LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Simon Berthon - Author

About the Author

Simon Berthon has spent much of his working life delving into the secrets of state. He is an award winning and highly acclaimed investigative film-maker whose scoops include a number of stories set in Ireland.

Featured books by Simon Berthon

Other books by Simon Berthon

A Secret Worth Killing For

A Secret Worth Killing For

Author: Simon Berthon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/05/2018

`A stunning debut novel...It could not be more timely.' - Gavin Esler Somebody knows where the bodies are buried... Newly-appointed Minister of State Anne-Marie Gallagher appears to have an unblemished record. Only she knows the truth. In the early 1990s, she was embroiled in the IRA's violent past, and integral to a mission which went disastrously wrong. So far, skeletons have remained in their closets. But, unknown to Anne-Marie, DCI Jon Carne has just received an anonymous tip-off. The co-ordinates lead Carne to a body - badly decomposed after twenty-five years underground. When news of the discovery reaches Westminster, Anne-Marie knows that she is at risk of being exposed. And with Carne closing in, there's not much time for the new minister to decide how far she'll go to keep her past where it belongs... Power comes at a price in this sharp, smart political thriller - perfect for fans of Charles Cumming and Mick Herron. `A stunning debut novel from a top TV producer, A Secret Worth Killing For takes us from the back streets of Belfast during the Troubles to power and parliament in London. It could not be more timely.' - Gavin Esler Previously published as Woman of State

Woman of State

Woman of State

Author: Simon Berthon Format: eBook Release Date: 13/07/2017

SECRETS 1991, Belfast. Maire Anne McCartney is recruited for a one-off IRA mission as a honey trap. She is told there will be no violence. But she has been lied to.To save herself, eighteen-year-old Maire must flee across the border alone, and start anew life. STATE Present day, London. Human rights lawyer Anne-Marie Gallagher is appointed Minister of State for Security and Immigration.At the same time, the police in Belfast receive an anonymous tip-off. The password is verified from the Troubles - and the co-ordinates lead DCI Jon Carne to a field. And a body. BETRAYAL The new Minister receives a message and realises that the new life she has crafted is at risk of being uncovered.And when Carne's investigation brings Anne- Marie to his attention, she must decide where her allegiances lie...

Allies at War

Allies at War

Author: Simon Berthon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/08/2013

Warlords

Warlords

Author: Simon Berthon, Joanna Potts Format: eBook Release Date: 07/09/2007

With innovative style and thorough scholarship, Warlords tells the story of World War II through the eyes and minds of its four great leaders-Adolf Hitler, Franklin Roosevelt, Winston Churchill, and Joseph Stalin. While their nations battled in the field, these warlords of the twentieth century waged a private war of the mind. From Whitehall and Washington to the Wolfs Lair and the Kremlin, Warlords documents their psychological battles and the attempts to outthink and outfight one another. Like a cinematic thriller, rapidly cutting from one man to the next, the narrative reveals each leader as they face historys greatest conflict-and each other.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more