Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Sleeper by Emily Barr
  

Lovereading view...

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah.

If you like Emily Barr you might also like to read books by Cecilia Samartin, Lisa Jewell and India Knight.

Synopsis

The Sleeper by Emily Barr

Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off...

Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace. Only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her. For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her...

Reviews

One brilliantly compelling page-turner * Closer * A gripping piece of fiction spiked with an unnerving amount of psychological tension * Kirkus * Sleep-sabotagingly moreish * Cosmopolitan * A great read from start to finish...believable characters that are variously biting, insightful and sympathetic * The Times * A tense and gritty read with echoes of Daphne du Maurier's Don't Look Now * Telegraph * We can't praise Emily Barr's novels enough; they're fresh, original and hugely readable * Glamour * The Sleeper makes for breathless, compulsive reading, with characters so real you almost feel like you know them well enough to ring them up and ask them what on earth is going on. Emily achieves what other writers cannot - her books are just getting better and better. * Elizabeth Haynes *


About the Author

Emily Barr

Emily Barr worked as a journalist in London but always hankered after a quiet room and a book to write. She went travelling for a year, which gave her an idea for a novel set in the world of backpackers in Asia. This became Backpack, an adult thriller which won the WH Smith New Talent Award, and she has since written eleven more adult novels published in the UK and around the world.

The One Memory of Flora Banks is her first novel for young adults. She lives in Cornwall with her partner and their children.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th July 2013

Author

Emily Barr

More books by Emily Barr
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.emilybarr.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780755388004

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools