LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Claire Kendal - Author

About the Author

Claire Kendal was born in America and educated in England, where she has spent all of her adult life. The Book of You is her first novel. It will be translated into over a dozen languages. Claire teaches English Literature and Creative Writing, and lives in the South West with her family. She is working on her next psychological thriller.

 

Featured books by Claire Kendal

I Spy

I Spy

Author: Claire Kendal Format: Audiobook Release Date: 22/08/2019

The chilling new psychological thriller from the author of the top ten bestseller The Book of You, a Richard and Judy pick. Perfect for fans of Shari Lapena, Lisa Jewell and Fiona Barton. Someone is watching your every move... Holly Lawrence always wanted to be a spy, but the experience proved more dangerous than anything she imagined. Now, Holly lives in hiding under an assumed name. She avoids relationships and trusts no one. But Holly's new life begins to unravel when she encounters a young mother and her two-year-old child...a child who reminds her of a past she has tried hard to forget. This time, someone is spying on her, and Holly will need to decide how far she is willing to go to survive....

Audiobooks of the Month
The Second Sister

The Second Sister

Author: Claire Kendal Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/05/2017

A sublimely intense, and heart-pumping psychological thriller. Ten years on from the disappearance of her older sister, Ella begins to uncover some potential leads, yet she feels that someone is watching her, waiting. The story is set over 20 days, I was immediately captivated as my mind started to try to piece together the information alongside Ella. Claire Kendal keeps the tension at an almost unbearable level, yet she writes with such beautiful compassion. The family story is as powerful as the fast paced action, and my brain was working on several levels as I evaluated the various strands. I found myself on high alert throughout, as I devoured the words, I quite simply suspected everyone and almost tied myself in knots! ‘The Second Sister’ is a clever and dramatic read, provoking minds into fevered action and striking at the very centre of your heart, highly recommended… ~ Liz Robinson

eBooks of the Month
The Book of You

The Book of You

Author: Claire Kendal Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/04/2014

NewGen Books of the Year 2014. May 2014 Debut of the Month. A tale of stalking, date rape and fear, all set against the backdrop of a trial of which Clarissa is a juror.  The story develops over the seven weeks of the trial.  It is creepy, compelling and scarily plausible and it is interesting to have a trial of kidnap and rape developing beneath the story of Clarissa.  Even minor characters have a depth in a well written first novel which impressed me enormously.

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Claire Kendal

I Spy

I Spy

Author: Claire Kendal Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/08/2019

'Tense, gripping and packed with twists' Lucy Clarke Someone is watching your every move... Holly Lawrence always wanted to be a spy, but the experience proved more dangerous than anything she imagined. Now, Holly lives in hiding under an assumed name. She avoids relationships and trusts no one. But Holly's new life begins to unravel when she encounters a young mother and her two-year-old child... a child who reminds her of a past she has tried hard to forget. This time, someone is spying on her, and Holly will need to decide how far she is willing to go to survive... 'Tense, gripping and packed with twists' Lucy Clarke, author of YOU LET ME IN 'A psychological thriller and le Carre-esque mash up-really well done' Steve Cavanagh, author of THIRTEEN 'Pacy, compelling and thrilling, with such an original premise' Melanie Golding, author of LITTLE DARLINGS Perfect for fans of Shari Lapena, Lisa Jewell and Fiona Barton.

Second Sister

Second Sister

Author: Claire Kendal Format: Ebook Release Date: 26/09/2017

An obsessive quest to solve the mystery of her older sisters disappearance puts a young woman in mortal jeopardy in this taut, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense from the author of the truly riveting (New York Times) The Book of You. An intoxicating cocktail of loyalty and secrets, lies and betrayal, reminiscent of Rosamund Luptons Sister and Kimberly McCreights Reconstructing Amelia.A decade ago, Ella Brookes older sister, Miranda, vanished without a trace. With every passing year, Ella has come to resemble more closely the sister she lostthe same dark hair, the same piercing blue eyesand now shes the same age Miranda was when she disappeared.Ella has never let go of her sister. She can still feel Mirandas presence, still hear her voice. She still talks to her. What holds Ella together is her love for her sisters ten-year-old son and her work as a self-defense expert helping victims.Ella is certain that Miranda was taken, and that one man is key to her disappearance: Jason Thorne. The tabloids report that a new link has been found connecting Miranda to this sadistic serial killer locked away in a psychiatric hospital. Ignoring warnings from the police and the disapproval of her parents, she seeks Thorne out. Ella will do whatever it takes to uncover the truthno matter how dangerous

The Second Sister

The Second Sister

Author: Claire Kendal Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/05/2017

The chilling psychological thriller from a top ten bestselling author. I'm the sister who got away. The lucky one. Until now. It is ten years since Ella's sister Miranda disappeared without trace, leaving her young baby behind. Chilling new evidence links Miranda to the horrifying Jason Thorne, now in prison for murdering several women. Is it possible that Miranda knew him? At thirty, Miranda's age when she vanished, Ella looks uncannily like the sister she idolized. What holds Ella together is her love for her sister's child and her work as a self-defence expert helping victims. Haunted by the possibility that Thorne took Miranda, and driven by her nephew's longing to know about his mother, Ella will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth - no matter how dangerous...

Second Sister: The exciting new psychological thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Claire Kendal

Second Sister: The exciting new psychological thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Claire Kendal

Author: Claire Kendal Format: Ebook Release Date: 04/05/2017

The chilling new psychological thriller from the author of the top ten bestseller, THE BOOK OF YOU, which was selected for Richard and Judy in 2015. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and DISCLAIMER.It is ten years since Ella's sister Miranda disappeared without trace, leaving her young baby behind. Chilling new evidence links Miranda to the horrifying Jason Thorne, now in prison for murdering several women. Is it possible that Miranda knew him?At thirty, Miranda's age when she vanished, Ella looks uncannily like the sister she idolized. What holds Ella together is her love for her sister's child and her work as a self-defence expert helping victims.Haunted by the possibility that Thorne took Miranda, and driven by her nephew's longing to know about his mother, Ella will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth - no matter how dangerous...

Du bist mein Tod

Du bist mein Tod

Author: Claire Kendal Format: Ebook Release Date: 06/03/2015

Ein Mann, der ihr die Welt zu Fuen legt: der Traum einer jeden Frau. Doch fur Clarissa ist es ein Alptraum. Denn sie will seine Geschenke, seine Blumen, seine Nahe nicht. Nirgends ist sie mehr sicher. Er lauert ihr auf, Tag und Nacht. Aber keiner erkennt die Gefahr, selbst ihre beste Freundin nicht. Fur alle anderen sieht es aus wie die groe Liebe. Was sie auch macht, sie kann sich nicht wehren, er kommt ihr naher und naher. Dann erfahrt sie, dass seine Exfreundin seit Jahren vermisst wird. Clarissa furchtet um ihr Leben. Bis sie endlich zuruckschlagt.

Book of You

Book of You

Author: Claire Kendal Format: Ebook Release Date: 24/04/2014

Sunday Times top ten bestseller and Richard & Judy pick, The Book of You is a terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won't leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there.Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can't be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand.Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them - and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined.

Author Info

Author's Facebook

Find Claire Kendal on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more