make the most of Lovereading desmond elliott 2017 finding gobi second sister twitter
Search our site
The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter Read the opening extract of the brand new Karin Slaughter book before its publication on 13/07/2017

Tracy Chevalier Book and Novel

Tracy Chevalier - Author


Tracy Chevalier is the author of six previous novels, including the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, The Virgin Blue, Falling Angels, The Lady and the Unicorn, Burning Bright and Remarkable Creatures. Born in Washington, DC, she moved to London in 1984, where she lives with her husband and son.

The film of Girl with a Pearl Earring, starring Colin Firth as Vermeer, was released in the UK in January. It was nominated for 10 BAFTAs and two Academy Awards.

Photograph © Eammon McCabe

If you like Tracy Chevalier you might also like to read books by Rose Tremain, Anne Tyler and Deborah Moggach.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Tracy Chevalier

New Boy (Hogarth Shakespeare) by Tracy Chevalier
New Boy (Hogarth Shakespeare)
Tracy Chevalier
The tragedy of Othello is transposed to a 1970s suburban Washington schoolyard, where kids fall in and out of love with each other before lunchtime, and practise a casual racism picked up from their parents and teachers. Watching over the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 11/05/2017
Reader, I Married Him by Tracy Chevalier
Reader, I Married Him
Tracy Chevalier
A collection of short stories celebrating Charlotte Bronte, published in the year of her bicentenary and stemming from the now immortal words from her great work Jane Eyre.
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/04/2017
At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracy Chevalier
Reader Reviewed At the Edge of the Orchard
Tracy Chevalier
In her last novel, The Last Runaway, Tracy Chevalier returned to her American roots for the first time, setting her story on the Ohio frontier in 1850. At the Edge of the Orchard opens in similar circumstances: James Goodenough,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/02/2017
Reader, I Married Him by Tracy Chevalier
Reader, I Married Him
Tracy Chevalier
A collection of short stories celebrating Charlotte Bronte, published in the year of her bicentenary and stemming from the now immortal words from her great work Jane Eyre. Edited by Tracy Chevalier, this collection brings together some of the finest...
Format: Hardback - Released: 05/04/2016
At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracy Chevalier
Reader Reviewed At the Edge of the Orchard
Tracy Chevalier
March 2016 Book of the Month. In her last novel, The Last Runaway, Tracy Chevalier returned to her American roots for...
Format: Hardback - Released: 08/03/2016
The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier
The Last Runaway
Tracy Chevalier
One of our Books of the Year 2013. Renowned author of Girl with a Pearl Earring turns to the American slave trade for her next historical drama. A young, naïve English Quaker in 1850’s Ohio is torn between her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/08/2013
The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier
The Last Runaway
Tracy Chevalier
April 2013 Book of the Month. Set in Ohio in 1850, the stunning new novel from the bestselling author of Girl With a Pearl Earring examines belief, duty and conscience against...
Format: Hardback - Released: 14/03/2013
Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier
Remarkable Creatures
Tracy Chevalier
In this story of female friendship and fortitude, Tracy Chevalier shows her skill for working history’s lost individuals into far-reaching fiction. Set in 19th century Lyme Regis, it centres on the bond between Mary Anning, a penniless girl who hunts...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/04/2010
Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier
Remarkable Creatures
Tracy Chevalier
Featured on The Book Show on Sky Arts on 5 November 2009. October 2009 Good Housekeeping selection. In this story of female friendship and fortitude, Tracy Chevalier shows her skill for working history’s lost individuals into far-reaching fiction....
Format: Hardback - Released: 24/08/2009
Burning Bright by Tracy Chevalier
Burning Bright
Tracy Chevalier
Tracy Chevalier's new novel is set in London at the end of the eighteenth century and its a wonderful read on every level. It is three years after the French Revolution; paranoia and unrest are in the air and we...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/02/2008
Burning Bright by Tracy Chevalier
Burning Bright
Tracy Chevalier
Tracy Chevalier's new novel is set in London at the end of the eighteenth century and its a wonderful read on every level. It is three years after the French Revolution; paranoia and unrest are in the air and we...
Format: Hardback - Released: 05/03/2007
The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier
The Lady and the Unicorn
Tracy Chevalier
Set against the historical backdrop of medieval France, Chevalier weaves together an intricate tapestry of love, revenge & art in a novel which will appeal to fans of Sarah Dunant, Rachel Hore and Philippa Gregory.
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/12/2006
The Virgin Blue by Tracy Chevalier
The Virgin Blue
Tracy Chevalier
The compelling story of two women, born four centuries apart, and the ancestral legacy that binds them. Perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, this is historical fiction at its very best.
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/12/2006
Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Tracy Chevalier
A 2013 World Book Night selection. Centring on Vermeer’s household in the 1660s in Delft, this speculative historical novel tells of his relationship with a servant girl, Griet, who became his assistant and the model for the painting of the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2006
Falling Angels by Tracy Chevalier
Falling Angels
Tracy Chevalier
A poignant and historical tale of two families brought reluctantly together, Falling Angels is an intimate story of childhood friendships, sexual awakening and human frailty. Its epic sweep takes in the changing of a nation, the fight for women's suffrage...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2006

Loading other books by Tracy Chevalier...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.tchevalier.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Tracy Chevalier on Facebook

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Tracy Chevalier and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools