win prizes
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Jon Stock Book and Novel

Jon Stock - Author


Jon Stock is currently Weekend editor of the Telegraph. He is the author of two novels, 'The Riot Act' and the 'Cardamom Club', and is also a columnist with The Week magazine in India. He lives in Wiltshire with his wife and three young children.

After reading English at Cambridge University, he worked as a freelance journalist in London, writing features for most of Britain's national newspapers, as well as contributing regularly to BBC Radio 4. He was also chosen for Carlton TV's acclaimed scriptwriters course. Between 1998 and 2000, he was Delhi correspondent for the Daily Telegraph. On his return to Britain, he worked on various Saturday sections of the paper before taking up a staff job as editor of Weekend in 2005. He has been writing the Last Word column in The Week since he lived in Cochin, South India in 1995.

'The Riot Act', published by Serpent's Tail, was launched on the 50th floor of Canary Wharf tower. The book was shortlisted by the Crime Writers' Association for its best first novel award and was subsequently published by Gallimard in France as part of its acclaimed Serie Noir. The 'Cardamom Club' was published by Blackamber (now Arcadia Books) in Britain and by Penguin in India. Both were spy novels.

If you like Jon Stock you might also like to read books by Robert Ludlum, Charles Cumming and John le Carre.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Jon Stock

Dirty Little Secret by Jon Stock
Dirty Little Secret
Jon Stock
For fans of Bond and Bourne, the third instalment of the pulse-pounding Daniel Marchant spy series. In a high octane thriller set in Britain, France, Russia and Morocco, Marchant wrestles with his conscience and his love for Lakshmi Meena, a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/08/2013
Dead Spy Running by Jon Stock
Dead Spy Running
Jon Stock
January 2010 Book of the Month. Daniel, the son of a disgraced MI5 chief and himself an MI5 operative, is about to fall foul of the same fate that befell...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/01/2010
Dead Spy Running by Jon Stock
Dead Spy Running
Jon Stock
This is billed as the first in a trilogy but Daniel Marchant is such a charismatic character surely there will be more to come after that? The book opens with Daniel, a suspended MI6 officer, and his girlfriend running the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 25/06/2009

Loading other books by Jon Stock...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.gamestraitorsplay.com/S...
Loading twitter updates...

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Jon Stock and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools