After Flodden

by Rosemary Goring

Historical fiction Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of After Flodden

Meticulous research and superlative writing brings to life the little known but important Battle of Flodden in 1513 and the consequences to Scotland and its people. Combining political intrigue and romance it is told through the eyes of several characters who either had a hand in bringing the country to war, or were deeply affected by the outcome. Louise has lost her brother in one of Scotland’s most bloody defeats against the English. She turns to Patrick Paniter, who orchestrated the war, for help but Paniter is wracked with guilt and grief. Louise goes into the wild border lands and gets caught up in espionage and skulduggery.  This is a good swashbuckling romp covering a fascinating period of history and it makes for a compelling and educational read. Definitely one for fans of Rose Tremain and Hilary Mantel

 

Click here to see the sequel to this book, Dacre's War, published in June 2015.

LoveReading

After Flodden Synopsis

Patrick Paniter was James IV's right-hand man, a diplomatic genius who was in charge of the guns at the disastrous battle of Flodden in September 1513 in which the English annihilated the Scots. After the death of his king he is tormented by guilt as he relives the events that led to war. When Louise Brenier, daughter of a rogue sea trader, asks his help in finding out if her brother Benoit was killed in action, it is the least he can do to salve his conscience. Not satisfied with the news he brings, Louise sets off to find out the truth herself, and swiftly falls foul of one of the lawless clans that rule the ungovernable borderlands. After Flodden is a novel about the consequences of the battle of Flodden, as seen through the eyes of several characters who either had a hand in bringing the country to war, or were profoundly affected by the outcome. There have been very few novels about Flodden, despite its significance,and none from this perspective. It's a racy adventure, combining political intrigue and romance, and its readership will be anyone who loves historical fiction, or is interested in the history of Scotland and the turbulent, ungovernable borderlands between Scotland and England.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781846972836
Publication date: 6th February 2014
Author: Rosemary Goring
Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Recommendations:
Win A Pair of Tickets to The Witchfinder's Sister!

Win A Pair of Tickets to The Witchfinder's Sister!

Closing date: 28/10/2021

The Witchfinder's Sister by Beth Underdown has been adapted for the stage.   This spellbinding and haunting historical thriller was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick and has been adapted for the stage by award-nominated playwright Vickie Donoghue. To celebrate the World premiere of this chilling and creepy tale of Essex witch hunts we're working with Queen's Theatre, Hornchurch to offer 2 pairs of tickets to the 2:30pm matinee performance on Saturday the 30th September. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 28th October 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After After Flodden

Outlaw
Ravenspur Rise of the Tudors
The Iron King
Instruments of Darkness

After Flodden Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for After Flodden a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title.

  • Lucinda Fountain - 'Exquisitely told and wonderfully written Rosemary Goring transports you back to the past with such dexterity, as she captures meticulously such intricate detail and vivid ambiance...This fascinating fictitious romp though Scotland’s past is an unputdownable, addictive read and a truly triumphant accomplishment!' Read full review >
  • Lisa Redmond - 'After Flodden by Rosemary Goring is an outstanding fiction debut from a powerful and talented author... I cannot recommend this story highly enough; it is a must for all fans of Historical Fiction.' Read full review >
  • Sue Broom - 'She has quite a way with words - memorable descriptions, particularly of the wild countryside and 16th century living conditions.  Interesting characters, touching relationships, credible plot, fast-paced action - this book has it all.  Heartily recommended.' Read full review >
  • Barbara Goldie - 'A must read for anyone who loves a racy, historical, political or romantic novel, it ticks all these boxes and more to make it a must read for this year.' Read full review >
  • Barry Griffiths - 'Told in an extraordinary poetic language both engaging and thought provoking, that gives you an idea of the everyday life at the time the story is set.' Read full review >
  • Marion McCaffery - 'Rosemary Goring tells the story magnificenty, especially the battle scene...It is a fast moving tale of violent times. I recommend this book to anyone who loves historical drama.'  Read full review >
  • Kathy Howell - 'This is a very good read.  I was aware of the Battle of Flodden, even though I didn’t know too much about the actual event. This book, because of the excellent writing, is very evocative of the time and the area...' Read full review >
  • Vanessa Wild - I will start the review by saying that I loved this book and found it a very engrossing read...A real page turner and one I would recommend to all historical fiction fans.'  Read full review >
  • Joy Bosworth - 'After Flodden is very much concerned with the battle of Flodden and the fall-out from it.  I enjoy historical novels set in Tudor times and their sumptuous gowns and grand houses.  This is the other side of the war.'  Read full review >
  • Margaret Freeman - 'Well written, well researched this is a compelling and powerful book, bringing the characters and the Edinburgh and Borders of 1513 vividly to life.'  Read full review >
  • Debbie Patrick - 'This is a well written book, set mainly after the events of Flodden battle but also telling of the events in the characters life’s prior to Flodden that lead them to that place & time.' Read full review >
  • Janette Skinner - 'This book in really enjoyable and I learned a lot about history, military strategies and rules of engagement, but the book is much more than this.' Read full review >
  • Mrs C. A. Tuckett - 'A very enjoyable read with Scottish history as a background.' Click here to read the full review. Read full review >

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781846972836
Publication date: 29/05/2013
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Rosemary Goring

Rosemary Goring was born in Dunbar and studied social and economic history at the University of St Andrews; and, after graduation, worked at W&R Chambers as a reference editor. Rosemary was the literary editor of Scotland on Sunday, followed by a brief spell as editor of Life & Work, the Church of Scotland's magazine, before returning to newspapers as literary editor of the Herald, and later also of the Sunday Herald. In 2007 she published Scotland: The Autobiography: 2000 Years of Scottish History By Those Who Saw it Happen, which has since been published in America and Russia.   Author ...

More About Rosemary Goring

More Books By Rosemary Goring

After Flodden
After Flodden
After Flodden
View All Books By Rosemary Goring

Share this book