make the most of Lovereading new year new you 17 lovereading canvas bags debuts of the month Maxim Jakubowskis Selection
Vouchers


Emily Barr Book and Novel

Emily Barr - Author


Emily Barr worked as a journalist in London but always hankered after a quiet room and a book to write. She went travelling for a year, which gave her an idea for a novel set in the world of backpackers in Asia. This became Backpack, an adult thriller which won the WH Smith New Talent Award, and she has since written eleven more adult novels published in the UK and around the world.

The One Memory of Flora Banks is her first novel for young adults. She lives in Cornwall with her partner and their children.

If you like Emily Barr you might also like to read books by India Knight, Lisa Jewell and Louise Douglas.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Emily Barr

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr
Reader Reviewed The One Memory of Flora Banks
Emily Barr
January 2017 NewGen MEGA Debut of the Month. In a nutshell: the unforgettable story of a girl with no memory. Can there ever...
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/01/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39
Blackout (Quick Reads 2014) by Emily Barr
Blackout (Quick Reads 2014)
Emily Barr
A tense and chilling Quick Read from the queen of psychological suspense.
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/02/2014
Lovereading Price: £0.80
The Sleeper by Emily Barr
The Sleeper
Emily Barr
A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah.
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/07/2013
Lovereading Price: £7.19
The First Wife by Emily Barr
The First Wife
Emily Barr
A tense, unsettling, modern-day Rebecca from the queen of psychological, suspenseful women's fiction. This is gripping stuff from a talented storyteller.
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/09/2011
Lovereading Price: £7.19
The Life You Want by Emily Barr
The Life You Want
Emily Barr
Another good read from Emily Barr with a lot of insight into human suffering and how the experiences that our heroine Tasy has in India make her re-evaluate her life as she learns to know herself. It’s astute and reintroduces...
Format: Paperback - Released: 17/09/2009
Lovereading Price: £5.59
The Sisterhood by Emily Barr
The Sisterhood
Emily Barr
I absolutely loved this. A story of two women whose lives become connected after the younger one, Helen, decides that Liz is her half sister, abandoned by Helens mother some thirty years before and sets out to reunite the family....
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/07/2008
Lovereading Price: £7.19
Atlantic Shift by Emily Barr
Atlantic Shift
Emily Barr
I wonder if perhaps Emily Barr used Jacqueline du Pre for her inspiration here for this centres on a highly-strung, strong-willed classical musician whose personal life conflicts with her professional one. It is a very human story from a talented...
Format: Paperback - Released: 14/03/2005
Lovereading Price: £7.19
Backpack by Emily Barr
Backpack
Emily Barr
An accomplished and sensitive writer but of all her lovely books I don’t think she has written another as good as this, her first. It’s about an irritating city girl who takes to the backpackers’ trail and slowly has her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/02/2001
Lovereading Price: £7.19

Loading other books by Emily Barr...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.emilybarr.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Emily Barr on Facebook

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Author's Blog

www.emilybarr.com/blog/

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Emily Barr and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools