Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

LoveReading Ambassador - Editorial Expert

Latest Reviews By LoveReading Ambassador

Towards the Vanishing Point
Set in 1938, Lily Heatherington and Stella Marsden meet as children and form a close bond. Through their wartime experiences, the two characters' friendship endures into their adulthood. It is this friendship that forms the strong running thread throughout the book. It's great to see how the pair become friends and then how their friendship forms the basis of this dramatic story about love, drama and betrayal. In later life, Stella and Lily work in the same hospital. Lily meets Will Bagshaw, a male nurse surrounded by rumours. Stella tries to warn Lily off, and their long-standing friendship is at risk.&... View Full Review
With Dark Understandings
What a political drama! I hear you say that with Brexit, we have had enough of those! However, regardless of whether you actually like politics, this is a read you cannot miss in 2020.  With Dark Understandings is written by an author with a wealth of experience on which to base his writing. He has worked with Wall Street, United Nations Development Program (UNDP) and International Business Machines (IBM). He has also advised on economic and technology projects specific to Afghanistan, so he certainly knows his stuff.  The book is based on the author's experiences. With Dark Understandings is ... View Full Review
In the Shadow of Rome
A well-researched historical fiction novel.  In the Shadow of Rome is set in Caledonia (Scotland) and tells the story of the native Caledonians trying to exist within the new occupying Roman empire. As with any tale of colonisation, this is sometimes peaceful, sometimes not.  The conflict between Sigdan, a native of Scandanavia rewarded for his fierceness in battle with a rank, and Vespasian, an incompetent Roman officer adds an interesting dimension of jealousy and power to the story. We also see Sigdan's relationship with Giorsal, an apothecary who lives near the fort and is pregnant with his child. ... View Full Review
Down Among the Muddy Hearts and Swamp Roses
A murderous tale with chicken fry-ups, a '66 Chevy Nova, humour and mysterious characters. In the south of the USA, in a Mississippi town called Greenwood, Emmaline is missing. It's down to Ms Felicity Graves, a retired English headmistress to find her. Determined and brilliantly fun to go on this adventure with, Felicity Graves finds an unlikely companion in a tour guide, Willie Cato. Through their travels in the quest for clues to the whereabouts of Emmaline, there are dark secrets trying to stay hidden by dark and mysterious characters that do all they can to thwart the searching duo. ... View Full Review
Nobby's Diary
I am well aware of homeless people in Britain and donate to Shelter as you can see the plight of homelessness has gone on too long. I have come across a book such as a Street Cat Named Bob which concerned homeless people but to be honest I am not sure just how many are out there. London 35 years ago the newspaper industry is changing and moving out of the famous Fleet Street area. Tradition is ending, but what about the people who relied on the warmth of the buildings at night as the papers rolled off the press - ... View Full Review
The Concordat
This was a great crime story incorporating what seems like a bad mix of politics and religion in a way that worked really well. I found The Concordat a fast-paced crime story that whisks the reader away, taking the reader through Italy, Germany, Russia. The main plot of this book is set around the discovery of the 1939 Concordat (an agreement or treaty, especially one between the Vatican and a secular government relating to matters of mutual interest.) which was between the Nazi regime and the Vatican. As I read I felt that the author has researched the history well and ... View Full Review
She Smiled
An interesting opening to a story about a young woman looking for happiness. This book starts in a therapy style setting and Chloe is asked to recall her life, a job more easily done in the third person. Thus begins an introduction to Chloe's story. Chloe's early life was fraught, with serious illness and the after-effects including jealousy displayed by her elder sister.  This book only tells part of the story, taking you from Chloe's early life to university. Her faith is tested throughout, and although she seemingly makes lots of friends, finding love proves a struggle. I admired ... View Full Review
What if eternal life was an option? What would this look like? And what if you have done some really bad stuff could you transfer to another body? This is the exciting premise of Transference. The main character, Barrabas claims that this is exactly what happened while facing execution. He states someone else was responsible for the crimes thought to be committed by him! Is this man telling the truth, has he undergone transference? Is he who the authorities think he is? Thus begins a rollercoaster ride, leaving you questioning everything. The journey that Transference takes makes this a compelling ... View Full Review
Three Kingdoms
When I first started reading I was worried, as this was Book 10 in the series I thought I would need to have read Books 1-9 before I would understand and enjoy the plot. How wrong I was! Three Kingdoms works very well as a standalone book. Gabriel Wolfe is an ex-SAS hero suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. In civilian life, he is haunted by the memories of his military life. Gabriel's family and friends come first in his life and Three Kingdoms focuses on Gabriel looking for his sister. This is an action-packed spy plot. There are lots of twists ... View Full Review
Great Sex Starts At 50
This book should be read by everyone over 50! It's full of straightforward advice not only just about getting older but actually celebrating the fact. The book is written in an easy to read and no-nonsense style with many helpful and reassuring pieces of advice. A great book to give anyone turning 50, male or female. Christine Waddington, A LoveReading Ambassador View Full Review
Noema is a poignant imaginative tale of religion and faith. In truth, I find it a peculiar book to put into words. The plot focuses on the adaptation and evolution of an agricultural civilisation trying to deal with natural and man-made threats similar to that of modern times (hunger, deforestation, climate change and criminality). These parallels are a great tool for the reader to reflect on their own world while also following along with the story. The book begins with a rather obscure introduction and a tale that the narrator will get to as soon as they can. I found ... View Full Review
Living Well with Longterm Conditions
What a wonderfully helpful book for anyone with any of the long term health conditions listed in this book. I have many of these conditions. It is done very simply and in a very simple easy language to understand. “TEAM” is mentioned which means “Together We Achieve More”, which is so true. They have included many illustrations to describe what each statement is about. I really found the “Motivational Interview” page great. I am a volunteer tutor for “Self Care Management Program” which teaches patients how to live and deal with long ... View Full Review