win prizes
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Knight by Ian Anderson
  

Knight

Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Be transported back to 15th Century England in this meticulously researched, action-packed tale of chivalry, love and loss. This debut historical epic will appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwell and M. C. Scott.

Gregory Averill has served his King on the battlefield all his life but through cruel circumstance and his refusal to capitulate has lost all he has worked for and, more vital to him, the love of a woman who made him complete. But a new campaign and the chance of final victory against France drags him on and into a new life.

Knight was written in the aftermath of a personal tragedy, the death of Ian’s wife from cancer, and the book is, for him, an act of dedication and a key part of his grieving process.

Ian says of his story ‘There is action enough, but essentially the story is a love story, a tragedy, and above all, a vision of hope after all seemed lost.’

Synopsis

Knight by Ian Anderson

Ian Anderson is a mature and beautiful new voice on the literary scene. Knight is breathtaking in its scope, exquisite in its tenderness, and uplifting in its refusal to succumb to the despair which fate sometimes prepares for us. It is a story of love and valour; a story of one man's refusal to capitulate, when all the world seemed to conspire against him. Set in the early fifteenth century, in the last days of the Age of Chivalry, this is the story of a king's champion, who, robbed of the love and beauty of the woman who had made his life complete, and stripped of all he had worked for and achieved, still, somehow, found the will and the strength to pick himself up, and move forward again, and, in the process, carry a king to victory on the battlefields of France. This gripping work of historical fiction, weaving together strands of romance, tragedy and drama, reflects the real pain and suffering associated with loss. It exemplifies the ongoing struggle of the grieving process; between the need to retreat into the memories of the world which has been lost, and the need to find a way to move forward again. It is ultimately a book of hope, written by an author who has made the journey.

Reviews

'I have been editing for many years. I have only, once before, told a writer that his book was a potential best seller... you are the second. I loved your book.' -- Gary Smailes BubbleCow

About the Author

Ian Anderson

Born in Western Australia after the end of WW2, Ian Anderson's eyes were always turned skywards. His early heroes include Douglas Bader, Guy Gibson and Barnes Wallace. An engineer in both military and industrial spheres, Ian's formal qualifications are in science and engineering, however, his interests include music, theatre, history and literature. Ian now lives in Surrey, England. Over the years, he has written consistently, but always for a technical audience. Knight is his first venture into fiction.

Below is a Q&A with this author.

The story is full of what feels very authentic detail – what were your main sources of research?

The research sources are explicitly identified in the ‘Acknowledgements’ section at the end of the book, and on the ‘References’ page of my website www.knightthebook.com. In general there were two categories; other books and the internet. Once I had established the period and the setting, then the most significant books for me were those of Juliet Barker (see julietbarker.co.uk) who had written extensively about Henry V’s campaigns of 1415 and 1417. From these, there was much material from which the background setting could be constructed. Meanwhile, from the internet, I was able to research individual elements as they arose, particularly geographic and architectural, and also identify some of the personalities who inhabited the time and the locations through which the story passed. And, as also mentioned in the Acknowledgements, there were two TV programmes from which I drew inspiration; one for a Mediterranean setting so necessary to draw parts of the story together, and one for a small but revealing interlude about a king’s ship.

Before Knight had you written other books or short stories?

I have been writing technical specifications for most of my working life. And, on a few occasions in the past, I have let my mind wander and produced a couple of, perhaps, ‘imaginative’ short stories; but these were very small and were never published. However, following the loss of my wife, there was a need to somehow deal with the emotions the followed, and the way turned out to be writing. Small and hesitant at first, it grew and acquired a life of its own, and as time passed, the story emerged.

You talk of the book being integral in the grieving process after the death of your wife – so is there a part of you in the character of Averill?

There is no part of me in the actions of the hero, but there is certainly much of me in his experiences, his emotions, and his philosophy. I found that I needed to create a character who could successfully deal with the situation; but not as most observers would anticipate, since the advice one receives is largely about looking forward and moving on with life. But, there is a period, which can be quite long, during which this is not possible, and one retreats into the memories of what was so beautiful about the life that has been lost, and this I found is where the healing begins. And, only then, is it possible to even contemplate moving forward. These phases underpin the structure of the story.

If your book were to be made into a film who would you like to play Gregory Averill?

Ah, difficult question. Because of my own age, most of the actors who have inspired me are older than the characters in the story. Nevertheless, I enjoyed Joseph Fiennes and Ben Affleck in ‘Shakespeare in Love’, and could possibly see them as Averill and Henry, respectively. I also enjoyed Henry Cavill’s portrayal of Charles Brandon in The Tudors. And, I like the agonised, brooding characters Ralph Fiennes often plays. So, for me, the question is open. It would be a life-changing event if , one day, there were an opportunity to answer it.

Do you have plans for a second book?

I have the plot and the main characters and the first 4,000 words of a new story, and I am currently researching aspects of the First World War, which would provide the setting; however, it is early days, yet.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th March 2013

Author

Ian Anderson

More books by Ian Anderson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Matador an imprint of Troubador Publishing

Format

Paperback

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Family Drama
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781780884714

Publisher Profile

Matador an imprint of Troubador Publishing is an imprint of Matador

logo Matador has been offering authors a high quality self-publishing service since 1999. Part of Troubador Publishing Ltd, Matador offers a wide range of services aimed at publishing, marketing and distributing books and ebooks to a high standard, be that via Print On Demand (POD) or through traditional bookshop distribution. Matador has deliberately established itself at the quality end of the self-publishing market. We work in partnership with our authors, most of whom publish with us as they are serious about their self-publishing, wanting a high quality book or a real chance at getting their work distributed and read. As a result, we are the UK's most widely recommended self-publishing service. 'Matador is a highly reputable partnership publisher offering an author the best chance of self-publishing success in the UK.' Mick Rooney, Editor of The Independent Publishing Magazine

Publisher's Website

www.troubador.co.uk/matador...

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools