Book Series

Rome

Rome : The Coming of the King

Rome : The Coming of the King

Author: M. C. Scott Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/05/2012

June 2012 Book of the Month. The second in an excellent Roman historical series following the adventures of the very real Sebastos Pantera, who in AD 65 was Emperor Nero's most trusted and most effective spy. These books are meticulously researched and bring to life the politics, religion and social history of Roman times with fascinating and intriguing stories. Great read for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

eBooks of the Month
Rome : The Emperor's Spy

Rome : The Emperor's Spy

Author: M. C. Scott Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/05/2012

This is a thrilling race-against-time historical adventure in the bestselling tradition of Conn Iggulden's Emperor series from the author of the bestselling Boudica series. The Emperor's Spy begins a compelling new series of novels (second one is due this summer in hardback) featuring assassin and spy Sebastos Pantera.  Rich characterisation and spine tingling adventure combine in a vividly realised novel set amid the bloodshed and the chaos, the heroism and murderous betrayal of ancient Rome.   Click here to read an excellent piece by MC Scott on her inspiration, Rosemary Sutcliff's The Eagle of the Ninth, for this new series.

eBooks of the Month
Rome: The Eagle Of The Twelfth

Rome: The Eagle Of The Twelfth

Author: Manda Scott Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/03/2013

From the Sunday Times bestselling author Manda Scott, a captivating, stirring and breath-taking historical adventure full of honour, loyalty and bravery. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden. A tale that shines like the Eagle at its heart. I suspect that no one else writes like M. C. Scott. I'm certain plenty wish they could. -- GILES KRISTIAN Enthralling...Gladiator meets Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy in a baroque landscape. -- ROBERT LOWE Compulsive reading -- ***** Reader review Truly consummate, well-written historical fiction -- ***** Reader review *********************************** THEY ARE KNOWN AS THE LEGION OF THE DAMNED... Throughout the Roman Army, the brutal XIIth Legion is notorious for its ill fortune. For one young man, Demalion of Macedon, joining it will be a baptism of fire. And yet, amid all of the violence and savagery of his life as a legionary, he will come to love the Twelfth and the bloody-minded, dark-hearted soldiers he calls his brothers. But during the punishing Judaean campaign, the Hebrew army inflict a catastrophic defeat upon the legion - not only decimating their ranks, but taking away their soul - the eagle. There is just one final chance to save the legion's honour - to steal it back. To do that, Demalion and his legionnaries must go undercover into Jerusalem, into the very heart of their enemy. Recovering their pride is paramount but discovery will mean the worst of deaths...