join us on facebook
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Dirty Little Secret by Jon Stock
  

Lovereading view...

For fans of Bond and Bourne, the third instalment of the pulse-pounding Daniel Marchant spy series. In a high octane thriller set in Britain, France, Russia and Morocco, Marchant wrestles with his conscience and his love for Lakshmi Meena, a beautiful CIA officer with her own secret. Does loyalty to one's country come above all else, whatever the price? Or are some relationships too special to ignore?

If you like Jon Stock you might also like to read books by Charles Cumming, Robert Ludlum and John le Carre.

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

Dirty Little Secret by Jon Stock

The special relationship between London and Washington is in tatters. Salim Dhar, the world's most wanted terrorist, has disappeared after an audacious attack on an American target in the UK. The CIA believes Daniel Marchant, renegade MI6 officer, was involved. But Marchant has a bigger secret: Dhar has agreed to work for MI6, promising to protect the UK from future terrorist atrocities. He has also asked for something in return: Marchant must help him with a final strike against America. Should Britain sign up to this Faustian pact or hunt them both down? Intelligence chiefs are divided - and one of them is working for Moscow.

Reviews

Reviews for Dead Spy Running:

'A rip-roaring race of a read that never lets up until the finishing tape - and a bit beyond.' Robert Goddard

'As elegant as Le Carre and as cynical as the twenty-first century ... exactly what we need from a spy novel now.' Lee Child

'A Jason Bourne sweat-fest with George Smiley's brain' Daily Telegraph

'An elegant, unstoppable front runner of a spy thriller' - The Observer

'Its deliciously John Buchan-like hero could be chasing the 39 steps' Daily Mail

About the Author

Jon Stock is currently Weekend editor of the Telegraph. He is the author of two novels, 'The Riot Act' and the 'Cardamom Club', and is also a columnist with The Week magazine in India. He lives in Wiltshire with his wife and three young children.

After reading English at Cambridge University, he worked as a freelance journalist in London, writing features for most of Britain's national newspapers, as well as contributing regularly to BBC Radio 4. He was also chosen for Carlton TV's acclaimed scriptwriters course. Between 1998 and 2000, he was Delhi correspondent for the Daily Telegraph. On his return to Britain, he worked on various Saturday sections of the paper before taking up a staff job as editor of Weekend in 2005. He has been writing the Last Word column in The Week since he lived in Cochin, South India in 1995.

'The Riot Act', published by Serpent's Tail, was launched on the 50th floor of Canary Wharf tower. The book was shortlisted by the Crime Writers' Association for its best first novel award and was subsequently published by Gallimard in France as part of its acclaimed Serie Noir. The 'Cardamom Club' was published by Blackamber (now Arcadia Books) in Britain and by Penguin in India. Both were spy novels.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2013

Author

Jon Stock

More books by Jon Stock
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.gamestraitorsplay.com/S...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Espionage & spy thriller

ISBN

9780007300778

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools