debuts of the month make the most of Lovereading

Reader Reviewed
Chasing the Dead by Tim Weaver
  

Chasing the Dead

Part of the David Raker Missing Persons Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

This is one of the most terrifying thrillers we have read for quite a while. It is a debut as well and the start of a new series featuring missing person’s investigator David Raker. A year after her’s son’s body was found his mother is convinced she sees him alive. Desperate, she persuades David Raker to track him down but it soon becomes apparent in doing this he has gained the attention of some very dangerous men.

A journey into the darkest corners of the human psyche and a must read for fans of Mo Hayder, and Mark Billingham.

Creating David Raker by Tim Weaver...

'I became very interested in the idea of writing a series when I fell in love with the work of Michael Connelly. His taut, brilliant Harry Bosch novels were a conduit to the world of American crime fiction, to classic characters like Philip Marlowe and Lew Archer, and to modern masters like James Ellroy. But while the genius of Chandler and MacDonald – and especially their creations – was obvious, what I loved in particular about Connelly’s books was the fact that Bosch’s world never stopped moving. It evolved. It grew. It lived.' Click here to read the full comment.

If you like Tim Weaver you might also like to read books by Chris Carter, Val McDermid and J. A. Kerley.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  Click here to read the full review.

  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Who needs Jack Reacher, when we have our very own David Raker?  This is the second Raker I have read, and they just get better and better.... and better!' 
  • Sue Burton - 'Would recommend this book to new readers looking for a thriller which has you guessing right to the end.'
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'This is a very ‘visual’ book, it would lend itself to film or television.' 
  • Lorraine Baker - 'Tim Weaver skillfully sets the story with twists and turns - a must read for lovers of thrillers - Five star rating *****'
  • Sarah Williams - 'Slow start but worth the wait...towards the end of Part One the pace was suddenly cranked up and didn't stop.'
  • Gill Williams - 'I kept reading and was drawn into and through the book, needing to know what was happening next, how on earth he was going to get out of first one fix then another...'
  • Sarah Musk - 'A dark, violent, grim story.  A must for people who like intriguing mysteries with some exciting chases and thoroughly unpleasant baddies.' 
  • Angela O'Donovan - 'Not for the faint hearted...it was good to find a detective who is not hard boiled and stereotypical and this was a huge plus along the way.'
  • Tania P - 'I couldn't but it down but the violence in the book was often creepy and shocking and there is lots of blood and gore.'
  • Alison Jones - 'This edgy, pacy thriller delves into the depths of hopelessness and what people will do to be saved.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'Great read, a real page turner that will have you on the edge of your seat until the last page.'
  • Frida Spanberger - 'Chasing the Dead is an excellent read. It might not have much creepiness, but it has a lot of great suspense and mystery, coupled with action.'
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'A stunning debut. This dark and complex tale will scare you and shock you in equal measure. Be warned - it is not for the faint of heart.'

Win Shetland DVDs SIGNED by Douglas Henshall!

Based on the novels by Ann Cleeves and starring Douglas Henshall, we have copies of Shetland the complete series 1-4 and Shetland Series 4 to give away to 3 lucky winners courtesy of ITV Studios Global Entertainment.

Each prize comprises of 2 Shetland DVD sets, the boxset from series 1-4 and then series 4, totalling 8 discs with a rrp of almost £60! Both sets will be signed by the star of the Shetland Series, Douglas Henshall.

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 26 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 8 May 2018.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 26/04/2018

Synopsis

Chasing the Dead by Tim Weaver

One year ago, Alex Towne's body was found. One month ago, his mother saw him on the street. One week ago, David Raker agreed to look for him. Now he wishes he hadn't. Mary Towne's son, Alex, went missing six years ago. Five years later he finally turned up - as a corpse in a car wreck. Missing persons investigator David Raker doesn't want the work: it's clearly a sad but hopeless case of mistaken identity brought to him by a woman unable to let go of her son. But haunted by a loss of his own, Raker reluctantly agrees. Big mistake. For as he digs deeper, he discovers that Alex's life was not the innocent one his mother believed. Buried in his past are secrets that were never meant to be found - and dark, dangerous men willing to kill to protect them. Soon Raker will discover that there are things far worse than death...

Reviews

Praise for Tim Weaver:

'Impressive debut...Fans of Mo Hayder will be in seventh hell.' Guardian

'Perfect plotting, great characterisation, and the kind of payoff that a thriller of this calibre deserves.' Bookgeeks

'A taut thriller.' Barry Forshaw

About the Author

Tim Weaver

Tim Weaver was born in 1977. At eighteen, he left school and started working in magazine journalism, and has since gone on to develop a successful career writing about films, TV, sport, games and technology. He is married with a young daughter, and lives near Bath.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th August 2013

Author

Tim Weaver

More books by Tim Weaver
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.timweaverbooks.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
480 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781405912693

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools