Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Blood and Ice

by Liz Lochhead

Blood and Ice Synopsis

Summer 1816. A house party on the shores of Lake Geneva. Mary Shelley and her lover Percy Bysshe Shelley, along with Mary's half-sister Claire and the infamous Lord Byron, take part in a challenge to see who can write the most horrifying story. Mary creates one of the most celebrated Gothic novels of all time, but how did this monstrous horror flow from the pen of a 21-year-old English woman? First staged in 1984 and revived several times since, Liz Lochhead tells the story of Frankenstein's creation as if set in a ghostly nursery. Using flashbacks and the rich poetic language for which she has become admired, Lochhead weaves a spider's web of connections between Mary's own tragic life and that of her literary monster.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781848420618
Publication date: 25th August 2009
Author: Liz Lochhead
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 72 pages
Categories: Plays, playscripts,

About Liz Lochhead

LIZ LOCHHEAD, born in North Lanark in 1947, attended Glasgow School of Art before becoming a poet, playwright and broadcaster. Her most successful plays include Mary Queen of Scots Got Her Head Chopped Off (recently republished by NHB), Perfect Days (about a woman approaching 40) and Good Things (about a woman approaching 50). She is now writing a play about a woman approaching 60 for the National Theatre of Scotland. She has adapted three of Moliere's comedies and two Greek tragedies, Thebans and Medea, which won the Scottish Book of the Year Award in 2001. She lives in Glasgow.

More About Liz Lochhead

More Books By Liz Lochhead

Cover for Mary Queen of Scots Got Her Head Chopped Off by Liz Lochhead
View All Books By Liz Lochhead

Share this book