twitter likeyoulove
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow
  

The Forgotten Seamstress

Family Drama   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

Two ages linked by a beautiful patchwork quilt made of very special pieces of silk. The present day woman, Caroline, intrigued by the material, delves back into her grandmother’s past and unearths a tale of great joy and sadness, of a young girl who is taken to work at Buckingham Palace, catches the eye of the Prince of Wales and is abandoned as World War I breaks out. There are then several twists as the story reaches into the present and the mystery unfolds. This is a sweeping, historical novel full of incident and colour, a lovely, lovely read.

If you like Liz Trenow you might also like to read books by Rosie Alison, Lucinda Riley and Judith Lennox.

Synopsis

The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow

A stunning novel set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace. Full of drama, betrayal and addictive real-life detail - The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Joanne Harris. It is 1914 and Maria, a shy teenager, is appointed to Buckingham Palace as a seamstress for the royal family. She is lucky enough to meet the Prince of Wales and is captivated by his glamour and intensity. But theirs is a doomed love affair and soon Maria's life takes a tragic turn. Torn between passion and integrity, she makes a choice that has devastating consequences ...Can a beautiful quilt, discovered many years later reveal the truth behind what happened to Maria?

Reviews

Praise for Liz Trenow: 'Extraordinary, fascinating ...deeply rooted in history
Midweek, Radio 4

'An assured debut with a page-turning conclusion.'
Daily Express

'A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free ... Splendid.'
Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant

's Girl 'This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating ... Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour.'
Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

About the Author

Liz Trenow

Liz Trenow worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th January 2014

Author

Liz Trenow

More books by Liz Trenow
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

liztrenow.com/

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Family Drama
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007480845

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools