Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Crooked Branch

by Jeanine Cummins

The Crooked Branch Synopsis

'Rich and intricately drawn... luminous prose' Carolyn Parkhurst After the birth of her daughter Emma, the usually resilient Majella finds herself feeling isolated and exhausted. Then, at her childhood home, Majella discovers the diary of her maternal ancestor Ginny, and is shocked to read a story of murder in her family history. With the famine upon her, Ginny Doyle fled from Ireland to America, but not all of her family made it. What happened during those harrowing years, and why does Ginny call herself a killer? Is Majella genetically fated to be a bad mother, despite the fierce tenderness she feels for her baby? Determined to uncover the truth of her heritage and her own identity, Majella sets out to explore Ginny's past - and discovers surprising truths about her family and ultimately, herself.

The Crooked Branch Press Reviews

Wonderfully written, with strong, compelling characters, it is a deeply satisfying combination of sweeping historical saga and modern family drama, a gentle reminder of the ever-reaching influence of family, both near and far - Booklist This extraordinary novel reminds us how motherhood can make us feel as though we are coming undone while also being remade. Majella and Ginny navigate motherhood with a fierce love that propels the story forward with intense strength. Brilliant, vulnerable and intense, The Crooked Branch pierced my heart and paused my breath

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472272850
Publication date: 20th October 2020
Author: Jeanine Cummins
Publisher: Tinder Press an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 384 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Historical fiction,

About Jeanine Cummins

Jeanine Cummins is the author of three novels, AMERICAN DIRT, THE OUTSIDE BOY and THE CROOKED BRANCH, and a true crime book, A RIP IN HEAVEN. She lives in New York with her husband and two children.

More About Jeanine Cummins

More Books By Jeanine Cummins

Cover for American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins
Cover for The Outside Boy by Jeanine Cummins
Cover for American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins
View All Books By Jeanine Cummins

Share this book