book price comparison likeyoulove desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Dirty Little Secret by Jon Stock
  

Lovereading view...

For fans of Bond and Bourne, the third instalment of the pulse-pounding Daniel Marchant spy series. In a high octane thriller set in Britain, France, Russia and Morocco, Marchant wrestles with his conscience and his love for Lakshmi Meena, a beautiful CIA officer with her own secret. Does loyalty to one's country come above all else, whatever the price? Or are some relationships too special to ignore?

If you like Jon Stock you might also like to read books by Charles Cumming, Robert Ludlum and John le Carre.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Dirty Little Secret by Jon Stock

The special relationship between London and Washington is in tatters. Salim Dhar, the world's most wanted terrorist, has disappeared after an audacious attack on an American target in the UK. The CIA believes Daniel Marchant, renegade MI6 officer, was involved. But Marchant has a bigger secret: Dhar has agreed to work for MI6, promising to protect the UK from future terrorist atrocities. He has also asked for something in return: Marchant must help him with a final strike against America. Should Britain sign up to this Faustian pact or hunt them both down? Intelligence chiefs are divided - and one of them is working for Moscow.

Reviews

Reviews for Dead Spy Running:

'A rip-roaring race of a read that never lets up until the finishing tape - and a bit beyond.' Robert Goddard

'As elegant as Le Carre and as cynical as the twenty-first century ... exactly what we need from a spy novel now.' Lee Child

'A Jason Bourne sweat-fest with George Smiley's brain' Daily Telegraph

'An elegant, unstoppable front runner of a spy thriller' - The Observer

'Its deliciously John Buchan-like hero could be chasing the 39 steps' Daily Mail

About the Author

Jon Stock is currently Weekend editor of the Telegraph. He is the author of two novels, 'The Riot Act' and the 'Cardamom Club', and is also a columnist with The Week magazine in India. He lives in Wiltshire with his wife and three young children.

After reading English at Cambridge University, he worked as a freelance journalist in London, writing features for most of Britain's national newspapers, as well as contributing regularly to BBC Radio 4. He was also chosen for Carlton TV's acclaimed scriptwriters course. Between 1998 and 2000, he was Delhi correspondent for the Daily Telegraph. On his return to Britain, he worked on various Saturday sections of the paper before taking up a staff job as editor of Weekend in 2005. He has been writing the Last Word column in The Week since he lived in Cochin, South India in 1995.

'The Riot Act', published by Serpent's Tail, was launched on the 50th floor of Canary Wharf tower. The book was shortlisted by the Crime Writers' Association for its best first novel award and was subsequently published by Gallimard in France as part of its acclaimed Serie Noir. The 'Cardamom Club' was published by Blackamber (now Arcadia Books) in Britain and by Penguin in India. Both were spy novels.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2013

Author

Jon Stock

More books by Jon Stock
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.gamestraitorsplay.com/S...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
Thriller / Suspense
Books for the Boys
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Espionage & spy thriller

ISBN

9780007300778

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools