Silent House

by Orhan Pamuk

eBooks of the Month Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on Silent House

The second novel from Nobel Prize winning Orhan Pamuk to be translated into English is a  moving story of a Turkish family gathering under the shadow of the impending military coup in 1980. 30 years on from its publication in Turkey (1983) this powerful, engaging story is eerily prescient as we see how the political situation has developed in Turkey.

Sarah Broadhurst

Silent House Synopsis

In an old mansion in Cennethisar, a former fishing village near Istanbul, an old widow Fatma awaits the annual summer visit of her grandchildren.



She has lived in the village for decades, ever since her husband, an idealistic young doctor, first arrived to serve the poor fishermen. Now mostly bedridden, she is attended by her faithful servant Recep, a dwarf and the doctor's illegitimate son. They share memories, and grievances, of the early years, before Cennethisar became a high-class resort. Her visiting grandchildren are Faruk, a dissipated failed historian; his sensitive leftist sister, Nilgun; and Metin, a high school student drawn to the fast life of the nouveaux riches, who dreams of going to America. But it is Recep's nephew Hassan, a high-school dropout, lately fallen in with right-wing nationalists, who will draw the visiting family into the growing political cataclysm issuing from Turkey's tumultuous century-long struggle for modernity.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Golden House
Love in the Time of Cholera
Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights
We Should All be Feminists

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780571275953
Publication date: 01/08/2013
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780571275953
Publication date: 1st August 2013
Author: Orhan Pamuk
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Orhan Pamuk

Orhan Pamuk, is the author of many celebrated books, including The White Castle, Istanbul and Snow. In 2003 he won the International IMPAC Award for My Name is Red, and in 2006 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. His most recent novel, The Museum of Innocence, was an international bestseller, praised in the Guardian as 'an enthralling, immensely enjoyable piece of storytelling.' Orhan Pamuk lives in Istanbul.   Author photo © Jerry Bauer

More About Orhan Pamuk

More Books By Orhan Pamuk

Cover for The Museum of Innocence by Orhan Pamuk
View All Books By Orhan Pamuk

Share this book