newgen books for YA readers debuts of the month book price comparison
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Jon Stock Book and Novel

Jon Stock - Author


Jon Stock is currently Weekend editor of the Telegraph. He is the author of two novels, 'The Riot Act' and the 'Cardamom Club', and is also a columnist with The Week magazine in India. He lives in Wiltshire with his wife and three young children.

After reading English at Cambridge University, he worked as a freelance journalist in London, writing features for most of Britain's national newspapers, as well as contributing regularly to BBC Radio 4. He was also chosen for Carlton TV's acclaimed scriptwriters course. Between 1998 and 2000, he was Delhi correspondent for the Daily Telegraph. On his return to Britain, he worked on various Saturday sections of the paper before taking up a staff job as editor of Weekend in 2005. He has been writing the Last Word column in The Week since he lived in Cochin, South India in 1995.

'The Riot Act', published by Serpent's Tail, was launched on the 50th floor of Canary Wharf tower. The book was shortlisted by the Crime Writers' Association for its best first novel award and was subsequently published by Gallimard in France as part of its acclaimed Serie Noir. The 'Cardamom Club' was published by Blackamber (now Arcadia Books) in Britain and by Penguin in India. Both were spy novels.

If you like Jon Stock you might also like to read books by John le Carre, Charles Cumming and Robert Ludlum.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Jon Stock

Dirty Little Secret by Jon Stock
Dirty Little Secret
Jon Stock
For fans of Bond and Bourne, the third instalment of the pulse-pounding Daniel Marchant spy series. In a high octane thriller set in Britain, France, Russia and Morocco, Marchant wrestles with his conscience and his love for Lakshmi Meena, a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/08/2013
Dead Spy Running by Jon Stock
Dead Spy Running
Jon Stock
January 2010 Book of the Month. Daniel, the son of a disgraced MI5 chief and himself an MI5 operative, is about to fall foul of the same fate that befell...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/01/2010
Dead Spy Running by Jon Stock
Dead Spy Running
Jon Stock
This is billed as the first in a trilogy but Daniel Marchant is such a charismatic character surely there will be more to come after that? The book opens with Daniel, a suspended MI6 officer, and his girlfriend running the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 25/06/2009

Loading other books by Jon Stock...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.gamestraitorsplay.com/S...
Loading twitter updates...

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Jon Stock and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools