Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

join us on facebook make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Guilty Wife by Elle Croft Read the opening extract of the brand new Elle Croft book before its publication on 25/01/2018

The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier
  

Lovereading view...

Set against the historical backdrop of medieval France, Chevalier weaves together an intricate tapestry of love, revenge & art in a novel which will appeal to fans of Sarah Dunant, Rachel Hore and Philippa Gregory.

If you like Tracy Chevalier you might also like to read books by Philippa Gregory, Will Davenport and Rose Tremain.

Win a year of Muriel Spark...!

Win a year of Muriel Spark...Marking her centenary, you could win all 22 novels in collectable, hardback editions published by Polygon, each complete with an Introduction from a leading writer PLUS a copy of the warm and humorous memoir of Alan Taylor’s friendship with Spark. These novels are published with the support of Creative Scotland and The Muriel Spark Society.

The winner will receive the copies as they are published during 2018. The initial package is likely to include: The Comforters, The Ballad of Peckham Rye, Memento Mori, Robinson, A Far Cry From Kensington, The Bachelors, The Girls of Slender Means, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie and the memoir by Alan taylor Appointment in Arezzo.

The value of competition is over £220.00!

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 28 January 2018. The winner will be announced on the centenary of her birth, 1 February 2018.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 28/01/2018

Synopsis

The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier

Jean le Viste, a newly-wealthy member of the French court, commissions a series of tapestries to hang in his chateau named 'The Lady and the Unicorn.' Nicolas, his chosen designer, is a talented artist. He is also dangerously attractive to the women around him including le Viste's wife, Genevieve, and his daughter, Claude. Nicolas is at once smitten with Claude but will her social standing prevent her from returning his advances? As Nicolas begins to weave the tapestries so too do the lives and desires of the people around him intertwine. As people fall in love, are shunned, take revenge, find unrequited love, turn to the church or to pagan ideals, the tapestries become to each an ideal vision of life -- yet all discover that they are unable to make this ideal world their own.

Reviews

'Beautifully written, I could not put it down! a tale of ambition, lust, betrayal and heartbreak!a compelling and enormously enjoyable work'
Evening Standard

'On the academic front, here is the old Chevalier, exact and guarded, accurate and self-contained!On the erotic front, she positively explodes, the shy smiles of Pearl Earring replaced by a terrific torrent of carnal imagery, every sense invoked and appetite exploited'
Guardian

'Tracy Chevalier gives the kiss of life to the historical novel'
Independent

'With great insight, invention and a remarkable eye for detail, Chevalier breathes life into artists and artisans, their subjects and surroundings and, most important, their magnificent creations'
Washington Post

'The story she weaves is as lush as the tapestries she describes, and her colorful characters leap off the page. A romantic, beautiful book'
Booklist

About the Author

Tracy Chevalier

Tracy Chevalier is the author of six previous novels, including the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, The Virgin Blue, Falling Angels, The Lady and the Unicorn, Burning Bright and Remarkable Creatures. Born in Washington, DC, she moved to London in 1984, where she lives with her husband and son.

The film of Girl with a Pearl Earring, starring Colin Firth as Vermeer, was released in the UK in January. It was nominated for 10 BAFTAs and two Academy Awards.

Photograph © Eammon McCabe

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st December 2006

Author

Tracy Chevalier

More books by Tracy Chevalier
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.tchevalier.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007172313

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools