Chasing the Dead

by Tim Weaver

Part of the David Raker Missing Persons Series

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Family Drama Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Chasing the Dead

This is one of the most terrifying thrillers we have read for quite a while. It is a debut as well and the start of a new series featuring missing person’s investigator David Raker. A year after her’s son’s body was found his mother is convinced she  sees him alive. Desperate, she persuades David Raker to track him down but it soon becomes apparent in doing this he has gained the attention of some very dangerous men.


A journey into the darkest corners of the human psyche and a must read for fans of Mo Hayder, and Mark Billingham.

 

Creating David Raker by Tim Weaver...

'I became very interested in the idea of writing a series when I fell in love with the work of Michael Connelly. His taut, brilliant Harry Bosch novels were a conduit to the world of American crime fiction, to classic characters like Philip Marlowe and Lew Archer, and to modern masters like James Ellroy. But while the genius of Chandler and MacDonald – and especially their creations – was obvious, what I loved in particular about Connelly’s books was the fact that Bosch’s world never stopped moving. It evolved. It grew. It lived.' Click here to read the full comment.

Sarah Broadhurst

Chasing the Dead Synopsis

One year ago, Alex Towne's body was found. One month ago, his mother saw him on the street. One week ago, David Raker agreed to look for him. Now he wishes he hadn't. Mary Towne's son, Alex, went missing six years ago. Five years later he finally turned up - as a corpse in a car wreck. Missing persons investigator David Raker doesn't want the work: it's clearly a sad but hopeless case of mistaken identity brought to him by a woman unable to let go of her son. But haunted by a loss of his own, Raker reluctantly agrees. Big mistake. For as he digs deeper, he discovers that Alex's life was not the innocent one his mother believed. Buried in his past are secrets that were never meant to be found - and dark, dangerous men willing to kill to protect them. Soon Raker will discover that there are things far worse than death...

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Closing date: 06/09/2018

We are giving FIVE lucky people the chance to win SIGNED Hardback copies of Karin Slaughter's latest book, Pieces of Her. The draw closes on the 6th September and the winner will be notified by the 10th September. The latest, thrilling new book from the No.1 Internationally Bestselling Author, Pieces of Her makes you question how well you know your nearest and dearest. Andrea Oliver knows everything about her mother Laura. She knows she's always lived in the small town of Belle Isle; she knows she's a pillar of the community; she knows she's never kept a secret in her life. but she's hiding something... Then one day, a trip to the mall explodes into a shocking act of violence and Andy suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. and it could destroy them both...

Enter Now

Chasing the Dead Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  Click here to read the full review.

  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Who needs Jack Reacher, when we have our very own David Raker?  This is the second Raker I have read, and they just get better and better.... and better!' 
  • Sue Burton - 'Would recommend this book to new readers looking for a thriller which has you guessing right to the end.'
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'This is a very ‘visual’ book, it would lend itself to film or television.' 
  • Lorraine Baker - 'Tim Weaver skillfully sets the story with twists and turns - a must read for lovers of thrillers - Five star rating *****'
  • Sarah Williams - 'Slow start but worth the wait...towards the end of Part One the pace was suddenly cranked up and didn't stop.'
  • Gill Williams - 'I kept reading and was drawn into and through the book, needing to know what was happening next, how on earth he was going to get out of first one fix then another...'
  • Sarah Musk - 'A dark, violent, grim story.  A must for people who like intriguing mysteries with some exciting chases and thoroughly unpleasant baddies.' 
  • Angela O'Donovan - 'Not for the faint hearted...it was good to find a detective who is not hard boiled and stereotypical and this was a huge plus along the way.'
  • Tania P - 'I couldn't but it down but the violence in the book was often creepy and shocking and there is lots of blood and gore.'
  • Alison Jones - 'This edgy, pacy thriller delves into the depths of hopelessness and what people will do to be saved.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'Great read, a real page turner that will have you on the edge of your seat until the last page.'
  • Frida Spanberger - 'Chasing the Dead is an excellent read. It might not have much creepiness, but it has a lot of great suspense and mystery, coupled with action.'
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'A stunning debut. This dark and complex tale will scare you and shock you in equal measure. Be warned - it is not for the faint of heart.'

Chasing the Dead Press Reviews

Praise for Tim Weaver:

 

'Impressive debut...Fans of Mo Hayder will be in seventh hell.' Guardian

 

'Perfect plotting, great characterisation, and the kind of payoff that a thriller of this calibre deserves.' Bookgeeks

 

'A taut thriller.' Barry Forshaw

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sweet Heart
Dead If You Don't
I Know a Secret (Rizzoli & Isles 12)
Insidious Intent (Tony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 10)

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405912693
Publication date: 15/08/2013
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405912693
Publication date: 15th August 2013
Author: Tim Weaver
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Tim Weaver

Tim Weaver was born in 1977. At eighteen, he left school and started working in magazine journalism, and has since gone on to develop a successful career writing about films, TV, sport, games and technology. He is married with a young daughter, and lives near Bath.

More About Tim Weaver

More Books By Tim Weaver

Cover for Broken Heart by Tim Weaver
Cover for What Remains by Tim Weaver
Cover for What Remains by Tim Weaver
View All Books By Tim Weaver

Share this book