Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

join us on facebook twitter
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow
  

The Forgotten Seamstress

Family Drama   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

Two ages linked by a beautiful patchwork quilt made of very special pieces of silk. The present day woman, Caroline, intrigued by the material, delves back into her grandmother’s past and unearths a tale of great joy and sadness, of a young girl who is taken to work at Buckingham Palace, catches the eye of the Prince of Wales and is abandoned as World War I breaks out. There are then several twists as the story reaches into the present and the mystery unfolds. This is a sweeping, historical novel full of incident and colour, a lovely, lovely read.

If you like Liz Trenow you might also like to read books by Kate Morton, Lucinda Riley and Pam Jenoff.

Synopsis

The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow

A stunning novel set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace. Full of drama, betrayal and addictive real-life detail - The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Joanne Harris. It is 1914 and Maria, a shy teenager, is appointed to Buckingham Palace as a seamstress for the royal family. She is lucky enough to meet the Prince of Wales and is captivated by his glamour and intensity. But theirs is a doomed love affair and soon Maria's life takes a tragic turn. Torn between passion and integrity, she makes a choice that has devastating consequences ...Can a beautiful quilt, discovered many years later reveal the truth behind what happened to Maria?

Reviews

Praise for Liz Trenow: 'Extraordinary, fascinating ...deeply rooted in history
Midweek, Radio 4

'An assured debut with a page-turning conclusion.'
Daily Express

'A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free ... Splendid.'
Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant

's Girl 'This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating ... Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour.'
Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

About the Author

Liz Trenow

Liz Trenow worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th January 2014

Author

Liz Trenow

More books by Liz Trenow
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

liztrenow.com/

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007480845

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools