M. C. Scott - Author

About the Author

M. C. Scott qualified as a veterinary surgeon and taught at the University of Cambridge before turning a lifelong passion for the ancient world into a best-selling writing career.

As well as undertaking research in the University library for this series of novels, Scott is noted for the depth, accuracy and textured depictions of life in Roman times - and has spent weeks living in a roundhouse, has learned to make Roman swords and driven horses in harness the better to bring the detail to life. As Chair of the newly formed Historical Writers' Association, Scott is active in the promotion of all forms of historical writing.

 

For more information on M C Scott and the Rome series of novels, please visit: www.mcscott.co.uk

Featured books by M. C. Scott

Rome: The Art of War

Rome: The Art of War

Author: M. C. Scott Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/04/2014

Rome: AD69, The Year of the Four Emperors. Three Emperors have ruled in Rome this year and a fourth, Vespasian, has been named in the East. As the legions march toward civil war, Sebastos Pantera, the spy whose name means leopard, returns to Rome intent on bribery, blackmail and persuasion: whatever it takes to bring the commanders and their men to Vespasian's side. But in Rome, as he uses every skill he has ever learned of subterfuge, codes and camouflage, it becomes clear that one of those closest to him is a traitor, who will let Rome fall to destroy him. Together the two spies spin a web of deceit with Rome as the prize and death the only escape.

eBooks of the Month
Rome : The Emperor's Spy

Rome : The Emperor's Spy

Author: M. C. Scott Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/05/2012

This is a thrilling race-against-time historical adventure in the bestselling tradition of Conn Iggulden's Emperor series from the author of the bestselling Boudica series. The Emperor's Spy begins a compelling new series of novels (second one is due this summer in hardback) featuring assassin and spy Sebastos Pantera.  Rich characterisation and spine tingling adventure combine in a vividly realised novel set amid the bloodshed and the chaos, the heroism and murderous betrayal of ancient Rome.   Click here to read an excellent piece by MC Scott on her inspiration, Rosemary Sutcliff's The Eagle of the Ninth, for this new series.

eBooks of the Month
Rome : The Coming of the King

Rome : The Coming of the King

Author: M. C. Scott Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/05/2012

June 2012 Book of the Month. The second in an excellent Roman historical series following the adventures of the very real Sebastos Pantera, who in AD 65 was Emperor Nero's most trusted and most effective spy. These books are meticulously researched and bring to life the politics, religion and social history of Roman times with fascinating and intriguing stories. Great read for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

eBooks of the Month
Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth

Rome : The Eagle of the Twelfth

Author: M. C. Scott Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/05/2012

June 2012 Book of the Month. M. C. Scott makes these ancient landscapes jump off the page, with bold and brutal storylines inhabited by touchingly real and compelling characters. After a particularly bloody and catastrophic defeat, the ill-fortuned Twelfth Legion loses its treasured eagle. It is up to Demalion of Macedon and his most trusted legionnaires to risk everything in the fight to get it, and their honour, back. Great read for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

Books of the Month