The Forgotten Seamstress

by Liz Trenow

eBooks of the Month Family Drama

The Forgotten Seamstress Synopsis

A stunning novel set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace. Full of drama, betrayal and addictive real-life detail - The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Joanne Harris. It is 1914 and Maria, a shy teenager, is appointed to Buckingham Palace as a seamstress for the royal family. She is lucky enough to meet the Prince of Wales and is captivated by his glamour and intensity. But theirs is a doomed love affair and soon Maria's life takes a tragic turn. Torn between passion and integrity, she makes a choice that has devastating consequences ...Can a beautiful quilt, discovered many years later reveal the truth behind what happened to Maria?

The Forgotten Seamstress Press Reviews

Praise for Liz Trenow: 'Extraordinary, fascinating ...deeply rooted in history
Midweek, Radio 4

'An assured debut with a page-turning conclusion.'
Daily Express

'A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free ... Splendid.'
Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant

's Girl 'This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating ... Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour.'
Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

If you loved this, you might like these...

You Left Early
The Pearl Sister
The Orphan's Tale
The Lake House

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007480845
Publication date: 16/01/2014
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007480845
Publication date: 16th January 2014
Author: Liz Trenow
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Liz Trenow

Liz Trenow worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

More About Liz Trenow

More Books By Liz Trenow

Cover for The Poppy Factory by Liz Trenow
Cover for The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow
View All Books By Liz Trenow

Share this book