LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Switch

by Beth O'Leary

Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Switch

I adored Beth O'Leary's debut, The Flatshareand as soon as I'd finished reading I knew I needed to pick up The Switch.

Grandmother and grandaughter Eileen and Leena are both looking for a way to swtich things up in their lives. Eileen is newly single at 80 and struggling to find new love in her tiny Yorkshire Village. While Leena is looking to escape the rush of London and take some time to rest after a disasterous work presentation.

This is a light and lovely tale on the surface, while softly touching on  some darker topics. With a vibrant supporting cast, plenty of scope for things to go wrong, good humour and tender moments of reconcilliation and revelation. This book is gorgeous. 

Charlotte Walker

The Switch Synopsis

Leena is too young to feel stuck.

Eileen is too old to start over.

Maybe it's time for The Switch...

Ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, Leena escapes to her grandmother Eileen's house for some overdue rest. Newly single and about to turn eighty, Eileen would like a second chance at love. But her tiny Yorkshire village doesn't offer many eligible gentlemen... So Leena proposes a solution: a two-month swap. Eileen can live in London and look for love, and L Leena will look after everything in rural Yorkshire.

But with a rabble of unruly OAPs to contend with, as well as the annoyingly perfect - and distractingly handsome - local schoolteacher, Leena learns that switching lives isn't straightforward. Back in London, Eileen is a huge hit with her new neighbours, and with the online dating scene. But is her perfect match nearer to home than she first thought?

The Switch Press Reviews

A warm, witty, weepy read - Female First

Author of The Flatshare, O'Leary brings us another read that feels like a warm hug. Another triumph of a novel - Woman's Weekly

I'm not going to beat around the bush here, I adored The Switch - Daily Record

A lovely, heart-warming read - Best

Emotionally absorbing, witty and bursting with warmth - a treat for fans of Marian Keyes and Jill Mansell - Daily Express

A charming, uplifting read - Daily Mirror

Fun, heart-warming and brimming with hope. Eileen and her zest for life will inspire you long after the last page - heat

blissful escapism from our current isolated reality - Daily Mail

The heart-warming story we all need right now - Bella

Utterly charming, this uplifting book is guaranteed to be another outstanding success - Hot Brands, Cool Places

We laughed, we cried and we loved it! - Fabulous Magazine

a lovely comedy with a special message - Sunday Post Dundee

ingenious plot - Prima

A sparkling romantic read with characters that leap off the page. It's another triumph for this talented writer - Woman & Home

You'll find yourself rooting for the main characters, especially Eileen, the real star of this cheerful novel. A perfect tonic for anxious times - The People

This sparky, upbeat romcom balances riffs on the generation gap with heavier topics including grief and infidelity - Mail on Sunday

This delicious slice of feelgood fiction is a real tonic - Sunday Mirror

Utterly charming and uplifting, The Switch is bursting with love and warmth and humour. Another wonderful book from Beth O'Leary - LOUISE O'NEILL, author of AFTER THE SILENCE

O'Leary does it again! The Switch is a warm, funny and feisty tale of generational location swapping that will have you laughing and tearing up in equal measure. Populated by a cast of characters you'll wish you knew in real life. It's an absolute joy from beginning to end - MIKE GAYLE, author of Half a World Away

An utterly gorgeous, beautiful book, full of feeling ... a heart-warming reminder about the importance of always keeping our hearts (and minds) open. - Lindsey Kelk

Heartwarming and uplifting. Everyone should have an Eileen in their life! - Heidi Swain, SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of THE CHRISTMAS WISH LIST

Beth O'Leary has absolutely smashed it out of the park with The Switch. Brilliant, warm, funny, full of heart. Completely loved it! - Richard Roper, author of Something to Live For

I am blown away. I didn't think Beth could top The Flatshare but she has. It sparkles with wit, warmth and compassion. It deserves to be huge! - Gillian McAllister, bestselling author of The Evidence Against You

Eileen Cotton proves you don't have to be in your thirties to be Bridget Jones. A triumph of a second novel - Anstey Harris, author of Richard & Judy Book Club pick THE TRUTHS AND TRIUMPHS OF GRACE ATHERTON

Beth has done it again! Warm, witty, and a cast of characters I wish I was friends with - I truly loved it! - Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop

If you loved this, you might like these...

Just Like You
The Summer Job
Five Hundred Miles
The Wedding Dress

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781787474994
Publication date: 16/04/2020
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781787474994
Publication date: 16th April 2020
Author: Beth O'Leary
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 336 pages
Genres: Relationship Stories,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Adult & contemporary romance,

About Beth O'Leary

Beth studied English at university before going into children's publishing. She lives as close to the countryside as she can get while still being in reach of London, and wrote her first novel, The Flatshare, on her train journey to and from work. She is now writing novels full time, and if she's not at her desk, you'll usually find her curled up somewhere with a book, a cup of tea, and several woolly jumpers (whatever the weather).

More About Beth O'Leary

More Books By Beth O'Leary

Cover for The Road Trip by Beth O'Leary
Cover for The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary
Cover for The Road Trip  by Beth O'Leary
View All Books By Beth O'Leary

Share this book