Chasing the Dead

by Tim Weaver

Crime and Mystery Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Thriller and Suspense Family Drama eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Chasing the Dead

This is one of the most terrifying thrillers we have read for quite a while. It is a debut as well and the start of a new series featuring missing person’s investigator David Raker. A year after her’s son’s body was found his mother is convinced she  sees him alive. Desperate, she persuades David Raker to track him down but it soon becomes apparent in doing this he has gained the attention of some very dangerous men.


A journey into the darkest corners of the human psyche and a must read for fans of Mo Hayder, and Mark Billingham.

 

Creating David Raker by Tim Weaver...

'I became very interested in the idea of writing a series when I fell in love with the work of Michael Connelly. His taut, brilliant Harry Bosch novels were a conduit to the world of American crime fiction, to classic characters like Philip Marlowe and Lew Archer, and to modern masters like James Ellroy. But while the genius of Chandler and MacDonald – and especially their creations – was obvious, what I loved in particular about Connelly’s books was the fact that Bosch’s world never stopped moving. It evolved. It grew. It lived.' Click here to read the full comment.

Sarah Broadhurst

Chasing the Dead Synopsis

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Chasing the Dead by Tim Weaver, read by Joe Coen and Lee Ingleby. One year ago, Alex Townes body was found. One month ago, his mother saw him on the street. One week ago, David Raker agreed to look for him. Now he wishes he hadnt. Mary Townes son, Alex, went missing six years ago. Five years later he finally turned up - as a corpse in a car wreck. Missing persons investigator David Raker doesnt want the work: its clearly a sad but hopeless case of mistaken identity brought to him by a woman unable to let go of her son. But haunted by a loss of his own, Raker reluctantly agrees. Big mistake. For as he digs deeper, he discovers that Alexs life was not the innocent one his mother believed. Buried in his past are secrets that were never meant to be found - and dark, dangerous men willing to kill to protect them. Soon Raker will discover that there are things far worse than death . . .

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781405935821
Publication date: 5th October 2017
Author: Tim Weaver
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Penguin
Format: Ebook
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle in time for Christmas!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle in time for Christmas!

Closing date: 12/12/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from October to December. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves or give as a Christmas gift to your favourite bookworm. The titles up for grabs are: The Rabbit Factor by Antti Tuomainen - out in hardback on the 28th October Cold as Hell by Lilja Sigurdardottir - out in paperback 28th October The Quiet People by Paul Cleave - out in paperback on 25th November Psychopaths Anonymous,4 by Will Carver - out in paperback on 25th Noveber Fall by West Camel - out in paperback on 9th December Quicksand of Memory by Michael J Malone - out in paperback on 9th December This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 12th December 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Chasing the Dead

The Night Swim
Local Legend
A Death in Summer
Remember Me This Way

Chasing the Dead Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  Click here to read the full review.

  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Who needs Jack Reacher, when we have our very own David Raker?  This is the second Raker I have read, and they just get better and better.... and better!' 
  • Sue Burton - 'Would recommend this book to new readers looking for a thriller which has you guessing right to the end.'
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'This is a very ‘visual’ book, it would lend itself to film or television.' 
  • Lorraine Baker - 'Tim Weaver skillfully sets the story with twists and turns - a must read for lovers of thrillers - Five star rating *****'
  • Sarah Williams - 'Slow start but worth the wait...towards the end of Part One the pace was suddenly cranked up and didn't stop.'
  • Gill Williams - 'I kept reading and was drawn into and through the book, needing to know what was happening next, how on earth he was going to get out of first one fix then another...'
  • Sarah Musk - 'A dark, violent, grim story.  A must for people who like intriguing mysteries with some exciting chases and thoroughly unpleasant baddies.' 
  • Angela O'Donovan - 'Not for the faint hearted...it was good to find a detective who is not hard boiled and stereotypical and this was a huge plus along the way.'
  • Tania P - 'I couldn't but it down but the violence in the book was often creepy and shocking and there is lots of blood and gore.'
  • Alison Jones - 'This edgy, pacy thriller delves into the depths of hopelessness and what people will do to be saved.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'Great read, a real page turner that will have you on the edge of your seat until the last page.'
  • Frida Spanberger - 'Chasing the Dead is an excellent read. It might not have much creepiness, but it has a lot of great suspense and mystery, coupled with action.'
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'A stunning debut. This dark and complex tale will scare you and shock you in equal measure. Be warned - it is not for the faint of heart.'

Tim Weaver Press Reviews

Praise for Tim Weaver:

 

'Impressive debut...Fans of Mo Hayder will be in seventh hell.' Guardian

 

'Perfect plotting, great characterisation, and the kind of payoff that a thriller of this calibre deserves.' Bookgeeks

 

'A taut thriller.' Barry Forshaw

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781405935821
Publication date: 05/10/2017
Format: Ebook

ISBN: 9781405912693
Publication date: 15/08/2013
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Tim Weaver

Tim Weaver was born in 1977. At eighteen, he left school and started working in magazine journalism, and has since gone on to develop a successful career writing about films, TV, sport, games and technology. He is married with a young daughter, and lives near Bath.

More About Tim Weaver

More Books By Tim Weaver

Chasing the Dead
Chasing the Dead
Chasing the Dead
View All Books By Tim Weaver

Share this book