Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

debuts of the month
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Reader Reviewed
Chasing the Dead by Tim Weaver
  

Chasing the Dead

Part of the David Raker Missing Persons Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

This is one of the most terrifying thrillers we have read for quite a while. It is a debut as well and the start of a new series featuring missing person’s investigator David Raker. A year after her’s son’s body was found his mother is convinced she sees him alive. Desperate, she persuades David Raker to track him down but it soon becomes apparent in doing this he has gained the attention of some very dangerous men.

A journey into the darkest corners of the human psyche and a must read for fans of Mo Hayder, and Mark Billingham.

Creating David Raker by Tim Weaver...

'I became very interested in the idea of writing a series when I fell in love with the work of Michael Connelly. His taut, brilliant Harry Bosch novels were a conduit to the world of American crime fiction, to classic characters like Philip Marlowe and Lew Archer, and to modern masters like James Ellroy. But while the genius of Chandler and MacDonald – and especially their creations – was obvious, what I loved in particular about Connelly’s books was the fact that Bosch’s world never stopped moving. It evolved. It grew. It lived.' Click here to read the full comment.

If you like Tim Weaver you might also like to read books by Tess Gerritsen, Mo Hayder and Val McDermid.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  Click here to read the full review.

  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Who needs Jack Reacher, when we have our very own David Raker?  This is the second Raker I have read, and they just get better and better.... and better!' 
  • Sue Burton - 'Would recommend this book to new readers looking for a thriller which has you guessing right to the end.'
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'This is a very ‘visual’ book, it would lend itself to film or television.' 
  • Lorraine Baker - 'Tim Weaver skillfully sets the story with twists and turns - a must read for lovers of thrillers - Five star rating *****'
  • Sarah Williams - 'Slow start but worth the wait...towards the end of Part One the pace was suddenly cranked up and didn't stop.'
  • Gill Williams - 'I kept reading and was drawn into and through the book, needing to know what was happening next, how on earth he was going to get out of first one fix then another...'
  • Sarah Musk - 'A dark, violent, grim story.  A must for people who like intriguing mysteries with some exciting chases and thoroughly unpleasant baddies.' 
  • Angela O'Donovan - 'Not for the faint hearted...it was good to find a detective who is not hard boiled and stereotypical and this was a huge plus along the way.'
  • Tania P - 'I couldn't but it down but the violence in the book was often creepy and shocking and there is lots of blood and gore.'
  • Alison Jones - 'This edgy, pacy thriller delves into the depths of hopelessness and what people will do to be saved.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'Great read, a real page turner that will have you on the edge of your seat until the last page.'
  • Frida Spanberger - 'Chasing the Dead is an excellent read. It might not have much creepiness, but it has a lot of great suspense and mystery, coupled with action.'
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'A stunning debut. This dark and complex tale will scare you and shock you in equal measure. Be warned - it is not for the faint of heart.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Chasing the Dead by Tim Weaver

One year ago, Alex Towne's body was found. One month ago, his mother saw him on the street. One week ago, David Raker agreed to look for him. Now he wishes he hadn't. Mary Towne's son, Alex, went missing six years ago. Five years later he finally turned up - as a corpse in a car wreck. Missing persons investigator David Raker doesn't want the work: it's clearly a sad but hopeless case of mistaken identity brought to him by a woman unable to let go of her son. But haunted by a loss of his own, Raker reluctantly agrees. Big mistake. For as he digs deeper, he discovers that Alex's life was not the innocent one his mother believed. Buried in his past are secrets that were never meant to be found - and dark, dangerous men willing to kill to protect them. Soon Raker will discover that there are things far worse than death...

Reviews

Praise for Tim Weaver:

'Impressive debut...Fans of Mo Hayder will be in seventh hell.' Guardian

'Perfect plotting, great characterisation, and the kind of payoff that a thriller of this calibre deserves.' Bookgeeks

'A taut thriller.' Barry Forshaw

About the Author

Tim Weaver

Tim Weaver was born in 1977. At eighteen, he left school and started working in magazine journalism, and has since gone on to develop a successful career writing about films, TV, sport, games and technology. He is married with a young daughter, and lives near Bath.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th August 2013

Author

Tim Weaver

More books by Tim Weaver
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.timweaverbooks.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Family Drama
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781405912693

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools