make the most of Lovereading paypal newgen books for YA readers finding gobi eleanor oliphant

Emily Barr Book and Novel

Emily Barr - Author


Emily Barr worked as a journalist in London but always hankered after a quiet room and a book to write. She went travelling for a year, which gave her an idea for a novel set in the world of backpackers in Asia. This became Backpack, an adult thriller which won the WH Smith New Talent Award, and she has since written eleven more adult novels published in the UK and around the world.

The One Memory of Flora Banks is her first novel for young adults. She lives in Cornwall with her partner and their children.

If you like Emily Barr you might also like to read books by Adele Parks, India Knight and Lisa Jewell.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Emily Barr

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr
Reader Reviewed The One Memory of Flora Banks
Emily Barr
January 2017 NewGen MEGA Debut of the Month. In a nutshell: the unforgettable story of a girl with no memory. Can there ever...
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/01/2017
Blackout (Quick Reads 2014) by Emily Barr
Blackout (Quick Reads 2014)
Emily Barr
A tense and chilling Quick Read from the queen of psychological suspense.
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/02/2014
The Sleeper by Emily Barr
The Sleeper
Emily Barr
A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah.
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/07/2013
The First Wife by Emily Barr
The First Wife
Emily Barr
A tense, unsettling, modern-day Rebecca from the queen of psychological, suspenseful women's fiction. This is gripping stuff from a talented storyteller.
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/09/2011
The Life You Want by Emily Barr
The Life You Want
Emily Barr
Another good read from Emily Barr with a lot of insight into human suffering and how the experiences that our heroine Tasy has in India make her re-evaluate her life as she learns to know herself. It’s astute and reintroduces...
Format: Paperback - Released: 17/09/2009
The Sisterhood by Emily Barr
The Sisterhood
Emily Barr
I absolutely loved this. A story of two women whose lives become connected after the younger one, Helen, decides that Liz is her half sister, abandoned by Helens mother some thirty years before and sets out to reunite the family....
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/07/2008
Atlantic Shift by Emily Barr
Atlantic Shift
Emily Barr
I wonder if perhaps Emily Barr used Jacqueline du Pre for her inspiration here for this centres on a highly-strung, strong-willed classical musician whose personal life conflicts with her professional one. It is a very human story from a talented...
Format: Paperback - Released: 14/03/2005
Backpack by Emily Barr
Backpack
Emily Barr
An accomplished and sensitive writer but of all her lovely books I don’t think she has written another as good as this, her first. It’s about an irritating city girl who takes to the backpackers’ trail and slowly has her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/02/2001

Loading other books by Emily Barr...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.emilybarr.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Emily Barr on Facebook

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Author's Blog

www.emilybarr.com/blog/

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Emily Barr and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools