katie fforde birdcage walk helen dunmore likeyoulove win prizes when the sky fell apart
Vouchers


Tracy Chevalier Book and Novel

Tracy Chevalier - Author


Tracy Chevalier is the author of six previous novels, including the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, The Virgin Blue, Falling Angels, The Lady and the Unicorn, Burning Bright and Remarkable Creatures. Born in Washington, DC, she moved to London in 1984, where she lives with her husband and son.

The film of Girl with a Pearl Earring, starring Colin Firth as Vermeer, was released in the UK in January. It was nominated for 10 BAFTAs and two Academy Awards.

Photograph © Eammon McCabe

If you like Tracy Chevalier you might also like to read books by Philipp Meyer, Anne Tyler and Will Davenport.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Tracy Chevalier

Reader, I Married Him by Tracy Chevalier
Reader, I Married Him
Tracy Chevalier
A collection of short stories celebrating Charlotte Bronte, published in the year of her bicentenary and stemming from the now immortal words from her great work Jane Eyre.
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/04/2017
Lovereading Price: £7.19
At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracy Chevalier
Reader Reviewed At the Edge of the Orchard
Tracy Chevalier
In her last novel, The Last Runaway, Tracy Chevalier returned to her American roots for the first time, setting her story on the Ohio frontier in 1850. At the Edge of the Orchard opens in similar circumstances: James Goodenough,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/02/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39
Reader, I Married Him by Tracy Chevalier
Reader, I Married Him
Tracy Chevalier
A collection of short stories celebrating Charlotte Bronte, published in the year of her bicentenary and stemming from the now immortal words from her great work Jane Eyre. Edited by Tracy Chevalier, this collection brings together some of the finest...
Format: Hardback - Released: 07/04/2016
Lovereading Price: £10.39
At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracy Chevalier
Reader Reviewed At the Edge of the Orchard
Tracy Chevalier
March 2016 Book of the Month. In her last novel, The Last Runaway, Tracy Chevalier returned to her American roots for...
Format: Hardback - Released: 08/03/2016
Lovereading Price: £13.59
The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier
The Last Runaway
Tracy Chevalier
One of our Books of the Year 2013. Renowned author of Girl with a Pearl Earring turns to the American slave trade for her next historical drama. A young, naïve English Quaker in 1850’s Ohio is torn between her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/08/2013
Lovereading Price: £7.19
The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier
The Last Runaway
Tracy Chevalier
April 2013 Book of the Month. Set in Ohio in 1850, the stunning new novel from the bestselling author of Girl With a Pearl Earring examines belief, duty and conscience against...
Format: Hardback - Released: 14/03/2013
Lovereading Price: £11.99
Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier
Remarkable Creatures
Tracy Chevalier
In this story of female friendship and fortitude, Tracy Chevalier shows her skill for working history’s lost individuals into far-reaching fiction. Set in 19th century Lyme Regis, it centres on the bond between Mary Anning, a penniless girl who hunts...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/04/2010
Lovereading Price: £7.19
Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier
Remarkable Creatures
Tracy Chevalier
Featured on The Book Show on Sky Arts on 5 November 2009. October 2009 Good Housekeeping selection. In this story of female friendship and fortitude, Tracy Chevalier shows her skill for working history’s lost individuals into far-reaching fiction....
Format: Hardback - Released: 24/08/2009
Lovereading Price: £12.79
Burning Bright by Tracy Chevalier
Burning Bright
Tracy Chevalier
Tracy Chevalier's new novel is set in London at the end of the eighteenth century and its a wonderful read on every level. It is three years after the French Revolution; paranoia and unrest are in the air and we...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/02/2008
Lovereading Price: £7.19
Burning Bright by Tracy Chevalier
Burning Bright
Tracy Chevalier
Tracy Chevalier's new novel is set in London at the end of the eighteenth century and its a wonderful read on every level. It is three years after the French Revolution; paranoia and unrest are in the air and we...
Format: Hardback - Released: 05/03/2007
Lovereading Price: £12.79
The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier
The Lady and the Unicorn
Tracy Chevalier
Set against the historical backdrop of medieval France, Chevalier weaves together an intricate tapestry of love, revenge & art in a novel which will appeal to fans of Sarah Dunant, Rachel Hore and Philippa Gregory.
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/12/2006
Lovereading Price: £7.19
The Virgin Blue by Tracy Chevalier
The Virgin Blue
Tracy Chevalier
The compelling story of two women, born four centuries apart, and the ancestral legacy that binds them. Perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, this is historical fiction at its very best.
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/12/2006
Lovereading Price: £7.19
Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Tracy Chevalier
A 2013 World Book Night selection. Centring on Vermeer’s household in the 1660s in Delft, this speculative historical novel tells of his relationship with a servant girl, Griet, who became his assistant and the model for the painting of the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2006
Lovereading Price: £7.19
Falling Angels by Tracy Chevalier
Falling Angels
Tracy Chevalier
A poignant and historical tale of two families brought reluctantly together, Falling Angels is an intimate story of childhood friendships, sexual awakening and human frailty. Its epic sweep takes in the changing of a nation, the fight for women's suffrage...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2006
Lovereading Price: £7.99

Loading other books by Tracy Chevalier...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.tchevalier.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Tracy Chevalier on Facebook

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Tracy Chevalier and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools