod

Author: Claire Kendal Format: eBook Release Date: 06/03/2015

Ein Mann, der ihr die Welt zu Fuen legt: der Traum einer jeden Frau. Doch fur Clarissa ist es ein Alptraum. Denn sie will seine Geschenke, seine Blumen, seine Nahe nicht. Nirgends ist sie mehr sicher. Er lauert ihr auf, Tag und Nacht. Aber keiner erkennt die Gefahr, selbst ihre beste Freundin nicht. Fur alle anderen sieht es aus wie die groe Liebe. Was sie auch macht, sie kann sich nicht wehren, er kommt ihr naher und naher. Dann erfahrt sie, dass seine Exfreundin seit Jahren vermisst wird. Clarissa furchtet um ihr Leben. Bis sie endlich zuruckschlagt.

The Book of You

The Book of You

Author: Claire Kendal Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2015

Sunday Times top ten bestseller and Richard & Judy pick, The Book of You is a terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won't leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can't be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand. Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them - and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined.

Book of You

Book of You

Author: Claire Kendal Format: eBook Release Date: 24/04/2014

Sunday Times top ten bestseller and Richard & Judy pick, The Book of You is a terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won't leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there.Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can't be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand.Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them - and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined.

Author Info

Author's Facebook

Find Claire Kendal on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more