make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier
  

Lovereading view...

Set against the historical backdrop of medieval France, Chevalier weaves together an intricate tapestry of love, revenge & art in a novel which will appeal to fans of Sarah Dunant, Rachel Hore and Philippa Gregory.

If you like Tracy Chevalier you might also like to read books by Anne Tyler, Will Davenport and Rose Tremain.

Win a signed copy of Circe

Circe

Circe is the amazing sequel to The Song of Achilles by Madelline Miller.

"I remember Circe was one of the challenges met by Odysseus, the one who turned men into pigs. The beautiful character who narrates this story is that same “wicked witch” but a far cry from how Homer portrayed her. She is lovely, misunderstood, wilful and brilliant, a strong woman slowly growing into her power." - Sarah Broadhurst

Get your hands on a SIGNED copy of this innovative new take on Greek Mythology by clicking the button below and entering this prize draw! Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winner will be notified by 7 May 2018.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier

Jean le Viste, a newly-wealthy member of the French court, commissions a series of tapestries to hang in his chateau named 'The Lady and the Unicorn.' Nicolas, his chosen designer, is a talented artist. He is also dangerously attractive to the women around him including le Viste's wife, Genevieve, and his daughter, Claude. Nicolas is at once smitten with Claude but will her social standing prevent her from returning his advances? As Nicolas begins to weave the tapestries so too do the lives and desires of the people around him intertwine. As people fall in love, are shunned, take revenge, find unrequited love, turn to the church or to pagan ideals, the tapestries become to each an ideal vision of life -- yet all discover that they are unable to make this ideal world their own.

Reviews

'Beautifully written, I could not put it down! a tale of ambition, lust, betrayal and heartbreak!a compelling and enormously enjoyable work'
Evening Standard

'On the academic front, here is the old Chevalier, exact and guarded, accurate and self-contained!On the erotic front, she positively explodes, the shy smiles of Pearl Earring replaced by a terrific torrent of carnal imagery, every sense invoked and appetite exploited'
Guardian

'Tracy Chevalier gives the kiss of life to the historical novel'
Independent

'With great insight, invention and a remarkable eye for detail, Chevalier breathes life into artists and artisans, their subjects and surroundings and, most important, their magnificent creations'
Washington Post

'The story she weaves is as lush as the tapestries she describes, and her colorful characters leap off the page. A romantic, beautiful book'
Booklist

About the Author

Tracy Chevalier

Tracy Chevalier is the author of six previous novels, including the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, The Virgin Blue, Falling Angels, The Lady and the Unicorn, Burning Bright and Remarkable Creatures. Born in Washington, DC, she moved to London in 1984, where she lives with her husband and son.

The film of Girl with a Pearl Earring, starring Colin Firth as Vermeer, was released in the UK in January. It was nominated for 10 BAFTAs and two Academy Awards.

Photograph © Eammon McCabe

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th February 2007

Author

Tracy Chevalier

More books by Tracy Chevalier
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.tchevalier.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007172313

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools