LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Do Not Feed the Bear

by Rachel Elliott

Do Not Feed the Bear Synopsis

'Beguiling and astute' Sarah Winman 'Astoundingly good' Deborah Moggach 'Wonderfully redemptive' Sarah Haywood 'I was delighted and surprised by this textured, fascinating and most moving book' Chris Ware A life-affirming novel about broken but loving families, people making mistakes but doing their best, grief and getting stuck - for readers of ELEANOR OLIPHANT and THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP On her forty-seventh birthday, Sydney Smith stands on a rooftop and prepares to jump... Sydney is a cartoonist and freerunner. Feet constantly twitching, always teetering on the edge of life, she's never come to terms with the event that ripped her family apart when she was ten years old. And so, on a birthday that she doesn't want to celebrate, she returns alone to St Ives to face up to her guilt and grief. It's a trip that turns out to be life-changing - and not only for herself. DO NOT FEED THE BEAR is a book about lives not yet lived, about the kindness of others and about how, when our worlds stop, we find a way to keep on moving. Readers love Do Not Feed the Bear: 'I loved each and every moment of this book and feel bereft it has come to an end' 'Obsessed with how beautiful this book is! Keep flicking back to reread some passages as love them so much! What a treat of a book' 'Wow, what a joyous and hope-inducing read' 'I can't put it down - it's funny and tender and clever and I love it' 'It might break your heart a little bit first, but eventually it will put it back together and wrap it in a comforting snuggly blanket' 'Rich in poignant emotion and a truly mesmerising and addictive read' 'Swept me up into its pages; a book that I wanted to hug and cherish all the time I was reading' 'It's not just a book I read and reviewed. It's a book that read and reviewed me' 'If you're looking for a story that will make you smile by turns, be heart-lifting and heart-wrenching in a variety of ways but remain entirely beautiful for its honest look at life, then this is the book for you' 'Surprising, authentic and powerful, this book defies categorisation' 'Rachel Elliott has achieved something remarkable in this story of loss, regret and disappointment: she has created a tender, hopeful and uplifting novel, which I feel certain many readers will fall in love with'

Do Not Feed the Bear Press Reviews

Utterly uplifting and a warm reminder that people are here to help * Stylist * [An] ingenious, funny novel... Sad, wise and upbeat by turns' * Daily Mail * A perfect read for fans of ELEANOR OLIPHANT and THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP * Woman's Way * I was delighted and surprised by this textured, fascinating and most moving book * Chris Ware * Rachel Elliott is such a beguiling and astute storyteller * Sarah Winman * An astonishingly good novel about grief and its shadowy partner, guilt. Mysterious, uplifting, and often very funny, it had me totally gripped from start to finish * Deborah Moggach * Beautifully written, Elliott's unique, mesmerising voice effortlessly draws you in * Woman & Home * A moving and gently humorous portrait of loss, grief and finding a way through...Wonderfully redemptive -- Sarah Haywood, author of THE CACTUS There is love and pain and such humour. The author is a psychotherapist with the key to the human heart * Saga * A slow-burn, quirky, rewarding story about a group of bereft people (and dogs) who find each other in unexpected ways * Julie Cohen * A beautifully poignant tale about loss, love, compassion, and being kind to people whose stories and struggles - in the past and present - are overlooked * Culturefly * An uplifting and heart-warming tale about love, loss and moving on, and the importance of being kind to each other - and ourselves * Heat * I was delighted and surprised by this textured, fascinating and most moving book * Chris Ware *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472259424
Publication date: 30th April 2020
Author: Rachel Elliott
Publisher: Tinder Press an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 368 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Rachel Elliott

Rachel Elliott is the author of WHISPERS THROUGH A MEGAPHONE (Pushkin Press), long-listed for the Bailey's Women's Prize in 2016 and DO NOT FEED THE BEAR (2019, Tinder Press). She is also a psychotherapist.

More About Rachel Elliott

More Books By Rachel Elliott

Cover for Whispers Through a Megaphone by Rachel Elliott
Cover for Whispers Through a Megaphone by Rachel Elliott
Cover for Do Not Feed the Bear by Rachel Elliott
View All Books By Rachel Elliott

Share this book