LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Switch

by Beth O'Leary

The Switch Synopsis

'SO CHARMING, SO SWEET AND SO LOVELY' MARIAN KEYES Leena is too young to feel stuck. Eileen is too old to start over. Maybe it's time for The Switch... Ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, Leena escapes to her grandmother Eileen's house for some overdue rest. Newly single and about to turn eighty, Eileen would like a second chance at love. But her tiny Yorkshire village doesn't offer many eligible gentlemen... So Leena proposes a solution: a two-month swap. Eileen can live in London and look for love, and L Leena will look after everything in rural Yorkshire. But with a rabble of unruly OAPs to contend with, as well as the annoyingly perfect - and distractingly handsome - local schoolteacher, Leena learns that switching lives isn't straightforward. Back in London, Eileen is a huge hit with her new neighbours, and with the online dating scene. But is her perfect match nearer to home than she first thought?

The Switch Press Reviews

A warm, witty, weepy read * Female First * Author of The Flatshare, O'Leary brings us another read that feels like a warm hug. Another triumph of a novel * Woman's Weekly * I'm not going to beat around the bush here, I adored The Switch * Daily Record * A lovely, heart-warming read * Best * Emotionally absorbing, witty and bursting with warmth - a treat for fans of Marian Keyes and Jill Mansell * Daily Express * A charming, uplifting read * Daily Mirror * Fun, heart-warming and brimming with hope. Eileen and her zest for life will inspire you long after the last page * heat * blissful escapism from our current isolated reality * Daily Mail * The heart-warming story we all need right now * Bella * Utterly charming, this uplifting book is guaranteed to be another outstanding success * Hot Brands, Cool Places * We laughed, we cried and we loved it! * Fabulous Magazine * a lovely comedy with a special message * Sunday Post Dundee * ingenious plot * Prima * A sparkling romantic read with characters that leap off the page. It's another triumph for this talented writer * Woman & Home * You'll find yourself rooting for the main characters, especially Eileen, the real star of this cheerful novel. A perfect tonic for anxious times * The People * This sparky, upbeat romcom balances riffs on the generation gap with heavier topics including grief and infidelity * Mail on Sunday * This delicious slice of feelgood fiction is a real tonic * Sunday Mirror * Utterly charming and uplifting, The Switch is bursting with love and warmth and humour. Another wonderful book from Beth O'Leary * LOUISE O'NEILL, author of AFTER THE SILENCE * O'Leary does it again! The Switch is a warm, funny and feisty tale of generational location swapping that will have you laughing and tearing up in equal measure. Populated by a cast of characters you'll wish you knew in real life. It's an absolute joy from beginning to end * MIKE GAYLE, author of Half a World Away * Heartwarming and uplifting. Everyone should have an Eileen in their life! * Heidi Swain, SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of THE CHRISTMAS WISH LIST * Beth O'Leary has absolutely smashed it out of the park with The Switch. Brilliant, warm, funny, full of heart. Completely loved it! * Richard Roper, author of Something to Live For * I am blown away. I didn't think Beth could top The Flatshare but she has. It sparkles with wit, warmth and compassion. It deserves to be huge! * Gillian McAllister, bestselling author of The Evidence Against You * Eileen Cotton proves you don't have to be in your thirties to be Bridget Jones. A triumph of a second novel * Anstey Harris, author of Richard & Judy Book Club pick THE TRUTHS AND TRIUMPHS OF GRACE ATHERTON * Beth has done it again! Warm, witty, and a cast of characters I wish I was friends with - I truly loved it! * Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781787474994
Publication date: 16th April 2020
Author: Beth O'Leary
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 336 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Adult & contemporary romance,

About Beth O'Leary

Beth studied English at university before going into children's publishing. She lives as close to the countryside as she can get while still being in reach of London, and wrote her first novel, The Flatshare, on her train journey to and from work. She is now writing novels full time, and if she's not at her desk, you'll usually find her curled up somewhere with a book, a cup of tea, and several woolly jumpers (whatever the weather).

More About Beth O'Leary

More Books By Beth O'Leary

Cover for The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary
Cover for The Switch by Beth O'Leary
Cover for The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary
View All Books By Beth O'Leary

Share this book